Customer Reviews


1,777 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,266)
4 star:
 (255)
3 star:
 (121)
2 star:
 (59)
1 star:
 (76)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT HAS PETER JACKSON DONE?
The second installment is in the books as the dwarfs try to regain their home. In this installment we are introduced to a passionate elf named Tauriel (Evangeline Lilly) one of the bright spots of the film. I thought the spiders were more realistic. Tauriel reiterates a basic theme "Are we not part of this world?" When good people stand by, evil wins...
Published 13 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay
Okay. Bit slow, and I don't know why it's called desolation of smaug, it doesn't quite pan out that way.
Published 8 days ago by SHEILA B.


‹ Previous | 1 2178 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT HAS PETER JACKSON DONE?, 22 Dec. 2013
The second installment is in the books as the dwarfs try to regain their home. In this installment we are introduced to a passionate elf named Tauriel (Evangeline Lilly) one of the bright spots of the film. I thought the spiders were more realistic. Tauriel reiterates a basic theme "Are we not part of this world?" When good people stand by, evil wins.

It was interesting to see Legolas (Orlando Bloom) in this film as it establishes his relationship with the dwarfs to create better story continuity. At the same time the continuity is lost as we never have that scene in LOTR when Legolas says to Gimli, "Hey, I met your father." Radagast (Sylvester McCoy) once again appears in the Hobbit, a wizard cut out of LOTR for "brevity." If only we could go back and film it all over.

The film ends at an awkward point. Most people I have talked to claimed this was better than the first installment with more action. I will admit I enjoyed the first feature better, and of all the 5 films released to date, I would rate this as the weakest. Still, if you are going to see the third film, you pretty much need to see this one in spite on any shortcomings. People who are lovers of the book, will find this tale nearly unrecognizable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars “Are we there yet?”, 5 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
It is a long time since I read any of Tolkien’s books, and I came to this having watched the first film, as well as the sequel Lord of the Rings trilogy. If, as with any film, you disregard the original source material and treat it on its own merits, then this is a very good sequel to the first film. The story, expanded in places, but still in keeping with the spirit of the original story, if not the fine detail – I’m sure I remember the Goblins as being less monstrous in the written version – takes us through Mirkwood, on to the Lake village, and finally into Dwarf city ‘under the mountain’. Meanwhile, Gandalf has gone off to investigate the tombs of the Nazgul, and to look into Dol Guldur, where a Shadow is walking…

This is a fast-moving adventure, despite being over two and a half hours long. I kept checking the elapsed time, just in case I was approaching a cliffhanger, only to find there was much more time to go. Note that the end credits take up ten minutes, so adjust your expectations accordingly. It really is an epic story told in an epic way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good in most parts., 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not Tolkiens imagination, nor Peter Jackson's skill as displayed in LOTR, but the CGI industry taking over. The film could have been shorter, left out a substantial part of the padding, yet included all that was necessary to cover the original Hobbit as well as the flashbacks and previews of the rise of the Necromancer/Sauron. Overall however, I enjoyed it and am looking forward to viewing the Appendices. As a LOTR fan it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better then AUJ EE, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a far better extended edition then an unexpected journey's one.
Firstly, the design of the box is much better. The golden writing on the front is shiny rather then plain and the detail on the front and back pictures are good. When you take off the sleeve, there are some good pictures of the map of Erebor and Bilbo, Smaug and the Arkenstone.
Secondly, the extended scenes are worth nearly 27 minutes. AUJ's extended scenes were a mere 13 minutes that did not change the story whatsoever. The best scenes are perhaps the longest. After waking up at Beorn's house, Gandalf and Bilbo introduce themselves to Beorn and the dwarves follow in paris. This is a great scene because in the theatrical cut there was too little of Beorn. The next scene i loved was of more Mirkwood. Here we see the Company crossing the bridge and Thorin trying to kill a deer. The third and probably the best scene that was new is Gandalf meeting thrain (Thorin's dad) in Dol Goldur. Some of the scenes in the theatrical cut of Dol Goldur just had Gandalf, here you have Gandalf and thrain. This is emotional particularly when the scene ends.
Thirdly, the extras are even better. Nine hours of fun film making with some scenes devoted to the Battle of the Five Armies film.
In total, this is an extended edition fit to match the first two lord of the rings extended editions.
BTW, parents dont be pertubed by the 15 rating this has been given. The film itself is a 12 as it says on the actual disc and it is one of the appendices that has a 15 on the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay. Bit slow, and I don't know why it's called desolation of smaug, it doesn't quite pan out that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars like expanded polystyrene packing, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film resembles the curate's egg. It was obvious that, in making three films out of one small book, a lot of padding would be necessary. It this case much of it is, like expanded polystyrene packing, only fit for the scrap heap. The film derives more from Mack Sennett than from Tolkien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... a masterpiece written by an Oxford professor and add poor quality plot padding, 17 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It takes a lot of guts to take a masterpiece written by an Oxford professor and add poor quality plot padding. Great quality production, with eye-popping 3D. I enjoyed it, but - with another reviewer here - it is really missing EMOTIONAL ENGAGEMENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Getting For Middle Earth Fans, 4 Nov. 2014
By 
H. S. Hussain - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Already owning the first Hobbit in both Theatrical and Extended and loving it in Extended format, I could not resist getting this one in Extended Edition. Now for most people I would just say stick with the Theatrical because honestly the extended scenes don't really add too much to the overall story but for those of us who are massive fans of Middle Earth the extended scenes add greatly to the wider story in Middle Earth by uncovering and showing certain interesting aspects. This is worth getting if you are a massive Middle Earth/Tolkien/LOTR/Hobbit fan like me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, film been dragged out just a little bit too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lord of the Rings: The Prequel. Part two., 13 April 2014
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The dvd:

Contains the version of the film that was shown at the cinema. Thus you may wish to leave this and not buy it pending the extended edition that will be out later in 2014.

It has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, Italian.

Subtitles: English, Italian.

It begins with no trailers at all, and goes straight into the main menu.

It has three extras:

Two different cinema trailers for the film.

New Zealand: Home of Middle Earth: Part two. A six minute long featurette all about the production and the scenery. With slightly more focus on the latter. This continues things on from part one, which was on the 'Man of Steel' Dvd. For no apparent reason. It contains six minutes worth of stunning scenery, so it's well worth a watch.

The dvd does not, contrary to early information on amazon, contain the usual flyer and code for downloading a UV copy. But if you pre-ordered it in the expectation that it would, then Amazon should have sent you an email by now with a website link and code for such.

That's everything that anyone who has seen the film and wants to know about the product could need to know, so therefore this review can't be classed as anything but helpful. The two people who vote every single review of every single dvd as being unhelpful will probably think otherwise, but that's their problem.

If you haven't seen the film yet:

Then be sure to have watched The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey [DVD] first, because otherwise you might be rather confused as to what's going on.

Even if you've read the book by Professor Tolkien entitled 'The Hobbit' upon which this trilogy of movies is somewhat loosely based.

This version continues on from where said first film left off. And is in the same style. Ie: some bits from the book get in here. Some, such as Beorn's house and Mirkwood go by a bit quickly - which might be a relief to arachnophobes in the case of the latter - others such as Lake-town, the barrels, and Smaug's lair are just the opposite.

Legolas pops up. Along with Tauriel [Evangeline Lilly] an elf lady whom he is rather sweet on. She does a very good accent. He gets to shoot lots of orcs with arrows once again.

As a whole this does start to get into it's stride, and is a better film than the first one as a result. Gandalf gets sidetracked as a way to set certain things up. Once again, this is trying to do what the first trilogy did, so that it will form a good prequel and that in years to come those watching these films for the first time will get something special.

What those who saw the first trilogy think of that approach in the meantime is a matter of opinion.

Some more of the Dwarves do make more of an impression this time, by virtue of the group getting split up. And the comedy double act Dwarves do get more serious. Which is a relief.

Stephen Fry is very good as the mayor of Lake-Town. Luke Evans is very good as Bard the Bowman.

Smaug is a magnificent CGI creation. Superbly voiced by Benedict Cumberbatch.

But as with many big movies these days, the climax is somewhat drawn out, and it doesn't seem to know when to end.

But when it does, it does on a superb cliffhanger.

So I'm looking forward to the third film.

Still not on a par with the first trilogy, but getting better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2178 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free]
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews