Customer Reviews


433 Reviews
5 star:
 (328)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great on High-spec Systems
I listened to this on a 5.1 surround-sound Sony home cinema system (BDVN790).

As other reviewers have noted, just because you have a blu-ray player, it doesn't mean this is going to blow you away - the quality and nature of the speakers and other equipment is going to be pretty important too.
I enjoyed this as an audiophile, every note was crisp and...
Published 16 months ago by Biscuits100

versus
159 of 176 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DON'T FALL FOR THIS!
Firstly, it's important to note that this review is of the 'SUPER DELUXE EDITION' of this collection:
Like many Stones fans, I have the Stones music on multiple formats & nobody MADE ME buy this. I questioned & questioned whether to order this deluxe box, but there were a few tantalizing morsels in it, even though said morsels have been available on bootleg releases...
Published 23 months ago by Gregory's Dream


‹ Previous | 1 2 344 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 4 Feb 2014
By 
M. Jones (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a bargain but the early recordings still don't sound great. the later songs which are better produced do sound great though.
I hope this medium takes off. When it's good it's very good. I'm into vinyl and it still takes some beating but the blu ray is very clear sounding but with a relaxed feel to it, unlike most CD releases. I'm hoping the record companies re-release a number of albums on the one disc as the capacity of the blu-ray is far greater.
I've only listened on a cheapo Sony blu-ray player and it sounds very good. I don't know if the medium takes the player quality out of the equation but it may well sound even better on an Opp or Cambridge Audio universal player.
I've also got Getz/Gilberto which is a jazz album which sounds fantastic. Jazz always seems to be recorded to a higher quality though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Surprise with an 80% score., 5 April 2013
By 
U No Hoo! (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a treat after the withdrawal of the band's Decca recordings on hybrid SACD. This Blu-Ray sound quality on this issue is excellent throughout. The only reason that it failed to get 5 stars from me is because:

1. "Brown Sugar" [about 1 minute in] has a sharp 1 second whistle sound on one side of the stereo image that should not be there.
2. The Stereo mixes of the Decca era tracks "Its All Over Now", "Heart Of Stone" and "Time Is On My Side" are stunning so why weren't the Stereo versions of the other recordings from the same period e.g. "Satisfaction", "Get Off My Cloud" etc used as well? A lost opportunity I think.

