Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good film
As well as directing the film, Harper also wrote and stars in it. He is ideally suited for the role as a Londoner who has acted in various capital-based crime capers, including Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, which often have a football violence slant, such as The Rise of the Footsoldier and The Football Factory. True to form, St George's Day includes a football...
Published on 13 Dec. 2012 by Mr. W. D. Bagnall

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I lost interest
Despite a strong cast including Craig Fairbrass, Dexter Fletcher, Charles dance, and Sean Pertwee to name but a few I found my interest in this film waning after the first hour. The script if not the film lost its way and seemed repetitive and cliched. I enjoy Guy Ritchie's movies but to me this was a knock off and contained all the usual content, language and...
Published 12 months ago by writer201


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a very good film, 13 Dec. 2012
This review is from: St George's Day [DVD] (DVD)
As well as directing the film, Harper also wrote and stars in it. He is ideally suited for the role as a Londoner who has acted in various capital-based crime capers, including Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, which often have a football violence slant, such as The Rise of the Footsoldier and The Football Factory. True to form, St George's Day includes a football hooligan side-plot. This shouldn't put off those for whom hooliganism is about as attractive as the prospect of a fist in the gob. The plot and some great characters with funny lines are more important to the film.

One of these characters is Frank Harper's character, gangland boss Micky Mannock who narrates the film. It is generally held that voiceovers should be used with caution by screenwriters - they are not simply an easy way to explain the action that should really be suggested. Well, Micky's voiceover helps add depth to his witty, intelligent character, but more cleverly it sends us off on wild goose chases of suspicion. Micky can trust virtually no one.

The only people he can truly trust is his cousin and business partner Ray Collishaw played by the hulking Craig Fairbrass and Charles Dance's shadowy Trenchard, who is possibly a senior civil servant and can certainly pull strings. When it comes down to it, the rest of his crew could either be working for rival gangsters or the police or even both.
Things go wrong when a huge shipment of drugs goes missing in the North Sea and the firm find themselves owing millions of pounds to Russian gangsters who are considerably nastier than them. That's not to say Micky and Ray are of the criminal-but-basically-good-guys school of gangster hero. They are pathologically violent and don't mind a quick massacre just to prove it. The only way to get out of the pickle is by pulling off a jewel heist in Berlin using the cover of an England Germany game on that most hallowed of days, 23rd April.
So, the plot twists and then turns like gangster plots do. What marks the film out is that it is very funny, if very sweary. The main characters Micky, Ray and Albert (a dope-smoking Scot based in Amsterdam played with loopy relish by Vincent Regan) are constantly bantering and much of it is very funny. One of the characters is said to have an "Achilles cock" - crude, but describes some men perfectly. The idiocy of trigger happy gangsters is also nicely satirised in another scene where Charles Dance's character has to prevent two groups of hoods from killing each other at a meet-up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I expected, 3 Jun. 2013
This review is from: St George's Day [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit I was in two minds about watching this film. It's basically the story of 2 gangsters who take an army of Hooligans over to Berlin for a big pay day; after losing a shipment of drugs. I don't really enjoy films about gang violence, as it unsettles me a little. After giving it a punt, though, I was surprised at how tame it actually was. That's not to say it's not a good film, I quite enjoyed it. There is a lot of swearing, and gun violence - but it's a gangster flick, so what can you expect. There are only two scenes in which the hooligans fight, and both are watered down. Jamie Foreman (Eastender's Derek Branning) is the Police Officer on the gangster's trail. There is also an element of The Departed included. One of the firm is talking to the cops, one of the cops is talking to the firm. It's a good movie, with interesting characters, and a decent enough story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I lost interest, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite a strong cast including Craig Fairbrass, Dexter Fletcher, Charles dance, and Sean Pertwee to name but a few I found my interest in this film waning after the first hour. The script if not the film lost its way and seemed repetitive and cliched. I enjoy Guy Ritchie's movies but to me this was a knock off and contained all the usual content, language and unoriginality of the British Gangster genre. The character played by Keeley Hazell was irritating. The character was a one dimensional stereotype of a gangsters moll, all mouth and no brains and certainly cliched character wise. This film was too long; the potential quality was overrun by the quantity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can't decide whether it's parody or not!, 2 Oct. 2013
By 
THEWHITLAM (leafy Clapham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St George's Day [DVD] (DVD)
The constant narration is a boring giveaway; he is going to survive. The film glorifies the success of truly nasty characters. The women are sex objects and caricatures, the Russians speak Russian with expected Polish accents . The storyline is fairly good and some of the editing brilliant. But it would work so much better as parody: for example Charles Dance tries a posh mockney but it does not work, yet a bit more hamming would have been fine. I can't recommend this .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top film, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St George's Day [DVD] (DVD)
totally underrated film, I took a chance on it because it had been reduced and was delighted. everyone that has seen it with me agrees it is a top film. buy it and you will be glad you took a chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles available., 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St George's Day [DVD] (DVD)
There are no subtitles, event the english ones. I find it very unusual.
I am italian, i like to watch british movies with original language and english subtitles.
This movie is hard to understand since is cockney spoken, and english subtitles may
help at least to get the dialect words. Great disappointment.
I guess is not an Amazon fault, but the product is poor.

Best Regards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars st georges day, 25 Nov. 2012
This review is from: St George's Day [DVD] (DVD)
love it !! went cinema the first day and really enjoyed it as i knew i would frank harper is crack on with his debut in directing every one of thes brit films get better and better but st georges day will take some beating tbh looking forward to 24 th dec to sit down and whatch this diamond of a film again .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THUGGERY AND FUN AND A BIT OVER-DONE, 20 Mar. 2015
This review is from: St George's Day [DVD] (DVD)
Frank Harper, fabulously thuggish and foul-mouthed in the likes of Football Factory and Screwed, gets behind the camera this time for what feels like a 'Greatest Hits' of gangland mayhem. Gordon Bennett. Is this the bollocks or what? So we get (tick off the boxes): odes to London "greatest city in the world", here is a shot of Houses of Parliament, bent coppers, a showdown in Amsterdam, diamonds and dope in abundance, Russian gangsters wanting vengeance, rampaging hooligans spouting guff about World War II. If none of that floats your boat, along with much geezery banter, we have: a semi-esteemed thespian bringing a touch of class (Charles Dance), a lap dancing establishment that goes all the way, a rat in the ranks and lots of bad language, the worst offender being a lady, the 'Peckham Princess'. Frank gives it all as Micky Mannock, veteran hooligan, crime baron etc. Micky's voice-over is full of quiet wisdom. -"prison or death was an occupational hazard" - but he is not ready to quit. Craig Fairbrass, memorably out of control as Frank Tate in Rise of the Footsoldier, is the voice of restraint here, wary of mad geezer schemes, wanting to hang out with his posh mates and start running golf complexes in Spain. Both cousins are ruthless, but as Charles Dance, their mysterious ally Trenchard, points out, the Russian mafia have more fire-power and fewer scruples,, always ready to shoot up a funeral. Hammered in some quarters as offensive, derivative junk, a celebration of cliches, St George's Day is actually better than most of its genre. And so many old favourites. Come on down Neil Maskell,Dexter Fletcher, Vincent Regan, Nick Moran. And who is the copper on the trail of Micky and Ray for years? Strike a light, it's Jamie Foreman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Rumble Robbery., 14 Mar. 2014
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: St George's Day [DVD] (DVD)
St George's Day is directed by Frankie Harper, he also co-writes the screenplay with Urs Buehler and stars with Craig Fairbrass, Vincent Regan, Charles Dance, Dexter Fletcher, Nick Moran, Keeley Hazell, Jamie Foreman and Sean Pertwee. Music is by Tim Attack and cinematography is by Mike Southon.

Frankie Harper, one of the most liked and recognisable faces from the slew of British gangster and football hooligan films, turns his hand to try and make his own mark in what is becoming a bulging genre of Brit film. The kicker here is that he blends the two popular lad staples together by having a plot involving gangsters using a football rumble as cover for a robbery. In Berlin, Germany, no less and St George's Day as well! Cor blimey!

Plot is kind of incidental, which is just as well since it's not exactly a brains trust script. Film is filled out with the requisite amount of shouting, swearing, fighting, shooting, thieving, jingoism, sloganeering and lairy witticisms. Harper has surrounded himself with pals, clearly offering up reassuring presences to the budding director, while it's fun for fans of this splinter of Brit cinema to play spot the face. It's all very blokey and enjoyable enough for the undemanding, but the good idea on the page is not born out as the narrative often gasps for fresh air, the attempts at complexity ending up mundane.

The cinematography is a highlight, with the number of Euro locations used giving good visual tonics. Cast perform adequately as per the material, though Moran, Fletcher, Dance and Pertwee are under used and therefore wasted. There's enough in here to suggest Harper could offer something of value as a director, but maybe a little less crass for crass sake should be jettisoned in favour of some intelligence in the writing. Dexter Fletcher's debut outing as a director, Wild Bill, is a good marker, Frankie would do well to follow his mate's lead. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cut above the rest, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If anyone is thinking the plot elements of St George's Day sound like a case of dejavu, they should think again, as this British heist thriller has a uniquely English charm to it.
Frank Harper, in his directorial and screenwriting debut, adds a personal element to what one would otherwise assume, appears to be yet another gangster thriller.
Frank Harper is clearly a patriot, who works in some relevant pieces of English trivia, including insight into distinctly British words, historical analogies, that add humor and charm to the darkly funny, profanity laced dialogue. Additionally, it presents London in a very aesthetically pleasing light, in stark contrast to most gritty urban thrillers, without taking the sharp edge off what is an uncompromising thriller.
While the plot can be confusing at times, there is an element of suspense, as one finds oneself not exactly indifferent to the fate of the anti-hero characters. Anti-heroes that they are, it makes perfect sense for them not to survive the films events, yet one develops an affinity and finds themselves rooting for them.
The film is very stylish, and seems to have added a sense of Hollywood panache, without compromising the British character of the film.
Frank Harper has added a personal touch to what is pretty much his own film, and has created a film that stands out from the rest.
It is most certainly worth investing in the Blu Ray of this film, as the cinematography is stunning, and it deserves to be presented in the best medium possible.
An absolute treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St George's Day [DVD]
St George's Day [DVD] by Frank Harper (DVD - 2012)
£6.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews