Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Spec Chums everywhere!
30 years. 30! Good grief. The time is certainly ripe for people to start writing about the history of the little black box with the silly rubber keys. The humble ZX Spectrum has a lot to answer for in my life. It is directly responsible for the fact that I now work in IT. Responsible for my life long love of computer games. And through the existence of the wonderful...
Published 22 months ago by A.D.M.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potted history of Speccy games - some I never heard of
Not bad - a harmless little read. After the first few games described (the obvious blockbusters like Manic Miner) it quickly drifted off into games I'd never heard of (and I didn't think there were any). As the main point of this book is nostalgia, well, it faded. There's no nostalgia if you don't remember it in the first place. But as a quick primer in what made...
Published 4 months ago by Steve Allison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For Spec Chums everywhere!, 26 Sep 2012
By 
A.D.M. (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
30 years. 30! Good grief. The time is certainly ripe for people to start writing about the history of the little black box with the silly rubber keys. The humble ZX Spectrum has a lot to answer for in my life. It is directly responsible for the fact that I now work in IT. Responsible for my life long love of computer games. And through the existence of the wonderful magazine Your Sinclair, responsible for shaping my sense of humour and expectations of what computer game journalism should be like. Speccy Nation seems to be coming from a similar background, being a 120 page love letter to the greatest computer of all times. It was never the best computer in terms of technical specification or hardware, yet there was something about it that caused people to write these bizarre, brilliant, and uniquely British games. Speccy Nation emphasises this perfectly. The book may be a little sloppily written, and at times it tends to just review games (I don't need a review of a game from 1985 that I played for hours and hours once upon a time), when the real strength of the book is Whitehead's interpretation of Speccy games and how they entwined with British culture of the time. It doesn't just pick the big names, but goes delving into the creativity, looking for those that inspired games that were to come 15+ years later on more modern formats. There are some fascinating thoughts on some very odd games that I never played, and some eulogies to other games that absorbed days of my youth, once upon a time.

Look, this isn't a work of art, much like the Speccy itself, but it is the work of someone who the Spectrum means an awful lot to. And for other people who are in that same boat, this is a brief read that you will very much appreciate. If you were some kind of loser who owned a Commodore 64 though, I am sincerely sorry that your childhood gaming experience was merely a vacuous waste of time instead of being part of a delightfully mad movement that most people will never really understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potted history of Speccy games - some I never heard of, 27 Mar 2014
By 
Steve Allison (Bucharest, Romania) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
Not bad - a harmless little read. After the first few games described (the obvious blockbusters like Manic Miner) it quickly drifted off into games I'd never heard of (and I didn't think there were any). As the main point of this book is nostalgia, well, it faded. There's no nostalgia if you don't remember it in the first place. But as a quick primer in what made games good, back in the day when games WERE good, it's fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 29 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
Very funny and witty insights into many of the iconic games that came out on the ZX Spectrum. I like the way many obscurer titles are featured, although there's plenty of stuff on the more famous games too. Highly recommended for any 8-bit fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
A fun little book -brought back some memories long lost
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting romp through some classic Speccy games, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
An interesting and in places amusing read, over all too quickly. I was disappointed to see no screenshots, which is a real pity because this kind of book works much better with visual references, but the author writes engagingly on a subject he has great enthusiasm for. What potential readers will appreciate are the descriptions of those games that were an awful lot deeper than first appearances suggest.

Who knows? It may even encourage you to get your Speccy out of the loft and have another go.... which would be no bad thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read and install!, 10 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
I must say this fires many a memory back into your brain. Worth it just to remember things like your old games section in WH Smith or Woolworths and you and your mates huddling round a 14 inch TV listening to a tape recorder screech away.

Oddly enough I got the urge to stick a speccy emulator on my devices soon after reading.

Well worth 1 of your money. Other authors take note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read, only let down by a lack of content, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you were a ZX Spectrum owner in the 80s (or even later), then you must buy this book. It details some of the best (and worst) games available on the Spectrum, sometimes with very good humour.

The only problem with the book is the lack of actual content. The Spectrum had thousands of games and this book touches only on a tiny percentage of them. There will undoubtedly be a number of games that you enjoyed back in the day that are not covered in this book.

What the book does do well though is cover some of the games that made the Spectrum one of the must-have 8bit machines, even now. Through the use of emulation you are able to play and enjoy games from days gone by. I'd suggest trying all the games from this book first, as while not a definitive list of the best games available, it's not too far from the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Nostalgia Trip, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Andrew Murphy "APM" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
A nice little book which is a great read for anyone who owned a Spectrum back in the 80s. It brought back many fond memories and made me seek out an emulator to replay some of the games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A trip down the Blue Rubber Key Lane . . ., 28 Aug 2013
By 
Sukhster (Plumstead, London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
A true trip down the blue rubber key lane . . .

A great read, and brought back a lot of memories about the simple games that I grew up with on the Speccy. The author is really witty, and you are able to enjoy the myriad of games that you don't remember, and games that should never have been made. Yes, the ZX Spectrum had its own version of the Atari's ET game.

The only issue was the lack of photos. It's not so bad for the games that you remember, but I had google for the games that were covered that I didn't remember.

This may be an issue with the eBook version that I read. Therefore, the rating remains at 5 stars, especially for the enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A childhood remembered, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Speccy Nation (Kindle Edition)
A collection of games from any child of the 80's past, lovingly recounted in review format. The author obviously has put a lot of time and thought into what went in and what stayed out of his book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Speccy Nation
Speccy Nation by Dan Whitehead
1.02
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews