Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars143
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 November 2012
This is the Dreamboats second Christmas CD and, as always with this series is first class as a nostalgic reminder of the period 1956 to 1962. Well worth dipping into your pocket to buy.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This 22-track collection is an improved version of the earlier 17-track Dreamboats And Petticoats: The Christmas Album, with 15 of the 17 tracks being identical but in a different running order. This compilation features Little drummer boy by the Beverly sisters instead of the Harry Simeone Chorale, while Jingle bell rock (Bobby Helms) has been dropped altogether, although that track can be found on plenty of other Christmas compilations. It has been replaced by the tracks featuring Dalene Love (Winter wonderland), Elvis Presley (Santa bring my baby back to me), Bing Crosby (Silent night), Nat King Cole (O come all ye faithful), Nina and Frederick (Little donkey) and the Shadows (Walking in the air).

Of the tracks that have been carried forward from the previous compilation, perhaps the hardest to find on other Christmas compilations are those by Billy Fury (My Christmas prayer) and Joe Brown and the Bruvvers (The holly and the ivy), so their inclusion is particularly welcome.

Overall, this is a very solid compilation with plenty of familiar songs plus a few less obvious songs to keep it interesting.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
A great selection of 'vintage' Christmas songs. Personal favourites are Elvis & The Jordanaires 'Santa Bring My Baby Back (To Me)', Beach Boys 'Little Saint Nick', Dickie Valentine 'Christmas Alphabet' and Brenda Lee' 'Rockin Around The Christmas Tree'.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
...or, at the very least, think twice before buying this CD.

It's not that it isn't the great music that we've come to expect from the Dreamboats and Petticoats franchise; it just that -- well, I've come to expect CDs in this series to have one or two tracks which duplicate previous compilations, but this one is by far the worst for that; at least 50% of the content is the same as on the previous Christmas CD, [...]. This one is probably only worth buying if you don't already have the other one; if you do, it's probably best to wait until it becomes available as MP3 downloads, and then buy only those tracks which aren't duplicates.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Super sounds of the bygone era, loved the whole CD and will definitely buy more. Excellent value for money. Gets you singing along happily.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
Was purchased as a gift, and he was very pleased to receive it!!
A great price, and happy customer and receiver :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Loved this CD, wonderful memory's returned, of me and my late sister who was learning me all the dance moves of that time. The bop, hand jive. loca motion. twist and the bump.
I have most of songs on my sisters old 45s, but the sound quality is much improved on the CD, my sister would have loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
Great collection of Xmas song that most of you will remember and love / like (if you are old enough) or remember from when your parents played them (unless you are very young!).
They are 1955 - 1975.
They are originals!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
I have all the others in the dreamboats and petticoats series but was slightly disappointed with this one.It has xmas songs on it
(as you would expect) also a few carols which didnt seem right to me with the song mix .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
This is just the perfect CD for christmas time! It's got plenty of songs on that are different to the usual compilation cd at this time of year and is perfect for getting you in the mood for festivities!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)