Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best PE album for years!
After several albums that showed promise but in my opinion never really delivered, Public Enemy have finally given us their strongest material since the golden age of Def Jam and it's fitting that it happens on their 20th anniversary. Every track on this album is good and most are better than anything else they have recorded since the 90's. 'Harder Than You Think' is an...
Published on 21 Jan 2012 by Mr S

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad
HOTSSTASP is p.e's 3rd album in 2 yrs and follows hot on the heels of "rebirth of a nation" from last yr,now this is a much better album than that misguided project was but falls short of 2005's excellent "new whirl odour"..if you havent bought a p.e album in years then get "new whirl odur" it's better than these last two albums. That said this is still quite good..guests...
Published on 5 Sep 2007 by Mr. Russell C. Witheyman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best PE album for years!, 21 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After several albums that showed promise but in my opinion never really delivered, Public Enemy have finally given us their strongest material since the golden age of Def Jam and it's fitting that it happens on their 20th anniversary. Every track on this album is good and most are better than anything else they have recorded since the 90's. 'Harder Than You Think' is an instant Hip-hop classic and when I watched the video it really brought a smile to my face to see Chuck and Flav still going strong, even as they are close to 50 years of age! On previous albums their message has seemed a bit dated and coupled with mediocre production, it left me thinking PE had gone stale and were past it. However the production and beats are stronger on this album with the subject matter more varied. Flavour Flav's customary solo tracks are stronger than many of his previous efforts which have been largely irritating and tracks you often skipped on repeated listens. Overall this is a triumphant return to form for one of the greatest and most influential rap bands ever and should be enjoyed by Hip-hop fans old and new. Public Enemy are indeed the 'Rolling Stones of rap.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not bad, 5 Sep 2007
HOTSSTASP is p.e's 3rd album in 2 yrs and follows hot on the heels of "rebirth of a nation" from last yr,now this is a much better album than that misguided project was but falls short of 2005's excellent "new whirl odour"..if you havent bought a p.e album in years then get "new whirl odur" it's better than these last two albums. That said this is still quite good..guests feat are krs-one and redman. P.e still have it but this won't trouble their classic material. Still enjoyable though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another worthy PE release, 16 Aug 2007
Some good work on this one. KRS-One features on Sex, Drugs & Violence, Redman lends his production skills to Can You Hear Me Now, and Chuck D And Flavor are on form throughout (bar maybe Flavour Man which tries to hard to be Flavor of old). Some nice nods to the Bomb Squad productions make this a worthy addition to the PE catalogue. Nice DVD too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old skool for the new skool, 25 Mar 2008
By 
OK.. so you can't sell sand to the arabs, and this album may only appeal to young'ish 'old-school' rap fans, or, ageing music fanatics who like to dabble through all sorts of genres (me being the latter... White and Scottish.. Oh My God!!)

Public Enemy are pass-masters at what they do, they've been flying high for so long, leading a tradition steeped in rockin beats, wax lyrical poetic verbs, and riffs an loops that get embedded in your brain. HYSSTOSPWSTS is no different a creation from them, and lives up to what you would expect from a band who are deeply inspired by what they see in the world, to write about it and keep you coming back for more.

From politics, to freedom of speech, war and psychopaths, to good damn fun and giving the finger to souless dudes; this band so obviously have much to say, and have a great time doing it for all the world to hear. They are to Rap what Slayer is to Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RECOMMENDED, 18 Sep 2007
By 
R. Peregrine (Maesteg, glamorgan United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Someone else on this site mentioned that New Whurl Order is better than this, but not having heard that album I can't comment. All I can say is that if you are a PE fan you won't be dissapointed by this. If you're not familiar with them then I don't know, you might like it, you might not. But as a fan myself I was completely blown away. A seriously good LP. Can't be bothered writing any more, but PUBLIC ENEMY fans feel safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars STILL the best around, 17 Jun 2014
This is a stunningly good album,PE still & always have had something to say,social or political.All the ingredients are here,a mixture of hip hop,funk to a degree & a touch of metal Run Dmc style.
It's quite hard to find a bad PE album,they just come in degrees of goodness in my book.How have they lasted 25 years? because of albums like this,puts most others in thier field to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well, it seems very easy, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How You Sell Soul to a Soulless People Who Sold Their Soul? (MP3 Download)
Big PE bias
The more I listen, the more I like this, it Chuck kicks the issues of the now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Got a copy at last, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Expensive for the CD but best price I could find (I even tried the Public Enemy site but my payment was returned without explanation - presumably since I was outside the US). This order was dealt with efficiently and I can now blast 'Harder than you think' when I'm in the car - very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good CD I had not heard any PE stuff for ..., 30 Aug 2014
The order arrived promptly and securely packaged. Very good CD I had not heard any PE stuff for some time they still have it also it came with additional DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hip Hop legends still keepin in real!, 7 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. M. D. Mcquiston (Gods County U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Flavour flav is REAL boy!!! Probably not there best album how ever you cant realy fault them after being in the business for over twenty years and yet they still manage to sound fresh. Would say I like 85% of the tracks on this album this is still a must have album for any P.E. fan. Bring back Terminator X no offence D.J. Lord !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews