Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost perfect equilibrium, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: Equilibrium (Audio CD)
Briefly concurring with the first review, this is a first rate release only slightly short of being a classic. Jahnel was previously heard on Cyminology's "As Ney" but, intriguing as that was, "Equilibrium" is in a different league. "Moorland and Hill Land" (a very Garbarekesque title) is the longest and less immediate track but contains some passages of beguiling beauty but, for me, the highlights are opener "Gently Understood", "Wrangel" and the closing title track which are all cut of similar, if luxurious cloth. Owen Howard's percussion is propulsive but subtle and full of colour and Jahnel reveals himself to be an almost endless fount of inspiration,his flights of fancy anchored by Antonio Miguel's bass. In a world not exactly shy of great contemporary piano trios, "Equilibrium" introduces a significant new talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GENTLY UNDSTOOD WITH HIDDEN BEAUTY IS STUNNING, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium (Audio CD)
This recording his highly typical of the ECM ethos,a trio of Swiss/American and Spanish musicians,who combine to make an album of absolute beauty,recorded as more ECM albums seem to be now in the Auditorio Radiotelevisione svizzera in Lugano.This is a wonderfully full sounding recording in the tradition of ECM trio albums
1)Gently understood(5.01)This track starts with what sounds like an electronically treated bass with the piano very much to the fore,the sound is amazing.
2)Sacred silence (7.11)again the piano has such a magnificent tone,superbly lyrical playing adds to this,there is also a lovely bass solo on this.
3)Moorland and hill land(13.52)there are echoes of EST here,and given the extended playing time,it is glorious. (Do you get the impression that i like this album?)
4)Wrangel(9.01)a slower piece,than what has gone before but still of high quality
5) Augmented(4.41)More wonderful playing from all three
6)Hidden beauty (4.19)dextrous playing is the order of the day.
7) Equilibrium(9.39)the perfect end to a momentous album.

To sum up then,an astonishing album,well deserving its five star status.

53.46

RECORDED IN JULY 2011
RELEASED IN 2012

BENEDIKT JAHNEL......PIANO
ANTONIO MIGUEL.....DOUBLE BASS
OWEN HOWARD......DRUMS

VALUE FOR MONEY......££££
BEST TRACKS......GENTLY UNDERSTOOD,S ACRED SILENCE,MOORLAND AND HILL LAND,EQUILIBRIUM
PACKAGING......JEWEL CASE WITH THREE FOLD BOOKLET
SOUND QUALITY AND PRODUCTION *****

ECM

THIS IS A STRONG COTENDER FOR ALBUM OF THE YEAR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a beautiful piano trio album, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium (Audio CD)
even better than modular concepts, their previous album - i cannot recommend this highly enough - well structured, evocative - this is a distillation of all that is good in contemporary european piano trio jazz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starts wonderfully and just gets better., 20 Jan 2014
By 
M. A. Coverson "coversonmac" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium (MP3 Download)
Can't praise this album highly enough. Everyone is on top form. One of the albums of the year, no problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars complements whatever I am doing, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium (MP3 Download)
the music is effortless, led by piano, accompanied by a lovely double bass and the drummer never taking over. listen to it when I'm working, cooking and eating, makes the mood just right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Robert Nunn (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium (Audio CD)
Like so many others, distinct echoes of EST, but still original. Interesting rhythmically, and very melodic. This keeps finding its way back onto my CD player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the type of music I love., 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium (Audio CD)
I bought this LP because this is my kind of music, I already know this LP and I wanted to add it to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars present!, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium (Audio CD)
bought as a present for my brother-in-law for christmas he says that it is very good and thanks you and me for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Equilibrium
Equilibrium by Benedikt Jahnel Trio with Antonio Miguel & Owen Howard
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews