Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
After a long haul flight and hours hanging around airports a product like this became an obvious "must have" for a gadget loaded traveller. I made a few initially choices with other branded names (which turned out very disappointing & ended up being returned) before discovering Portapow. This slim line 6600mAh battery, weighs next to nothing (200grs), and is a proper...
Published 16 months ago by Derek Allen

versus
10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No support or repair options when in warranty. Not good.
On 12 September 2013 14:07, Lance Wright <lancew@lancew.best.vwh.net> wrote:
Hello.I purchased a PortaPow Premium Dual Emergency USB Battery Extender External Pack iPad iPhone a few months ago from you on ebay,

It's great, so I bought a second one.

The problem is that the first one seems to have something inside of it, and makes a rattling...
Published 9 months ago by Lance Wright


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 8 Mar 2013
By 
Derek Allen (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack with High Speed Micro USB and Apple Lightning Connector (Accessory)
After a long haul flight and hours hanging around airports a product like this became an obvious "must have" for a gadget loaded traveller. I made a few initially choices with other branded names (which turned out very disappointing & ended up being returned) before discovering Portapow. This slim line 6600mAh battery, weighs next to nothing (200grs), and is a proper little power house for topping up smart phones and, in particular, my Samsung Tab 2 7. No additional cables required for charging the Samsung Tab (unlike PowerTraveller) just connect cable to usb out, switch on and re-fill your hungry devices. Recharge the unit itself overnight, via micro usb cable, (from flat to full about 8 hours) and you're ready to go again!

There are a plethora of portable batteries on Amazon, some rated up as high as 12000mAh, but when you read through some of the user reviews this figure would seem a bit overblown, in some cases, by about 5000mAh! Having used this PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack over the past few weeks I have no doubt that what they claim (6600mAh) is spot on. The support & service is also highly commendable. A well-worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply idea works fantastically., 22 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. J. P. Faulkner "Jon Billy" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack with High Speed Micro USB and Apple Lightning Connector (Accessory)
Got the PortaPow for a couple of reasons, firstly when I bought my 2nd hand car the cigar lighter didn't work, on inspection it seems a sticky liquid was dropped into it shorting out all the wiring.
The cheaper option has been to by this device, and its been a godsend. I manage football team and finding some off the pitches is near impossible without a satnav. This device enables the use of my satnav both inside and outside of the car.
It takes a while to initially charge, probably around 8-10 hours but on one charge I made 3 1 hour+ trips and it still showing 50%.
Its light and small so fits nearly anywhere.

Recommend for anyone wanting to use a satnav, PSVita or for charging a phone outside of normal power supplies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack with High Speed Micro USB and Apple Lightning Connector (Accessory)
Same size as a large smartphone, it holds about 6000mAh of power to replenish phones or phablets. If you are going to be out all day or on a long journey, charge it up and stick it in your pocket and you won't have to worry about your phone running out. Just plug your phone cable into the PortaPow and it will start to recharge. For reference, my 1900mAh HTC Sensation gets fully recharged in about 2 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a fantastic quality and inexpensive battery pack!, 1 Dec 2012
By 
This review is from: PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack with High Speed Micro USB and Apple Lightning Connector (Accessory)
In the past I bought several cheap battery packs (some even with a solar panel), but within months or even weeks they stopped working.

The PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack is extremely well made, works brilliantly and is covered by 18 months performance guarantee, which is very important for a product like this.

I bought one of these (not on Amazon) and was so pleased with the product that bought not one but TWO more as gifts for my friends. I think it would make a perfect Christmas gift for anyone who is using a smartphone mobile (i.e. practically everyone nowadays).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well made, works well, 27 Aug 2013
By 
A. J. Rixon "Ade" (Pontypridd, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack with High Speed Micro USB and Apple Lightning Connector (Accessory)
Took two of these camping last week and they did yeoman service. We were able to recharge them on site, but it was handy to leave these charging rather than leave our phones unattended and be without them. Easily got three or four partial charges for smart phones out of each one before they gave out. The casing and sockets feel solid.

Only criticism is that the provided multi-adapter cable, while a useful idea in principle, has fairly loose plug connections. I found a dedicated micro-usb cable more reliable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portapow premium battery pack, 13 April 2013
This review is from: PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack with High Speed Micro USB and Apple Lightning Connector (Accessory)
This is a great bit of kit. Nice a compact and not too heavy. With all the correct cables supplied you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent design, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack with High Speed Micro USB and Apple Lightning Connector (Accessory)
I bought this pack for a holiday as we had lost our charger to take. It is lightweight and small but wow a lot of charging power...you can charge up kindles and phones at the same time and very quickly.

I'd now be lost without it travelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No support or repair options when in warranty. Not good., 29 Oct 2013
This review is from: PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack with High Speed Micro USB and Apple Lightning Connector (Accessory)
On 12 September 2013 14:07, Lance Wright <lancew@lancew.best.vwh.net> wrote:
Hello.I purchased a PortaPow Premium Dual Emergency USB Battery Extender External Pack iPad iPhone a few months ago from you on ebay,

It's great, so I bought a second one.

The problem is that the first one seems to have something inside of it, and makes a rattling noise...

What can I do?

I believe it is still under warranty.

Regards,

Lance Wright
lancew@lancew.best.vwh.net

--
Hi Lance,

Thanks for your feedback and sorry to hear of this issue. We do occasionally hear reports of the pack developing a rattle after a few months use. This is due to a very small piece of plastic snapping off inside the case. This does not affect the way the battery works, so we do not fix this particular issue under warranty.

regards

Bharath Pillai
PortaPow Ltd
[...]
Company registration no. 08183862, VAT no. 140936028
Registered Address: 38 Haddington Road,
Bromley, BR1 5RH, UK

After that, the parts in the unit started to shift, and the unit would not charge properly.

I wrote to them again and was basically told to to leave them alone.

I sent the unit to them in the post, and they refuse to service it.

I discovered that I was 3 months out of warranty by this time, and they do not even offer an out of warranty service for something they acknowledge is a problem.

They are glad to take your money, but not willing to support their product.

And now:

On 28 Oct 2013, at 19:34, PortaPow wrote:

Hi Lance,

We have never supplied a 3 year warranty with this product. If you would like the faulty unit returned to you please send 3 by paypal to sales2@portablepowersupplies.co.uk. If we do not receive funds by the 4th November the unit will be disposed of.

Regards

I'd advise anyone looking for a product which is supported to avoid this company and their products.

No support on a product is a bad thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all but depends on what you are charging, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack with High Speed Micro USB and Apple Lightning Connector (Accessory)
Pretty good really, from a full charge it rescues a Lumia 520 from 14% up to 100% without hint of loss of charge, but charging a Kindle Fire HD seems to completely drain it.

Very good build quality although as stated seems to struggle with hungrier devices but that is to be expected and I don't believe there is a better alternative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slim, easy to find, 8 May 2014
By 
CA Wemyss (Buckingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PortaPow Premium USB Battery Pack with High Speed Micro USB and Apple Lightning Connector (Accessory)
We used the Anker packs before these. The Portapow is that bit slimmer and the bright red enclosure makes it easy to find. The cabling provided is a step-up from the Anker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews