Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST BUY FOR THE VITA!!!!!!
so just to re-iterate the point made by the previous review, yes, the whole game is in Japanese audio. but who cares this game is still freaking awesome. one point to make first. this game is dialogue heavy and the majority of it is a visual novel so if you don't like this sort of stuff then this game probably isn't for you. anyway to the actual review. you play as sigma...
Published 16 months ago by dusk

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars puzzles are good but endless text is tedious
The puzzles are fun. But the 'novel' text quickly becomes tedious and this isn't helped by the disconnect between the English text and Japanese audio.

If there was an option to skip the text and get straight to the puzzles, this would get a higher rating.

For trophy hunters, it is an easy but long platinum trophy. If you're playing it for the...
Published 12 months ago by Dr Mo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST BUY FOR THE VITA!!!!!!, 26 Nov 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
so just to re-iterate the point made by the previous review, yes, the whole game is in Japanese audio. but who cares this game is still freaking awesome. one point to make first. this game is dialogue heavy and the majority of it is a visual novel so if you don't like this sort of stuff then this game probably isn't for you. anyway to the actual review. you play as sigma a perfectly normal 20 year old, when you suddenly wake up in an elevator with an unknown girl. the plot revolves around you and 8 other characters playing a game that will kill you if you lose. the plot is fantastic, there are funny moments, serious moments and real tear-jerking moments. the characters are memorable and you really feel invested in the story while you play it.

over all this is a brilliant game, the voice acting is good the plot is fantastic and the characters are awesome. i urge anyone to give this game a try.

thank you for reading my review :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A quality and value-for-money title, 28 Mar 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
I was looking for a new Vita game and purchased this after reading a magazine review.

Not having played a 'graphic novel' type game before I was not sure what to expect but can honestly say I am glad I bought it.

The game is story based and involves a lot of reading (as the audio language is Japanese, and the subtitles are in English). There are a number of puzzles to solve in order to 'escape' from rooms at various parts of the story.

The puzzles themselves are ingeniously created and well thought through as they add to the progression of the story.

The story itself is well scripted containing many twists and turns. It certainly held my interest throughout with boring moments being quite scarce.

It's well presented throughout with quite a 'polished' feel to it. I didn't notice any bugs or glitches either (there is no 'online' mode here). All of the Trophies are achieveable if you devote time and effort to it.

In total, I've had upwards of 70 hours of fun with it so good value for money too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 14 Aug 2013
By 
L. Mahaffy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Straight off the bat I'll say that I loved this game. I sank about 40 hours into it they were well worth it. I was hooked and tried to find any spare time possible to unravel the mystery of Virtue's Last Reward. I wouldn't say that I am the biggest fan of games of this genre but I really did fall in love with it.

If you like this type of game then buy it because it will not disappoint. Even if these puzzle games aren't usually for you it may still surprise you. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
I became addicted to this game, literally every spare moment I had I picked it up. The storyline is full of twists and turns and it will keep you guessing who zero is right till the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic game!, 27 Dec 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
I absolutely loved 999 so was really looking forward to playing it's sequel! It really doesn't disappoint! It is very well put together with fantastic characters, great puzzles and with so many different endings, so excellent replay value! I hope there are more games in this series, as so far they have been amazing! A must for any one who loves this genre of games and loves fantastic stories that keeps you on the edge of your seat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Characters and Story, 21 Mar 2014
This review is from: Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
This is a truly great game, one of the best i've ever played. I would highly recommend playing the prequel first called 999 on the DS or available on IOS systems as 999: Zero Escape the novel (this version doesn't have the puzzle sections but is cheap as chips and makes a great read). I had never played a visual novel until I bought 999 on a whim, and i'm so glad I did. You should go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling Puzzle VN welcome on the Vita, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Virtue's Last Reward had me absolutely gripped from start to finish. It was well written with great localisation, memorable characters and shocking plot twists aplenty! There are loads of puzzles and they're pretty tricky too, and the interface works really well with the Vita's touch screen. It was nice to hear the original Japanese voice acting, though I was pretty surprised there was no English voice option since the American release apparently had a dub.

The graphics are a bit below the Vita's capabilities, having been made for DS release too, and annoyingly the plot continues on from 999, a game not even available on the Vita, but this is still an excellent game I thoroughly enjoyed that had me engrossed for days! A good title if you're looking for something to play on your Vita with a bit of depth and dramatic oomph and some nice brainteasers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great! And I will say that about this game in any timeline!, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
It's really not a game in the true sense of the word. But don't let that stop you from buying it.
Virtue's last reward is made up of three parts, novel parts, problem solving parts and choice parts.
The novel parts is what you'd expect. Story-progression by reading text (with pictures in the background).
In the problem solving parts you get to solve problems, believe it or not. The problems are hard enough to give a sense of accomplishment upon solving and, at least for me, required the use of pen and paper and perhaps half an hour of thinking in several cases, but in only one case was I lost and had to cheat by going online.
Then, the choice parts. Will you be trusting of your fellow in-game players and help each other out? But no guarantees are given that they'll do the same, perhaps it's better to try and betray them for a short-term gain?
And fear not, if an undesirable outcome arises from your actions, you can always try the timeline that splits off from the one you just choose, where you made the opposite choice. And maybe, just maybe, some small memory that you really need will carry on over. All of this will of course be more explained in the game.
Try it, you'll like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best stories in gaming, 23 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
Virtues Last Reward is probably one of the best games I have ever played. Although certainly not for everyone with excessively long cutscenes and very long puzzles, it is hugely engaging and worth a playthrough for anyone with a vita.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for all sci-fi lovers!, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) (Video Game)
This game is a gem!
It's a really mind blowing game and I suggest to all sci-fi lovers to buy 1st a ps vita and then Virtue's Last Reward and Persona 4 Golden. You will not regret....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac2be4e0)

This product

Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita)
Virtue's Last Reward (PlayStation Vita) by Rising Star Games (PlayStation Vita)
£15.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews