Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars164
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2014
This book tore at my heart strings a young girl sold into marriage to an old man and then continually abused by her new man or dad if she didn't do as she was told life got a little better in the end good book
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2008
A VERY SAD STORY, A BOOK WRITTEN WITH FEELING, THIS BOOK YOU WANTED TO REACH OUT AND PROTECT THE AUTHOR, WHAT AN AWFUL LIFE SHE HAS LED, NO DOUBT SCARED FOR EVER. THIS BOOK HAS LEFT AN EVERLASTING IMPRESSION.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This book just goes to show that we should never judge
We should never believe just because someone is older, they are not necessarily wiser or honest.
Think out of the norm and look beyond.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Shocking true story, the horror and pain as the pages turned . Very brave lady to have this book published. I hope it has helped with closure to the horrific life you had in your tender young years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
This book was an eye opener for me, as I never thought these things went on in this day and age. I grew up in the 70's as well, and could never see, me or any of my friends being sold into marriage.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
Hard to believe that this happened so recently in the "civilised" UK. How brave Nuala was and still is. Beautifully written.
Good wishes to you & your family Nuala ,enjoy the rest of your life.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
This is a very moving account of this young girls plight well worth reading what an inspiration to think that this went on in the 1970s opens your mind to what is going on in the world today
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
I think this rating is deserved for the simple fact that the author has the most harrowing tale ever. My wish is that she forgives her persecutors and finally have some peace
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
Oh this book was very very sad, but at the same time, the world needs to hear about this also.
Words fail me, but I couldn't stop reading it. Unbelievably good read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2010
I thought it was a very sad book ... I cant understand how no-one helped this poor woman ..?? I hope she can one day help herself overcome the grief from her past x
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.