Finally, I hope we can now look forward to the re-issue of the Stones' entire Decca and Rolling Stones Records' back catalogues in this superb Blu-Ray audio format in due course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All good except case, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRRR! (Audio CD)
This is Rolled Gold with a few more tracks. That's fine for people like me who've been around for the 50 years of the Stones and feel like it's practically a duty to buy their stuff. A Rolled Gold vol 2 would have been welcome. As for the cardboard case, just how cheap is that? The airport toilet advert next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 13 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perhaps there are limitations to the original masters so what you get is a very clear sound; maybe too bright at times and a lack of dimension. A proper remastering may be in order as was done with the Beatles catalog. I cannot currently compare the Blu-ray audio with the sound of the ABKCO SACDs I own but my impression is they sounded better. That said, this is a great selection of songs in high-resolution sound. Some of the later Stones output (represented on this disc) has never been produced in high resolution. That is an added treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let It Rock!, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Vincent G. Marino (Staten Island, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All 50 tracks in 24-bit/96KhZ. You get to choose between PCM, Dolby or DTS for playback. They all sound amazing. And, you don't have to change discs! Yes, you need a Blu-ray player, but you already have one, don't you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars pathetic, 22 Nov 2012
By 
Franco Rosiello "frank" (italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: GRRR! (Audio CD)
i am reviewing the 3 cd greatest hits and not the very very expensive deluxe stuff that followed. First of all i gave this a 3 star vote only because of the price it's not a bad price for three cd's. however it is worth a 2 star vote. this is supposed to be a 50th anniversary celebration not a fifth anniversary which is what this Grr seems to be. The Stones are the only group to claim 50 years and what the people get is this mess. The packaging is terrible just as mentioned in other reviews it can be ripped easily, therefore much care should be taken in handling it. then the cd's slide into a sleeve which inturn can easily scratch them and finally the booklet is a disgrace to the band 12 pages of nothing instead of costing £11.99 they should of jacked the price a bit and better the quality of the cd packaging. now with that out of the way let's talk about the songs. this was my biggest dissapointment it's true i bought this cd only for the two new songs doom and gloom and one more shot. refering always to 50 years of music and thier golden anniversary the three discs were a big huge dissapointment i expect this out of ten year anniversary not 50. anyway disc one is circa 58 minutes long. what happened to the other 20 minutes that can fill up a cd therefore at least 5 to 6 more songs could have been added to disc one. tracks such as (mother's little helper, play with fire) on disc 2 the biggest dissapointment is a total of circa 69 minutes leaving 11 minutes which at least two songs could have been added and i would not know why a song like Let it Bleed and Lady Jane were left off. then on disc 3 we have a missing 14 minutes in which another 3 or 4 songs could have been added on this cd the songs shattered, rock and a hard place and even rain fall down were left off. All in all a total of about 48 minutes give or take a few minutes were left off giving to a pathetic compilation and a worthless over all buy. like i said i bought it for the two new tracks other wise go onto [...] and buy the 4 pack greatest hits in digipak. this covers alot more than Grrr does and it wasnt even made for the 50 anniversary. those cd's were released about three or four years ago right after a bigger bang. so there you have it. if you are a fan enough to buy this compilation for the two new songs (which are good) then go and buy it just like i did. if not you can purchase the 80 track version at $100 bucks if you are that kind of fan and still some songs are left out. if you are new to the stones buy this cd it's the cheapest one out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly perfect, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Mick (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Now THIS is how music (especially compilations/box sets) SHOULD be released:
24-bit audiophile sound, compact packaging, simple & concise menu.
In fact the ONLY complaint I have with this particular disc is that it would have been far preferable if they'd put the 80-track Super Deluxe version on the BluRay, rather than the 50-track 3-CD version which appears here. But that's a quibble. This is still absolutely amazing.

Record companies listen up: THIS is the future of physical media music. More please! Also - being in the U.S., I had to purchase this from Amazon.com UK as an import. U.S. record companies: get with the program & please start releasing BluRay audio discs like this one in the States!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the nearest i have heard to perfection, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this disc a few weeks ago as i had the Marantz UD7007 SACD/Blu-Ray Player on order and wanted to try the new 'High Fidelity Pure Audio' or BLU-RAY Audio format out. Ok, the first few songs on the disc are from very early on in the Stones career and are very thin sounding but as far as i am concerned they, and the rest of the tracks on this disc, are exact copies of the original studio master tapes. Yes SACD and DVD-Audio are very good but this recording on this new format makes SACD and DVD-Audio redundant even more than they were before. If you have a good quality Blu-Ray player connected to a good amplifier and speakers then invest in this and other 'H.F.P.A' discs. Running time of 3 hours and 8 mins, 50 songs from the Rolling Stones all for less than a tenner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRRRR Rolling Stones on Blu ray audio, 21 Aug 2013
By 
ubud (whidbey island wa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
WOW,
I should have waited for this!
I spent Much too much money on e-bay buying the old Atco OOP SACD's (which aren't horrible)
This Blu Ray 24/96 sounds fantastic.
The RS have never sounded better on my system
Close your eyes you can almost smell 'em (Oh, maybe that's last weeks laundry)
price on uk amazon; less than 1/2 of what I saw in a record store in the good ole usa (no greed here)

ub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superlative sound, 25 Jan 2013
By 
Sugith Varughese (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This item is not available in Canada, so I ordered it from Amazon in the UK. It's a fantastic one disc compilation of all the Stones hits, but in as close to master tape sound quality as possible. The files appear to be all high resolution versions and the sound quality is astonishing, particularly with the early material that I'd never heard before.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 344 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

GRRR! [Super Deluxe Edition]
GRRR! [Super Deluxe Edition] by The Rolling Stones (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews