Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better then AUJ EE
This is a far better extended edition then an unexpected journey's one.
Firstly, the design of the box is much better. The golden writing on the front is shiny rather then plain and the detail on the front and back pictures are good. When you take off the sleeve, there are some good pictures of the map of Erebor and Bilbo, Smaug and the Arkenstone.
Secondly, the...
Published 7 months ago by Jacob h

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The dreariest film I've ever forced myself to sit through
I'm not such a Tolkien purist that I can't appreciate the decision to give established characters some new adventures, but what I can't understand is the unrelenting drabness of this film. Why use colour film at all - it could have been done in black and white, or rather sepia and white. Even Thranduil's halls were crude and dull - has all of the production team's...
Published 12 days ago by J


‹ Previous | 1 2234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better then AUJ EE, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a far better extended edition then an unexpected journey's one.
Firstly, the design of the box is much better. The golden writing on the front is shiny rather then plain and the detail on the front and back pictures are good. When you take off the sleeve, there are some good pictures of the map of Erebor and Bilbo, Smaug and the Arkenstone.
Secondly, the extended scenes are worth nearly 27 minutes. AUJ's extended scenes were a mere 13 minutes that did not change the story whatsoever. The best scenes are perhaps the longest. After waking up at Beorn's house, Gandalf and Bilbo introduce themselves to Beorn and the dwarves follow in paris. This is a great scene because in the theatrical cut there was too little of Beorn. The next scene i loved was of more Mirkwood. Here we see the Company crossing the bridge and Thorin trying to kill a deer. The third and probably the best scene that was new is Gandalf meeting thrain (Thorin's dad) in Dol Goldur. Some of the scenes in the theatrical cut of Dol Goldur just had Gandalf, here you have Gandalf and thrain. This is emotional particularly when the scene ends.
Thirdly, the extras are even better. Nine hours of fun film making with some scenes devoted to the Battle of the Five Armies film.
In total, this is an extended edition fit to match the first two lord of the rings extended editions.
BTW, parents dont be pertubed by the 15 rating this has been given. The film itself is a 12 as it says on the actual disc and it is one of the appendices that has a 15 on the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars “Are we there yet?”, 5 Dec. 2014
By 
Squirr-el (The Metroplis, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
It is a long time since I read any of Tolkien’s books, and I came to this having watched the first film, as well as the sequel Lord of the Rings trilogy. If, as with any film, you disregard the original source material and treat it on its own merits, then this is a very good sequel to the first film. The story, expanded in places, but still in keeping with the spirit of the original story, if not the fine detail – I’m sure I remember the Goblins as being less monstrous in the written version – takes us through Mirkwood, on to the Lake village, and finally into Dwarf city ‘under the mountain’. Meanwhile, Gandalf has gone off to investigate the tombs of the Nazgul, and to look into Dol Guldur, where a Shadow is walking…

This is a fast-moving adventure, despite being over two and a half hours long. I kept checking the elapsed time, just in case I was approaching a cliffhanger, only to find there was much more time to go. Note that the end credits take up ten minutes, so adjust your expectations accordingly. It really is an epic story told in an epic way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The dreariest film I've ever forced myself to sit through, 20 Jun. 2015
By 
J "jan" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm not such a Tolkien purist that I can't appreciate the decision to give established characters some new adventures, but what I can't understand is the unrelenting drabness of this film. Why use colour film at all - it could have been done in black and white, or rather sepia and white. Even Thranduil's halls were crude and dull - has all of the production team's imagination been used up?
What a waste of good acting, and the opportunity to create another absorbing Middle Earth with at least some beauty to make a contrast to the Desolation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I had hoped it would be., 9 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not as extended as I had hoped. Extra scenes with Beorn the bear man are good and give his character a fairer screen time but other than that I was diappointed. I had hoped to see more of the Elven KIng's realm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review on the sound and picture, 8 May 2015
By 
Mr. S. R. Reece "Topcat" (West Midlands England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'm Not writing my review on the movie itself as this is a more personal taste and by now when you buy this you should know whether it's a good or bad movie...I'm reviewing the disc itself and performance....The picture quality was top notch and pin sharp and the soundstaging and steering first class and if you have a sound surround system you will enjoy this very much...It came with the usual UV copy to download...I can reccomend this movie for sound and vision...Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an improvement, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though an improvement on the 1st film, it still doesn't grab you like the LOTR did, think this is to do with the fact it's all so familiar now and lost that awe factor.
More entertaining than the last one but still has too many unnecessary characters and a pointless diversion.
Doesn't take away the excellent directing and acting and overall look of the film but
fingers crossed for part 3 - think this would have worked better as 2 films though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, film been dragged out just a little bit too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very slow to get going. Too many strands and difficult to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extended edition improves a good film further, 28 Jan. 2015
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Just as Tolkien's books set in Middle Earth defined the modern fantasy genre in literature, these wonderful epic film adaptations of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings have set the bar for fantasy films. This extended edition DVD is worth the money. If you liked the cinema version of the film, 25 minutes of extra material just enhances the pleasure. There's some good stuff added here too; the reappearance of Thorin's long lost father, which helps flesh out the backstory, a longer scene between Kili and Tauriel which means their relationship makes a little more sense, and an expanded version of the journey through Mirkwood. I felt that all of the additional material added to the overall story, and as with the Lord of the Rings extended editions I preferred this to the cinema cut. It also makes it more of a treat at first viewing - almost like watching a new film rather than one you've seen already. Yes, it does make it longer, but I don't mind that - and it's spread over two DVDs which means there's a natural break in the middle, and I usually watch it in two parts.

As well as the extended film itself, there are a wealth of extras that will keep the geek in you happy for a very long time - nine hours in fact. There is a director's commentary - which is genuinely interesting and insightful - and then lots of 'making of' features. With a filming process as lengthy and involved as the one behind this film, this can't fail to be fascinating. The lengths that the team went to in order to make this the best film they could are quite remarkable and makes you watch it again with new eyes. It also helps you spot little details you may have missed.

If you love these films and want to immerse yourselves in them, this DVD is essential. And even if you just like the film without being an ardent fan, I'd suggest buying this over the standard version, for the sake of the extended film in itself. You don't have to watch the features, and I feel the film alone is worth the money. But the features are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good in most parts., 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not Tolkiens imagination, nor Peter Jackson's skill as displayed in LOTR, but the CGI industry taking over. The film could have been shorter, left out a substantial part of the padding, yet included all that was necessary to cover the original Hobbit as well as the flashbacks and previews of the rise of the Necromancer/Sauron. Overall however, I enjoyed it and am looking forward to viewing the Appendices. As a LOTR fan it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2013] [Region Free]
£8.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews