Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forensic-Style Examination Of Isandhlwana
The oracle of the Zulu Wars, Ian Knight, takes a team to re-examine the battlefield of Isandhlwana to try to uncover answers to the mysteries which shroud the defeat of an imperial, modern, British army, armed with the new Martini-Henry rifle.
One thing they've always thought is the difficulty getting into ammo boxes. But a box of the period is hit with a piece of...
Published 23 months ago by C. Evans

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Captioning please!
While I enjoyed what I could hear of THE MYSTERY OF ZULU DAWN, I was equally frustrated by what I couldn't hear, due to the lack of subtitles/captioning. As is often the problem with shows like this, here we have a bad sound balance, with the intrusive musical score poorly mixed in places with rather monotonously read narration.

Don't get me wrong, I love these...
Published 14 months ago by Jon Wynne


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forensic-Style Examination Of Isandhlwana, 18 Jan 2013
By 
C. Evans (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Mystery Of Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
The oracle of the Zulu Wars, Ian Knight, takes a team to re-examine the battlefield of Isandhlwana to try to uncover answers to the mysteries which shroud the defeat of an imperial, modern, British army, armed with the new Martini-Henry rifle.
One thing they've always thought is the difficulty getting into ammo boxes. But a box of the period is hit with a piece of wood and easily comes away, so that particular theory is a bit weak. So what caused it?
Well, the shamen would prepare a concoction for the Zulu before battle - a 'snuff' which, under forensic examination in England (a sample purchased by Ian from the Zulu) shows very high content of THC, which they conclude would have made the Zulu trance-like, extremely aggressive and able to keep attacking even with one or two wounds from British fire.
Includes nice footage of the battle site with the team finding bits from the battle with metal detectors.
There is examination of the rifle also. The Martini-Henry heats up very quickly to a very high temperature which could cause a bullet cartridge to stick and need taking out with a bayonet - perhaps leading to a breakdown in the thin red line, allowing Zulus to penetrate. The other thing was the accumalation of smoke from the gunfire which could have made visibility poor. If you're into the Zulu War battles, I would definitely buy this. I got it originally on video from the States as you couldn't get it in the UK back then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars opening moves and aftermath, 12 Feb 2013
By 
James Wells "Cambyses" (KSA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Of Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD seems an accurate reconstruction of the action but misses out both the opening moves and the aftermath.

The British regiments at Isandlwhana Stood To in good order and for nearly two hours their heavy and accurate rifle fire held off the Zulu attacks causing heavy casualties and coming close to winning the battle.

It was only after prolonged firing that the Martini Henry rifles were overheating and becoming fouled which gave the Zulus the opportunity for a renewed attack. I doubt that a modern rifle would have performed much better without cleaning.

Nothing can ever detract from the courage of the Zulus defending their homeland but the action was a hollow victory as one man in three was dead, one of the three injured and the harvest almnost due to be taken in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its interesting, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Of Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
sheds a new light on the battle, and debunks some
of what you read about it. including new theorys
about an eclipse , which cut down the visibility
at one point and the zulu elite units being high
on dope
Although it showed new evidence of what could
Have gone It's not convincing enough to let
You believe these are the main reasons. It should
Have mentioned that , the British company's were trying
To hold back the head of the impi and the their left which
Would have been the impi. Right horn and lt colonel durnford
With the irregular units And colonial militia were trying hold
The Right flank. Rapidly running out of bullets durnford and his
Command had to abandon their position and withdraw to the center
Thus the camp was encircled . The nnc. Basutos armed with a shield
Spear and limited fire arms were positioned in between the red coat
Companys when the firing slackened the Zulus surged forward , the
Basutos raised to fear the Zulu war machine, fled their positions many
In fairness stayed their ground and fought bravely until they were killed
How ever this meant that there were massive gaps between each redcoats
Company and the Zulus poured through the gaps slaughtering the soldiers from
Behind before they could react in time. Disappointing these
Facts were ommitted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some false review information, 25 Oct 2014
By 
Ian Holland (Ellesmere Port, Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Mystery Of Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
I have to add that the Amazon review of the Battle of Isandhlwana is totally inaccurate. It falsely states that the British forces outnumbered the Zulu army, this is blatantly false, as the opposite was true. It was fought by 1,500 British soldiers against PPROX. 20,000 Zulus.

So whilst it was a shocking defeat for the British army, it was not totally unexplained, as as soon as the British began to run out of ammunition their fate was sealed. They also were not helped by the pre-battle decision to split up the British forces.

Of course the Battle of Isandhlwana led up to the famous British victory at Rorke's Drift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Captioning please!, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Of Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
While I enjoyed what I could hear of THE MYSTERY OF ZULU DAWN, I was equally frustrated by what I couldn't hear, due to the lack of subtitles/captioning. As is often the problem with shows like this, here we have a bad sound balance, with the intrusive musical score poorly mixed in places with rather monotonously read narration.

Don't get me wrong, I love these kinds of shows and the content was very good with some genuine insight about the battle, but many viewers like myself are hard of hearing. Come on studios, don't diminish our enjoyment! Captioning on everything, please!

Jon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars AN EXPLANATION OF ISANDLWANA?, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Of Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
RATHER DISAPPONITING AT ONLY 60 MINUTES. IT DOES GO SOME WAY TO GIVE THE BACKGROUND TO THE BATTLE, IN THE FILM "ZULU DAWN" - THE SEQUENCES ARE HARD TO FOLLOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Documentary, 24 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Of Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
The documentary was really interesting (and commentary was in an English accent which was nice). But sadly the DVD box was smashed to bits and my disc was scratched quite badly... but the product still played so I was happy enough. The DVD itself was unusual; and claimed to have new insight into the famous battle due to South Africa having only recently opening its doors to let archaeologists in to study the battle field properly... for the first time in history. Sadly the documentary (which is far too short) falls way short of the mark of showing anything beyond yet more speculation, and tends to drift too much from subject to subject, giving an over all feeling of being a bit shallow and lacking in information. But if you have 45 minutes to spare and are interested in the subject, then you will find this DVD entertaining enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Of Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
well presented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Mystery Of Zulu Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
as described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Mystery Of Zulu Dawn [DVD]
£9.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews