Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!
I thoroughly enjoyed this book - my first Kindle only book - and will look out for Book No 2! Enjoyed the fast moving pace and subject matter - really good!
Published 23 months ago by Nick Henshaw

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A forgettable holiday read
Although I doubt the Morpheus network could be created by one - or is it two? - guys working in the back room David Robinson bases his story on the existence of a large network of compromised computers - a botnet - scattered across the globe.

The two guys have set up the network by penetrating a large number of computers (just like yours or mine...) and...
Published 29 days ago by Terry D


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars A forgettable holiday read, 30 Nov 2014
By 
Terry D "tdawson735" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Morpheus Network (Kindle Edition)
Although I doubt the Morpheus network could be created by one - or is it two? - guys working in the back room David Robinson bases his story on the existence of a large network of compromised computers - a botnet - scattered across the globe.

The two guys have set up the network by penetrating a large number of computers (just like yours or mine...) and persuading them to run a Trojan Horse program. The users of those computers are unaware of that program but it has made available details of a vast number of passwords, bank accounts, passports, national insurance information plus other highly sensitive data.

Rather than use the botnet to launch a Distributed Denial of Service Attack on a major computer system such as a bank they proposed to use it as a means of laundering illegal money - $100,000,000 hidden in an offshore account. The source of the money, and the political implications associated with it, are less than believable but...

Our two clever guys will simply `persuade' each of the remote computers (scattered around the globe) to set up a `new' bank account into which they'll deposit small amounts of that illegal money. The funds will then be used to purchase (typically) stocks and shares which will subsequently be sold and the now-laundered money returned to the `new' bank account. Which, of course, will then be emptied.

Unfortunately, although the idea is neat, the resultant story line is less than believable and all the characters are nothing more than cardboard figures with no depth whatsoever. As a result the book is, for me, something to be picked up at an airport or railway station and used to while away a long journey. Or, perhaps, as something to read at the poolside during a leisurely and idle holiday.

There are also a vast number of typos in my Kindle edition - typically spelling mistakes, repeated words and wrong words - which any editor (or a simple word processing package) would have picked up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Morpheus Network (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book - my first Kindle only book - and will look out for Book No 2! Enjoyed the fast moving pace and subject matter - really good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars That would have been a great shame because the second half provided a fascinating read ..., 28 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Morpheus Network (Kindle Edition)
As with 'The Dossier', a well written story but it seems to comply with a modern genre of keeping several apparently unrelated threads going before bringing them together for the main event. In this case I was still in blissful ignorance of where the plot was going until the trip showed I'd read some 45% of it and frankly, if it had been a library book, I'd have changed it for another before getting that far. That would have been a great shame because the second half provided a fascinating read - as they say, a real 'page turner'.

If I'm right in assuming this is another author who writes direct to Kindle, editing/proof reading is definitely second rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hi-tech espionage!, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Morpheus Network (Kindle Edition)
This is an fast-paced thriller with the action taking place in London, Washington, the Caribbean and primarily, Amsterdam. It’s an exciting mix of ruthless hired assassins, corrupt politicians, cyber-criminals, the police and intelligence services of several countries, and our heroes, who are hi-tech private investigators. With the scenic backdrop of Amsterdam’s canals, car chases and a little romance, it would probably make a good film. Apart from a slightly silly 'twist' at its end, the Morpheus Network is generally well-written, and fun to read – I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You'll never be slack about IT security after reading this, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Morpheus Network (Kindle Edition)
Reads like a combination of Da Vinci Code and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Not great literature but an entertaining puzzle to unpick with a twist at the end. The cyber crime aspect is a salutary warning to keep maintain IT security. Trust the typos will be edited out if it goes in to print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly woven plot!, 2 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Morpheus Network (Kindle Edition)
Cornish has held together a complex interwoven plot with great mix of suspense and lighter moments. A real threat to Grisham!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars scary, 1 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Morpheus Network (Kindle Edition)
This book made me realise just how easy it is for Hackers to get our information and use it. Think I will change all passwords and update to Genius status !,,,,, Excellent read and scary storyline .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Morpheus Network (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book from the start to the finish. Scarry story - hope some of this was fictional! Characters developed well over the course of the book which was difficult to put down. Looking forward to another book from this new author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Morpheus Network, 20 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Morpheus Network (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable book which maintained interest and tension throughout. A bit technical in parts for those not familiar with computeriseze.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Morpheus Network (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, I wasn't sure if it was the type of book I would enjoy but it most certainly was.
It gripped me from the first page and took me three days. I was even surprised that I understood all the computer 'speak' :-)

One to recommend from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Morpheus Network
The Morpheus Network by David N Robinson
£3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews