Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4088 great - but not backwards compatible with a 3088 base station
Phone is fine - menu system is easy to use - and easy to setup. It is certainly much better than the the RTX 3088 phone. Both my 3088 phones died after about 18 months - there seems to be a known speaker problem - no fix.

So I upgraded to the 4088 phone - BE WARNED - you need to buy both the phone and the base station. A 4088 phone is NOT compatible with a 3088...
Published 19 months ago by peter

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless piece of electronics
We used to have a RTX 3088 for a few years that worked well. This 4088 supposedly worked with multiple Skype accounts, so we decided to upgrade.

From the start the 4088 has been a useless piece of hardware. The sound quality is awful. The caller ID does not work for landlines. You need multiple handsets to use multiple Skype accounts. It cannot handle UK...
Published 15 months ago by Rob Rob


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4088 great - but not backwards compatible with a 3088 base station, 29 Jan 2013
Phone is fine - menu system is easy to use - and easy to setup. It is certainly much better than the the RTX 3088 phone. Both my 3088 phones died after about 18 months - there seems to be a known speaker problem - no fix.

So I upgraded to the 4088 phone - BE WARNED - you need to buy both the phone and the base station. A 4088 phone is NOT compatible with a 3088 base station.

Call quality, reliability all seems fine at the moment - Jan 2013. If there are issues or problems I will update this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless piece of electronics, 2 Jun 2013
We used to have a RTX 3088 for a few years that worked well. This 4088 supposedly worked with multiple Skype accounts, so we decided to upgrade.

From the start the 4088 has been a useless piece of hardware. The sound quality is awful. The caller ID does not work for landlines. You need multiple handsets to use multiple Skype accounts. It cannot handle UK area codes with more that three digits.

And in the past couple of months, it gets confused and cannot tell whether the batteries are charged. It decides there is no battery power and just shuts off. It's become useless. I've not had it for six months, but get no support from the manufacturer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RTX Dual phones 4088, 8 Jun 2013
By 
David J. Wilson "Dave" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought to replace a previous model of RTX which had ceased to work these ones work very good and are reliable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Review covers the RTX Dualphone 4088 system - this purchase was an additional handset.

I have used the RTX Dualphone 3088 for a couple of years and decided to upgrade to be able to use 2 Skype accounts on the same system. This works very well but landlines calls are completely impossible due to a severe echo in the earpiece of the handsets. Sound quality on Skype calls is very good so if that is all you need I would highly recommend the 4088. If you wish to make landline calls my recommendation is to buy something else. Will be returning this if the problem cannot be fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb For Skype, 24 July 2013
By 
R. M. Ogden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I use this wholly as a Skype phone. The sound quality is excellent and it is a vast improvement over earlier skype handsets I have had. I can't vouch for its functionality using multiple Skype accounts but it works well with your own skype out (skype number).

Without the need to turn on your pc this connects to your internet with a ethernet cable and the range on the handset is very good around the house and garden. The handset itself rings and has a flashing light if messages are left on your skype answer phone service.

I'm getting a second handset.

If you think you can do away with a landline this phone is certainly one to have a go with.

Coupled with a mobile you can cover all sorts of scenarios and get great prices on call costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skype and landline dual phone, 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 Skype and Landline Additional Handset - White (Electronics)
All in one landline and Skype phone. No need to hook to computer. In the past, these have not worked well as they tend to drop the line and suddenly lose the speaker. This one is fine so far. Extra handset is excellent to keep in another part of the house and means one of us can use the land line while the other Skypes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Otherwise great product., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Working really well so far, display is a little tiny but have got used to it now. Otherwise great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 July 2014
By 
Mrs. G. M. Hutton Brown (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 Skype and Landline Additional Handset - White (Electronics)
Very satisfied with extra handset. Instructions were not very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars If it's the only option..., 18 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
then the phone will be an acceptable purchase. Be prepared to buy batteries - the ones supplied will absolutely not hold a charge. Less than one minute off the charger and it's dead. Lightweight, flimsy. Feels cheap, looks cheap. Should be cheaper to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars RTX DUALphone 4088 Skype & Landline, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: RTX DUALphone 4088 Skype and Landline Additional Handset - White (Electronics)
The phone works reasonably well but the signal seems to be weak at the other end of the house though, the charging unit requires care when placing the phone on it, otherwise it won't charge... pretty annoying to be honest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews