Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clucking Brilliant Fun !
I loved this film when I saw it on holiday in Dublin that I had to take my best friend along to my local as soon as I got back. Tweedy Farm, the setting for this comedy that is anything but plastic, is a typical 50's Yorkshire farm - from the vehicles, to the clothes and dialog. Mr + Mrs Tweedy are branching out into the chicken pie market, and that means trouble for the...
Published on 30 Nov 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, But Very Predictable
It has often been claimed that at the core, there are really only a tiny handful of stories. Stories that are told and retold endlessly across the generations with only cosmetic changes upon each retelling. Osiris becomes Jesus; Rama becomes Skywalker. A little while ago, in a review of The Smurfs, I made the point that if this is indeed the case, then the real job of the...
Published 1 month ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clucking Brilliant Fun !, 30 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I loved this film when I saw it on holiday in Dublin that I had to take my best friend along to my local as soon as I got back. Tweedy Farm, the setting for this comedy that is anything but plastic, is a typical 50's Yorkshire farm - from the vehicles, to the clothes and dialog. Mr + Mrs Tweedy are branching out into the chicken pie market, and that means trouble for the chickens. Following numerous attempts to escape, including frequent trips to the cooler for Ginger, the head chicken, they start to feel they will never make it out alive. Enter Rocky, a Yankee rooster who uses his charm to get among "the beautiful English chicks". Of course, he's hiding a secret which they eventually discover (not saying what it is) and the scene is set for the funniest climax ever with a few nice twists along the way. The dialogue is more likely to appeal to the adult audience while the kids just enjoy the set pieces, but it's Jane Horrocks (Absolutely Fabulous) who gets the best lines throughout the film including what will hopefully become a catchphrase once the film hits the shops just in time for Christmas;
"BUT I DON'T WANT TO BE IN A PIE. I DON'T LIKE GRAVY"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, absolutely brilliant, 22 Jan 2001
By A Customer
How can anyone not be entertained by this film, any purist who can find holes to pick at in the production are well, just sad !! Bah Humbug to them.
The action that goes on in the background, like where Mrs Tweedy pinches Mr Tweedy's bottom in the scene where food rations are doubled, doubles me up every time, and the spatial sound (if you have a TV up to it) when Rocky and Ginger are in the oven never fails to make my kids jump, and the bit with Edwina , the first time my kids saw it you could cut the tension with a knife.
You can watch this film a dozen times, and get something new out of it each time. A good sucess indicator is, whenever I drop a CD/DVD into the player, Chicken Run is already in there
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic!, 24 Feb 2007
By 
John "John" (Church Stretton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I got this DVD for Christmas even though i have seen this film umpteen number of times. With most films i would hate it if i got it after watching it loads but no, it is very difficult to get bored of this film. There are funny little bits that sometimes you miss and then next time you will spot them and think 'Genious!' This film is now widely regarded as a classic and so it should be! It is great fun for all ages! The animation is fantastic, when you see films using animation this well you think what is the point in films using special effects! The models are fantastic and the voicing is apsolutely second to none! If you haven't seen this film either you're just born or WHAT PLANET HAVE YOU BEEN ON?!! The ending maybe isn't for vegetarians! A must see for all ages 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun for Kids and Adults alike, 22 Mar 2001
By A Customer
Chicken Run is a wild ride into the world of animation. The references to The Great Escape and Braveheart are pure genius. I loved this film and so does everyone I speak to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken Fun, 11 Jan 2001
As Stephen Spielberg said: 'They know how to make you care an awful lot about rubber chickens'.
Truly a classic with some mind-boggling animation and characterisation when you consider the disciplines of stop-motion animation.
Good fun for young and old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantanstic alround entertainment, 4 April 2002
not just for the kids a good laugh for all, and you don't even have to be a farmer to understand the goings on. We all know someone like a character from this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's nice to have some time on your own......., 27 Oct 2003
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I just cannot believe anyone or their kids found this film boring or lacking in Aardman polish, how sad do you have to be to apply production standards to a film involving plasticine chickens? This film is brilliant and the one liners will stay in your mind for a long time. Ginger's stirring 'We can die free chickens or we can die trying' countered by Babs 'Are they the only choices' still makes me laugh, and I know it's coming. This is a film to suspend reality for and to enjoy for the sake of enjoyment. Forget the art critics and the kids with no sense of humour and buy this movie it's fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful! Just wonderful!!, 30 Dec 2000
By A Customer
It was the film I wanted to see so much when it appeared in the cinema, being such a fan of Wallace and Gromit. I went to see it with a friend's daughter (aged 9) and we both had such a good time. It's touchy without being Disney-esque sentimental and it's funny without being Hollywood-ish over the top. And being able to watch it again at home was just fabulous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chicken Run. Dont You Run Away, 27 Aug 2009
This review is from: Chicken Run [DVD] (DVD)
An Amazing Film, the story line is easy to follow for younger children, but the film also appeals to those adults who have not grown up yet. Does what it says on the case. =]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eggscellent!, 30 Dec 2000
By 
T. Milnthorpe "pipkiin3" (W-S-M) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This was fantastic. All the things that made Wallace and Gromit and Creature Comforts fantastic, is all here. It also looks great and in parts, realistic! The acting, on everyones part, is absolutely amazing!I think the credit song is really 'funky' Don't bother renting it.......buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chicken Run [DVD] [2000]
Chicken Run [DVD] [2000] by Nick Park (DVD - 2012)
3.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews