Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag but an improvement over the first season
Season 2 of Star Trek: The Next Generation improves on the first series by introducing occasionally stronger character based shows and situations. While Tasha Yar is missed, and to a lesser extent Doctor Crusher, we're introduced to 2 new characters. Dr. Pulaski and Guinan. Personally I always enjoyed Pulaski shows, she was one of the only characters that brought a bit of...
Published on 3 Mar. 2002 by Colin Neal

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars No Longer Able To Watch
This purchase was made when Amazon had a pop-out facility on their video player screen. This has now been removed without consultation or apology and so I can no longer enjoy my purchase whilst using other applications on my PC. I shall be requesting a full refund from Amazon and recommend that other customers do not purchase any instant videos from Amazon.
Published 1 month ago by MRS ALISON J BURKE


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag but an improvement over the first season, 3 Mar. 2002
By 
Colin Neal (Reading, Berkshire. England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season 2 of Star Trek: The Next Generation improves on the first series by introducing occasionally stronger character based shows and situations. While Tasha Yar is missed, and to a lesser extent Doctor Crusher, we're introduced to 2 new characters. Dr. Pulaski and Guinan. Personally I always enjoyed Pulaski shows, she was one of the only characters that brought a bit of conflict into the programme. There was never enough coming and going of new blood into the Star Trek series (either in front or behind the camera). Guinan (and the new location for her "Ten Forward" - a great setting for comedy/social moments) added more life and mystery into the show. It was a shame she wasn't able to appear in more episodes in the later parts of the series (she does have a cameo role in Star Trek Nemesis).
The episodes themselves were extremely varied. Due to the writer's strike, the season was cut short to 22 episodes rather than the full 26 ending with the appalling "bottle show", 'Shades of Grey' (Plot summary: Riker in a coma and Deanna "looking worried" while Pulaski puts copious L.E.Ds on his forehead). "The Royale" was also truly terrible. There were some storming episodes though, the best being "Q Who." This episode had everything: Q, the introduction of the Borg, Guinan, great special effects and a superb score by Ron Jones. Other great episodes were "Contagion" and "Time Squared"
This box set has everything you could wish for (that's why I'm giving it 5 stars): remastered picture and Dolby Digital sound, one hour of new interviews and documentaries, and some really awesome DVD menus. Although seasons 1 and 2 aren't the best you can't really miss these, they are great foundation episodes with the DVD box sets given the care and attention they deserve.
Episode list:
The Child
Where Silence Has Lease
Elementary, Dear Data
The Outrageous Okona
Loud as a Whisper
The Schizoid Man
Unnatural Selection
A Matter of Honor
The Measure of a Man
The Dauphin
Contagion
The Royale
Time Squared
The Icarus Factor
Pen Pals
Q Who?
Samaritan Snare
Up The Long Ladder
Manhunt
The Emissary
Peak Performance
Shades of Gray
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No Longer Able To Watch, 22 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This purchase was made when Amazon had a pop-out facility on their video player screen. This has now been removed without consultation or apology and so I can no longer enjoy my purchase whilst using other applications on my PC. I shall be requesting a full refund from Amazon and recommend that other customers do not purchase any instant videos from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big change for the better, to the Star Trek Universe., 29 May 2005
By 
R. Flux (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Two decades after the orginal series, the 'The Next Generation' was introduced back to the picture box once again. But for where the 1st series of 'TNG' had clung tight to the peramiters of the orginal show. Now the 2nd series of 'TNG' began to stand on it so own feet to give its self a new identity.
Gone (thank godd!)was the over use of make-up on male actors. Plus slight alterations of 'Costumes'(Worfs shash etc..), 'Music', 'Writing', 'Special effects' and 'Cast'(Whoopi Goldberg joined the crew as A qurky bartender and Dr.Crusher is repaced by Dr.Palaski) all added up to give 'TNG' a deeper vision in the Star Trek universe.

The stories, More Imortantly Exel !!!!
With 'A MATTER OF HONOR', Riker joins a Kligon Bird of Prey as its 1st officer.
'THE MEASURE OF A MAN', Data's rights as a person are questioned.
'Q WHO' Enters the 1st appearance of science-fictions most popular creations, The BORG !.
'PEAK PERFORMANCE' Is also my personal series favorite. Riker is given the opportunity to Captain an aging Star ship against the Enterprise in a training exercise. Unfortunately the Feringi turn up to put a spanner in the works.
There are 22 episodes instsead of the normal 26 because of a writers strike and the last episode called 'SHADES OF GREY'is more of a re-cap of the last two series.
The DVD set is well produced, with the series on 6 discs. Containing a host of extra features on the 6th disc.
The plastic sliver case looks very striking & is more impressive than the American version box sets.
Booklet that comes with the 2nd series it self is rather bleak. It could of easliy had more information about behind the scenes, cast and crew.Plus the photos look as if riped from the internet.
In short this is a impressive set of stories, which are mixed with hummor, action, drama and a little room for thinking too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The Wrong Episode!!!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazon have listed this as Series 2 Episode 11, 'Contagion', but that you actually get is episode 8, 'A Matter of Honour'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NextGen, Year 2: pickin' up momentum, 12 May 2004
By 
Zagnorch (Terra, Sol System) - See all my reviews
You know, it's just not fair. I plunked down just as many shekels for this NextGen box set as I did for the first one. Now that might not seem like much of a problem to most, but here's the messed-up part: this set contains only six DVDs, rather than its predecessor's total of seven . So why am I paying the same price for something that has less? Wouldn't it make more sense for me to pay six-sevenths as much? Of course, if that screenwriters' strike hadn't cut down NextGen's second-season eppie total, I wouldn't've had to worry about it in the first place...
...but enough griping, at least for the moment. Compared to the original series DVDs, the NextGen platters have more episodes per disc (four to Classic Trek's two), and the and the box set takes up about the same space as three standard-width snap cases. Which means the entire run of NextGen DVDs will take up about two-thirds as much space as the entire run of original series platters presently do. Of course, this makes me wonder why Paramount didn't give the classic show a similar treatment in the first place? After all, when it comes to collecting Star Trek on video, shelf space becomes an essential commodity. This is after all a franchise made up of five series, nine (soon to be ten) movies, and a cartoon show, with endless sequel & spin-off possibilities! With these facts staring a DVD-collecting UberTrekkie in the face, one can NEVER have too much shelf space, and... um... whoops, I did it again, didn't I? Sorry 'bout that. Gimme a mome to get back on track, okay? Thanks...
While not particularly exceptional, NextGen's second year was a fair improvement over the first in many respects. It displayed a potential that would eventually make it a worthy successor to its 23rd-century forebear. The follicular abilities of Riker & Picard went in opposite directions as our beloved overly-dramatic-pose-prone executive officer sprouted facial hair. Worf & LaForge receive new uniforms and new duties. Also noted here is Ten-Forward and the first poker games between the members of the bridge crew. Then there was THE big shake-up: Dr. Crusher was temporarily replaced by a somewhat McCoy-ish woman who wasn't too keen on the notion that Data might actually be more than a mere machine. Sadly, Dr. Crusher neglected to take her son Wussley-- whoops, I mean Wesley with her, much to the chagrin of most NextGen trekkies outside of the adolescent female demographic.
A few of the show's high points in Year Two:
Being a big fan of the Borg, I consider 'Q-Who' to be the best moment of the second season. In this show, Q introduces our star-hopping protagonists to the Borg-- and the rest is history. 'The Measure of a Man' is probably one of the best Data-showcase eppies ever made. In fact, a good portion of the second season was dedicated to the further character development of Starfleet's most valuable android: There's 'Elementary Dear Data', as he plays the part of Sherlock Holmes tracking down a self-aware holodeck creation of Prof. Moriarty. I found it to be a better-than average entry in the show's run of 'Holodeck Malfunction' eppies. In 'The Schizoid Man', Data's taken over by the consciousness of a dying cyberneticist. 'Pen Pals' has our beloved android making covert contact with an alien child on a dying world. Riker also gets some development in 'A Matter of Honor' and 'The Icarus Factor', both of which have a bit more action than the average NextGen eppie.
Then of course there's the shows I'll likely skip past when I host my next NextGen marathon:
Being a Wesley Crusher anti-fan (as any self-respecting NextGen Trekkie should be), viewing his first crush with a young lady who can morph into a weird furry wookiee-thing in 'The Dauphin' was almost unbearable. And although 'The Royale' is kinda fun to watch in a cheeseball way, it's definitely not one of the series' more able entries. To top things off, they saved the worst for last: the season finale 'Shades of Grey'. I prefer to call it 'Riker's Greatest Hits', since about half of the footage for this show was culled from the first two seasons, all of it featuring our beloved Number One's greatest moments of both blissful pleasure and hellish torture from the show's first two years.
As I expected, the sound quality of each episode is really good, far better than their preceding VHS presentations. The subtle background sounds are more perceptible. The picture quality, however, is not as consistently good as that of the First Season set. There are a few parts here and there that look a bit grainy. Of course, this may be due more to the quality of the source film than the digital transfer, but I couldn't tell you for sure one way or the other.
The extra features include several documentary featurettes, which cover pretty much what you'd expect from TV docs: behind-the-scenes looks, memories of the show's second year from both cast and crew, and other info. If nothing else, these featurettes are a good way to prep you for that trivia contest they'll be holding at the next convention that blows into town! I found the doc about the Star Trek archives- a vast collection of props, models, backdrops, and set pieces from all the shows and films- to be the most interesting of the lot.
And now, my biggest gripe about this set: Paramount decided to make the foldout disc holder out of cardboard, which means you'd better expect this storage unit to disintegrate faster than a Romulan hit by a full-power phaser beam after several NextGen marathons. Well, unless you have some duct tape ready that is.
'Late
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have, 28 July 2006
By 
zztopbanana (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I know there are knockers with The Next Generation but if you are a trekkie, then it is just one of the things you have to have.

Not every episode is great, but it is still a must have and a bargain too at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Growing Pains!, 4 Aug. 2008
By 
C. Barker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Star Trek: The Next Generation Season Two definatly showed a more comfortable pace than first year, with some great episodes such as "Q-Who?" and "The Measer of a Man" but was let down by episodes like "Loud as a Whisper" and the un-watchable junk that was "Shades of Grey" which were horrible additions and arguably some of the worst episodes of the series. If you are a fan of the show you can't go without getting the second installment in your collection, but it won't be the best you'll get!

Here are the episodes from Season 2:

The Child (***)
Where Silence Has Lease (****)
Elementary, Dear Data (***)
The Outrageous Okona (**)
Loud as a Whisper (*)
The Schizoid Man (**)
Un-natural Selection (**)
A Matter of Honour (****)
The Measure of a Man (*****)
The Dauphin (**)
Contagion (**)
The Royale (**)
Time Squared (***)
The Icarus Factor (**)
Pen Pals (**)
Q Who? (*****)
Samaritan Snare (**)
Up the Long Ladder (*)
Manhunt (**)
The Emissary (***)
Peak Performance (****)
Shades of Grey (*)

A Mixed Bag but overall some good episodes; be warned the season climax that was "Shades of Grey" is exceptionally bad and don't let that turn you off the show as the third season is so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is a fantastic DVD and really good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars �And then The Borg came, 12 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
The new crew reach there second year of there mission and in doing so encounter new dangers.
In 'Q-Who' Q returns to give the Enterprise and her crew a tase of there future by sending them into the Delta Quadrant for a preview of The Borg. In the highly emotional 'The Measure of The Man' Data's future is put in doubt when a starfleet scientist comes to take him away to perform research on him and only Picard can stop him.
There are many other great episode in this season. A must for any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better than season one but still average., 22 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
The second season featured a new doctor...Fortunately,the Doctor Crusher character resumed in season three.
Whoopi Goldberg also joined the cast as the bartender and giver-of-advice named Guinan.
Due to the then writers strike,season two has only 22 episodes.
Season two has some good episodes such as "Q-Who"(which introduces the Borg)and "The Measure Of a Man" and some reasonable shows like "The Schizoid Man" and "Contagion".
But,it also has three absolute stinkers in "The Outrageous Okona,Samaritan Snare" and the first and (thankfully)only Star Trek money saving clip show called "Shades of Gray".
The crew interaction still seems forced and it is not until season three,when Gene Roddenberry handed over main control to Rick Berman,when this show had a huge dramatic improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews