Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Returns to original format.
On the basis of the change in format in the 2012 Guide had reservations about buying 2013 edition unless the format reverted to counties. Having purchased the 2013 edition delighted to say it is back in the original format of categorising pubs by county rather than geographical regions. Still see some excellent pubs not appearing as a main entry presumably because they...
Published 22 months ago by Ballroom39

versus
33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Guide Ethos Change
Beware! The ethos of the Good Pub Guide has changed. Now, an outstandingly good pub up to "Main Entry" standard has to pay the Guide to be included as a main entry. Otherwise it is relegated to an "also ran" entry and buried in the "Worth a Visit" section. This means that many excellent pubs are now difficult to locate (as they are not included in the map section)...
Published 21 months ago by Mr. A. E. Radnor


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Improved for 2013, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have bought this guide for a number of years and allways found it excellent.
Layout for 2012 was however rubbish but now reverted back to original layout and much improved because of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pub guide, 28 Nov 2012
By 
B. Knights "TH Butterfly" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We buy this nearly every year which is recommendation enough!! No need to waste another 10 words on explaining anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Pub Guide, 9 Nov 2012
I'm a keen pub goer and love finding new places to eat, drink and basically have a good time. I've used various guides in the past including CAMRA and without a shadow of doubt this guide beats all others hands down. The Good Pub Guide is a brilliantly comprehensive and, so far, I've discovered three great new venues for my friends and I to use. I will definitely be writing them up and sending them in for the 2014 edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book,, 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
reviews very accurate. The ones we have tried had great food and the pub was as they said. The places in the back were also on a whole very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Pub Guide, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Our most valuable guide. It regularly leads us to good pubs with good food, wherever we are in the country and warns when places are sliding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to almost it's best, 21 Oct 2012
By 
P. White (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank goodness the editors have changed the format of the 2013 version. The 2012 Good Pub guide layout and editorial selection were unacceptable so I didn't buy it. We continued to use the 2011 version and take a small risk that some entries might be badly out of date. For the future I would rather pay a little more than have entries in a guide included or highlighted for revenue reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Pub Guide 2013, 11 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Invaluable, reviews are accurate for my local pubs and I know that they are not sponsored. Excellent value from Amazon and better this year because pubs are listed in County order. Reliable away from home.

John Clarke October 2012
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible, 14 Sep 2012
This book is so useful as the pubs are recommended by those who have used them and not by anyone paying to be mentioned. Of course not everyone will be 100% happy with every pub included but having used these guides for the last 10 years can wholeheartedly say that it is a great guide to finding pubs when in unfamiliar territory whether it be for food, drink or just ambience. Always a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly what I expected, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first time I bought this guide. First of all the size of the book is enormous, not practical at all. Me and my partner decided to buy it to take it on trips / walks with us and choose pubs near where we are. It should be a bit taller so that it wouldn't have to be 1k pages...
Also, it should be so much more structured! We love beer gardens but without reading the whole review of a pub it is impossible to tell whether they have garden or not. No information is in bullet points, it is difficult to browse through given it is all just flowing text.
The good thing about the guide though is that it seems to have accurate information and the pubs that are in there are actually good - regardless of whether it has been paid for or not, I don't care.
So all in all it's okay, it does the job, but it could easily be so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good informative book, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book, bought as a present for my father who had requested it for Christmas. He is a keen walker and finds this book very informative each year. It arrived superfast, in excellent new condition,packed well and at a competetive price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Pub Guide 2013
The Good Pub Guide 2013 by Fiona Stapley
9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews