Customer Reviews


998 Reviews
5 star:
 (651)
4 star:
 (155)
3 star:
 (85)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars “Are we there yet?”
It is a long time since I read any of Tolkien’s books, and I came to this having watched the first film, as well as the sequel Lord of the Rings trilogy. If, as with any film, you disregard the original source material and treat it on its own merits, then this is a very good sequel to the first film. The story, expanded in places, but still in keeping with the...
Published 3 months ago by No More Mr. Mice Guy

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inferior to it's predecessor
I usually don't mind a few tweaks to film adaptations, the stuff added to the last hobbit film wasn't too bad at all but the changes made to this film don't even make sense. Orcs running around in daylight, elven love-interests, and that stupid gold statue thing just left me saying 'eh?'. Loads of chunks of the plot don't make sense in this adaptation, not to mention the...
Published 5 months ago by saz


‹ Previous | 145 46 47100 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose this rating because the movie is great. I would recommend that everyone everywhere watch this at least once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
this is a better film than the first hobbit in my opinion. martin freeman is the best person to pick to play bilbo he does a phenomenal job in both films. im a 16 year old drama student and if i get to be 1/4 of the actor he is i will have achieved something in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite being a long film the action was fast paced and the storyline was good. They continue the search where it left off in the previous film and have several adventures on the way to find the mountain and the dragon. The special effects were very good, especially the dragon and what happens beneath the mountain. Needless to say it finished at a really gripping part of the story so will have to watch the final episode when it comes out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prequel to the Hobbit, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was not very much into prequel's of any sort until they did a run on the hobbit now this one is done with empathy for a part of the book the original author never wrote well done to the writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i loved this film as a ardent lord of the rings fan ithought this is a good addition good service too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 12 May 2014
By 
David Matthews (CHIPPENHAM, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Short and simple, this film is so much better than the first installment of the Hobbit and I cannot wait until the extended version is available to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film., 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Excellent Film and so well told, and I only have to wait another 12 months for the next one now !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good film, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Kept us engrossed for all the film, little long, but not so long.us the first one. Special effects are marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought this for a friend and he loved it, he said it was one of the best films he had ever seen and really good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the hobbit, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good as all the film's have been
Good family viewing will be watching it again only down side the expectation you build your hopes to and it lets you down a little :(
Overall a good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 145 46 47100 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013]
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews