Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars15
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 November 2012
Just browsing the Mercury Rising reviews and I can't believe what I am reading...I never make reviews or comments about anything but seeing these bad comments I just had to reply. I have been a dedicated Stranglers fan for 35 + years and this is one of the best singles from the band ever - full stop. To be producing material like this after so many years can only highlight the bands comittment to the music and shear talent. This tune is sharp, poppy and cool...are the rest of you stuck in 1979 ? Long live the Meninblack.
In our 'celebrity based easy listening' 'corporate sponsored media mush' based world these guys never win anything...and its about time they did.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2013
Bought this to add to the collection of fabulous music that this band, in it's various guises, have produced over the past 30 plus years. This CD Includes live tracks and if you want to see a great live band look no further than The Stranglers.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2012
Great song from The Stranglers. Whilst this song has a modern upfront production and plenty of melody and menace, it still pays respect to this bands heritage. The bass line is dark and heavy like something from the Black & White era, backed up by Jet Blacks solid drumming. The keyboards are woven throughout tastefully. While Baz Warne excels himself both vocally and guitarwise.

This will please most of the faithful, while it should appeal to fresh ears alike. It will upset a few but hey, it's The Stranglers! Buy one today!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
This is one of the best tracks from The Stranglers album, Giants. I bought it because I'm a completist. The other reason you should buy it is to get a feel for the album before buying it. It is nothing like The Stranglers of the 70s sound so if that's what you're after, this isn't for you. This is not like much they've done before but it is utterly brilliant in its uniqueness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
This version varies slightly from the album mix.A cracking single,easily the best stranglers single in a very long time.The only downside is that this is a very cheaply pressed CD-R.The instrumental version is wonderful,a great chance to hear Jean Burnell's incredible bass line on this song.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Anyone who doesn't get this with the heavy bass, the quirkyness and the usual melody we've come to expect from the Stranglers simply doesn't understand the Meninblack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
The Stranglers what more can be said.
Fantastic cd The Stranglers at the best, If it wasnt an age thing they would still be charting now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2013
Been a fan for over thirty years,love this track from there last lp. great to have this item on single still love this format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
I would have prefered a new song rather than an instrumental version, but they are still one of my favorite bands!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
still going after 38 years proof if i needed any that they are fantastic and very underated band long live the stranglers
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)