Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the finer feelings...
of all the things said about kylie in her 25 year music career, one thing has always been agreed upon - shes a bonafide pop icon. one of the things people seem to dispute is her voice. can she really sing?

the simple answer is yes. kylies voice is very unique and instantly recognisable, but some people will be 'shocked' at the strength, and emotion this woman...
Published on 6 Nov. 2012 by mr bojangles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite extrange.
Honestly, it is not bada but I expected more than I can here in this work.
It's a good work but my feeling after hearig it is a little bit disappointed.
It is needed to hear it several times to appreciate it.
Published on 30 Dec. 2012 by Alf


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the finer feelings..., 6 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
of all the things said about kylie in her 25 year music career, one thing has always been agreed upon - shes a bonafide pop icon. one of the things people seem to dispute is her voice. can she really sing?

the simple answer is yes. kylies voice is very unique and instantly recognisable, but some people will be 'shocked' at the strength, and emotion this woman pours out into these 16 tracks. if you didnt know any of these songs you would like this album and at no point doubt this womans voice. however knowing the origins of these songs and hearing them in this new guise is staggering.

out go the dance beats, and layered vocals... and in come the strings, guitars and pianos. there are no smoke and mirrors on this album. the stunning bond-esque drama of cant get you out of my head, and finer feelings sweep you away in an epic landscape of violins. the old locomotion cover which was the naffest form of pop, is turned into motown-esque girl group pastiche. confide in me is as powerful as ever and seems to work with any rework thats ever been thrown at it, and is definately a highlight.

the two standout tracks though are the kiddies disco favourites from back in the day (1989 infact) hand on your heart is a stripped down guitar track, which follows closely to the jose gonzalez version a few years back.. and is a revelation. the other is never too late. a simple piano-vocal track, which oozes kylies vunerable heartfelt lyric and is a beautiful way to close this acoustic/orchestral masterpiece. after 25 years in the business, kylie has nothing to prove... but if there was just the tiniest speck of doubt, it will have long since dissipated by the close of the album. there are very few popstars who could have pulled such a feat off, and kylie has thrown everything shes got into this album, announcing to the world that she could very well be the best female vocalist in popmusic today, and will still likely be going strong when most of todays female pop pretenders have fallen by the wayside. order your copy today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better The Devil You Know., 29 Oct. 2012
By 
Flickering Ember "I need a break and I wanna ... (Once Upon A Long Ago.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
It is a brave move to try and rework such popular classics...ones which shaped and defined a pop career which has now spanned a quarter of a century. Nonetheless, transforming songs to which we all danced twenty years ago into moving ballads...familiar songs in new keys, styles and genres has been a labour of love which has definitely paid off.

Every song has been faithfully reworked, with some beautiful orchestral scores added, and even different recording techniques, including using microphones more appropriate to these genres of vocal than to pop songs. Then again, you would expect nothing less from Abbey Road Studios.

This album proves Kylie is an ever evolving, talented performing artist who is just as credible and valid as ever, and shows she is definitely not just a one trick pony. It may not be a total departure from pop music that she is seeking, but no doubt, this album is definitely able to help secure a seamless transition to a more mature sound and style.

There is also a totally new track included; Flower, which shows the likes of Adele how it's really done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 29 Oct. 2012
Ever since I saw Kylie do a session for BBC Radio at the Camden Roundhouse, I have thought how great it would be to have those songs on an album and here it is. The album is excellent and it brings a new take on Kylie's back catalogue. Happy 25 years in the business Kylie and thanks for another excellent album! A true star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Kylie album ever., 19 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
Oh, so arch. After twenty five years of peddling superior - often amazing - pop. Kylie, comes with an sombre reinterpretation of her greatest hits that turns her world inside out. Whilst the thought of an actual, new, Kylie record is becoming rare, this is perhaps that rarest of things in the mid-life-career reinvention, a genuinely good record. Re-recording hits carries such a mundane and dull angle, you have to wonder what is the point? Why? But here, what this shows is that Kylie is has one of the finest back catalogues in pop. Anyone who thinks otherwise is simply a cloth-eared fool. Recasting these songs as string-drenched, sometimes minimal, epic tales instead of stuttering, monochrome, shiny pop, I experience what was previously somewhat bland, obvious pop music, as a brand new world.

These songs. They've been right under my nose all my life, and I've never quite known them like this ; before, the songs were all pop disco Storum-Und-Drung, smoke & mirrors & thunderclaps, chugging along towards the inevitable 3.12 fade/climax of a broken, hopeful heart. Here though, you get the songs - not the packaging. In this light, the songs live and breathe. "Better The Devil You Know", for example, is simply one of the best pop songs ever written. Anyone who thinks Stock / Aitken / Waterman weren't better than Motown knows nothing of music. These songs were always there ; they were always hiding. Wrapped in contemporary pop. "Finer Feelings" is one of the great unsung classic pop songs of all time. In the hands of Prince it would be hailed as one of his undisputed classics. These songs are absolute gold. So much more than what you may have considered. These diamonds, hidden in a chunky, syndrum, 120bpm rough. Here, these songs are set for what they are - sincerity wrapped in artifice and camp distance. And then, you get to the heart of it, and the alternative - shallow, unthinking artifice wrapped in trickery and lies - is a horrific prospect that endangers far too much of recent modern music.

Aside from the barely tolerable, empty and joyless rutting of "The Locomotion", it's all essential. And, with a common theme - that props up all the best music - of unrequited, or briefly-tasted-and-lost, love and romance, "Can't Get You Out Of My Head" is the song that expresses perhaps, the wanton desire of washing up ; 'set me free', she croons, 'stay forever. And ever. And ever.', with some kind of terrifying, supernatural obsession, echoing "The Shining", and also that moment when, tidying up the childrens toys, the loafing oaf you married resembles, in our memory, if only for a second the Adonis that made the child with you. And in this all, the girl and the boy that we once were is there, and for a second here, you can see them again. It's in your ears. In your world.

This is the best record Kylie has ever made. EVER. Adore it. Love it. Live it. Enjoy yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Good, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would never say i was an avid fan of Kylie, and have never purchased an album of hers, but i love this album. I purchased this because i heard this version of 'Cant get you out of my head' and really liked the new arrangement, strings etc, then my friend, (who is definately not a Kylie fan) recommended this. I brought it and absolutely love the new arrangements for old songs, i didnt realise i knew so many. You also realise what a lovely unique sounding voice she has, not the strongest in the world, but it doesnt matter.
Favoutite song - Cant get you out of my head, most surpringly good songs - I should be so lucky, (a completly different arrangement slowed down) and Its Never too Late
I would recommend this to everyone and buy and listen to it with an open mind, you will be surprised that you actually like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classy, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
L. J. Tomlinson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I thought it would be a money making gimmick of an album but I feel its one of Kylies best albums so far.
They haven't tried to turn her old songs into over the top camp torch songs. Her voice also sounds good.

"better the devil you know" sounds like a different song, I much prefer this version it doesn't sound like a cheesy pop song, but a mellow sad song, that brought tears to my eyes, you can almost hear the longing in Kylies voice. The SAW tunes aren't known for their depth & I thought I'd hate them but again they sound tasteful & simple. Even the locomotion sounds good.

Don't see the point of "where the wild roses grow", it sounds just like the original and I still don't like Nick Caves voice. But the other tracks more than compensate. All in All it's a classy album from a classy lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is this really Kylie?, 2 Nov. 2012
By 
Yay!! (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
I'm not a fan of Kylie, so was really surprised at the stupendous quality of the "Abbey Road" CD.

The musicians and producers have to be congratulated for the massive sound - it's like being in the Albert Hall. Big, Bass, full and rich sounds... very impressive.

She seems to be singing in a lower octave, and it really suits her. The massive orchestra backing her, makes it like one of the block buster cinematic productions... it's electrifying to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing reworking of these tracks., 14 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having been forced to watch Neighbours and see Kylie work her way through the soaps and shows I was never really a big fan of her or her music though I do admint to enjoying several of videos, hey I'm a bloke and only human !

I heard a sample of this albumn purely by accident and was amazed so much I bought it rather than copy it.

Totally changed my opinion of Kylie.

Buy it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Pop meets classic, 18 Feb. 2014
By 
Mark R. Bannister (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
I've enjoyed listening to Kylie before, but not enough to buy one of her albums. Having seen her recently on BBC's The Voice, I thought I'd see what she'd been doing lately, and came across The Abbey Road Sessions. I love all kinds of music; pop, rock, country, classical; and this album is simply superb because it takes some great pop songs and provides a classical twist. This is a very classy album, there's some terrific material here. It's not really classical in the sense of going to see a concert at the Festival Hall, there's all sorts of other instruments used. Better the Devil You Know, starts with just voice, piano and backing singers, and later introduces a jazz guitar. Hand On Your Heart uses drum, bass, guitar and synthesizer. Finer Feelings starts with a string orchestra but soon sounds like the opening track to a James Bond movie. Can't Get You Out of My Head sounds like a soundtrack from a thriller, with it's stabbing strings and pulsing bass drum. And Locomotion, what can I say? With R&B honker sax it sounds like one of my favourite numbers from Sister Act!

I love this album, every track is a sound sensation, and it is so refreshing to have an artist record material like this. I would strongly disagree with anyone who says that Kylie's voice doesn't lend itself to material like this. I think her voice is magical and shines more in this kind of material than in any of her previous work. The album is wonderful, the orchestrations could fit the soundtrack to any number of movies, and Kylie made a good move in producing this album. More please! (Do you do requests?!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not The One Trick Pony She May Be Written Off As, 30 Dec. 2012
This review is from: The Abbey Road Sessions (Audio CD)
Yknow, im by no means a die hard Kylie fan,

Im more the kind of person that has casually followed her career and enjoyed alot of what she has done

One thing you can say about Kylie is that she has had many, many hits and primarily she has always played to her strengths as a disco queen peddling uplifting dance pop

I would always have considered her a singles artist, but i actually purchased and enjoyed the whole Aphrodite album and really saw her in a new light then

so when i heard she was reworking some of her hits, i thought i'll pass on this, but i finally gave in after her recent performance on Alan Carr's Chatty Man... her stripped down performance of Come Into My World there was spellbinding, as it is on the album

It shouldnt work- taking songs that were huge hits and turning them on their heads into totally different ones - but it does

I would have considered her voice pretty weak, but it certainly can carry these songs beautifully

the arrangements are so beautifully stripped back that the lyrics shine in a new light that they never could have in their disco-dance formats.

All in all, this is a fine album and a great nod to her 25 years in the business. As she matures with age, a project like this shows, she actually has quite a strong career and backcatalogue to her name

It's quite refreshing to see her step out of the hotpants and disco/ dance comfort zone she has built much of her success on, many an artist wouldn't be brave enough to try something different like this if trying something different hadnt worked in the past for them,

It seems when Indie Kylie failed to fly with the general public, she didnt take it to heart too much, she is still willing to try something different,

I also love how she has been so confident in this album that she has performed so many different tracks on her tv promo appearances, she hasn't just stuck to the same song or even Flower as her single, she has confidently performed a variety of the tracks

You can certainly sense her heart and soul are in this project and it's by no means a cynical cashing-in-on-her-hits exercise that you might fear it is

Highlights on this album for me are the lush Come Into My World, the sparse yet beautiful Never Too Late, the jazzy On A Night Like This, the soulful and acoustic-sounding All The Lovers and I Believe In You and Can't Get You Out Of My Head gets a really vibrant re-working thanks to some energetic strings.

Definitely an interesting album, maybe not one for her dance-pop fans solely but maybe one for some new fans ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Abbey Road Sessions
The Abbey Road Sessions by Kylie Minogue (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews