Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clucking Brilliant Fun !
I loved this film when I saw it on holiday in Dublin that I had to take my best friend along to my local as soon as I got back. Tweedy Farm, the setting for this comedy that is anything but plastic, is a typical 50's Yorkshire farm - from the vehicles, to the clothes and dialog. Mr + Mrs Tweedy are branching out into the chicken pie market, and that means trouble for the...
Published on 30 Nov 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, But Very Predictable
It has often been claimed that at the core, there are really only a tiny handful of stories. Stories that are told and retold endlessly across the generations with only cosmetic changes upon each retelling. Osiris becomes Jesus; Rama becomes Skywalker. A little while ago, in a review of The Smurfs, I made the point that if this is indeed the case, then the real job of the...
Published 5 months ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious film, 5 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This is a great film. Stuart my 7 year old nephew found it hillarious. He particularly loved the Yankee rooster who was charming his way with the 'English chicks'. I see a future for him. Mind you he'll need to get rid of his curly top to get as groovy as the Rooster. He now wants a chicken suit for his Xmas. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feathered fun with comic chickens, 7 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
First impressions is that you may think this is a kids film, but with an all star cast and a brilliant story-line this has got to be one of the best films of the year. If you like the Great Escape and aren't to fussed about chickens then this is the film for you, it will keep you laughing all the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars just ain't enuff!!!!, 10 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This is truly the best movie since Wallace and Gromit. I just love it! Just to come up with this idea. It is a good story, with a classical ending, as the two turle chickens get eachother in the end. Ginger is a sparkling example of an independent woman, who knows what she wants. At far to many times, the girls end up being weak, or if they're in leading position they've to get advice from some wise man in their surrounding. But this is just... amazing! I wish I wouldn't be this short of money, or I would buy the movie immediately!!! I wish to have it for Christmas... Too bad for me that good movies always cost the most. That is so unfair, since even economically less fortunate persons should be able to share this astounding adventure, on a chicken farm somewhere in England... And I'm just saying: Who said chickens are stupid?! Mac is the brightest chicken ever. GO MAC! GO MAC! GO MAC!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eggscellent!, 30 Dec 2000
By 
T. Milnthorpe "pipkiin3" (W-S-M) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was fantastic. All the things that made Wallace and Gromit and Creature Comforts fantastic, is all here. It also looks great and in parts, realistic! The acting, on everyones part, is absolutely amazing!I think the credit song is really 'funky' Don't bother renting it.......buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poultry in motion, 10 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
..to borrow one of the film's many great one-liners. "This is ridiculous," I thought, "I'm identifying with Plasticine chickens, sharing their hopes and fears, and almost cheering when "the old crate", Wing Commander Fowler at the helm, clears the fence of the chicken run. What's got into me?" This film for one thing. It's brilliant. It's funny (the jokes come so thick and fast you sometimes struggle to keep up), it's tense, it's exciting and it rarely lapses into maudlin sentiment. (One small lapse is Ginger's bit about being "honest" when confronted with Rocky's tendency to handle the truth somewhat carelessly - an unnecessary inference at the "overpaid, oversexed and over here" American "lone free ranger"). But that's the only quibble, otherwise it's side-splitting entertainment all the way. My wife hates cartoons; she came in - and stayed. It's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Buy For Xmas with Fully Loaded Special Features, 9 Dec 2000
By 
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Wow is a word I don't tend to utilise very often and today I had to use it. The DVD is an absolute treasure with so many special features.
There's Multiple Trailers, 2 Documentaries, 14 Aardman Archive Clips (Including Morph, 2 electric adverts, Wallace & Gromit and stuff that I had not come across), Directors' Commentary, Audio Described and also DVD-ROM Material.
....Oh and the fabulous movie!!!
The characters leap from screen right from start to finish and the laughs keep on coming.
Great for kids and adults.
It isn't until you see what goes on behind the scenes that It makes you appriciate how much hardwork goes into this modern masterpiece
The only thing missing is the full soundtrack score.
Oh well can't have everything.
It's made in Britain Too.. Three cheers for the Aardman lads.... Hip-Hip...Horray..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome ... even life changing, 8 Mar 2005
By 
B. Woracker "olonob" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is so funny, and can relate to most people of all ages. Yes its not wallace and Gromit, its a different film, but it is still trully amazing its own right.

This film follows the antics of chickens living on a farm, they are dying to be set free, and plan to escape before their turned into pies. The films storyline is completely unique, hilarious and animation cleverly done. The jokes are so funny and the characters even funnier.

I first watched this film in the cinema when it came out, I was so surprised by the storyline as it really got me thinking about more than just the film. the ethical issues that were wonderfully underlined inspired me to be a vegetarean.

this is a must have for any dvd collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken Run. Dont You Run Away, 27 Aug 2009
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] (DVD)
An Amazing Film, the story line is easy to follow for younger children, but the film also appeals to those adults who have not grown up yet. Does what it says on the case. =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clucking Family Entertainment!, 10 Jun 2006
By 
Wallace & Gromit Cheese "Max Keogh" (Stony Stratford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
From the "cracking" Wallace & Gromit animation artists, they have produced a new breed of film. CHICKEN RUN followes the classic tale of a young female chicken: Ginger, who dreams of escaping Mr. and Mrs. Tweedy's cruel farm.

The chicken lay eggs, day in and day out, but when they cannot lay anymore they kill them, and Ginger needs a miracle to get to the land of hope and glory she has always dreamed of.

Then, when an fired-out Circus rooster: Rocky, lands in on them in the farm, Ginger believes that Rocky is their ticket to freedom.

It's an unforgettable story that leaves very sly refrences to other classic movie milestones: Animal Farm, Indiana Jones, and second world war escape classics.

It also has world class of British/American voice talent including: Julia Swahalla, Mel Gibson, and Phil Daniels. It also has cute characters that the kids will love, and there are some wonderfully sly jokes for everyone to laugh at.

It is very off-key in it's tone, but still, it's a classic for all to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken Run DVD, 21 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. D. Derrick-jones "2dachs" (Chesterfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I ordered this dvd for my mum for mother's day as she had already got it on video, so i decided to purchase it for Mother's Day for her and upgrade.

The dvd is brilliant, a good story by the creators of Wallace and Gromit, if you have their dvd's then add this one to your collection too.

The heroes of the hour are to Chickens, or one hen chicken and one rooster called Rocky and Ginger.

If you like animals and animated sort of films then you're sure to like this one, watch it as i'm not giving the plot away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chicken Run [DVD] [2000]
Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] by Nick Park (DVD - 2012)
£2.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews