Customer Reviews


1,797 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,283)
4 star:
 (256)
3 star:
 (121)
2 star:
 (59)
1 star:
 (78)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT HAS PETER JACKSON DONE?
The second installment is in the books as the dwarfs try to regain their home. In this installment we are introduced to a passionate elf named Tauriel (Evangeline Lilly) one of the bright spots of the film. I thought the spiders were more realistic. Tauriel reiterates a basic theme "Are we not part of this world?" When good people stand by, evil wins...
Published 13 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars like expanded polystyrene packing
This film resembles the curate's egg. It was obvious that, in making three films out of one small book, a lot of padding would be necessary. It this case much of it is, like expanded polystyrene packing, only fit for the scrap heap. The film derives more from Mack Sennett than from Tolkien.
Published 19 days ago by William Tell


‹ Previous | 1 2180 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WHAT HAS PETER JACKSON DONE?, 22 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The second installment is in the books as the dwarfs try to regain their home. In this installment we are introduced to a passionate elf named Tauriel (Evangeline Lilly) one of the bright spots of the film. I thought the spiders were more realistic. Tauriel reiterates a basic theme "Are we not part of this world?" When good people stand by, evil wins.

It was interesting to see Legolas (Orlando Bloom) in this film as it establishes his relationship with the dwarfs to create better story continuity. At the same time the continuity is lost as we never have that scene in LOTR when Legolas says to Gimli, "Hey, I met your father." Radagast (Sylvester McCoy) once again appears in the Hobbit, a wizard cut out of LOTR for "brevity." If only we could go back and film it all over.

The film ends at an awkward point. Most people I have talked to claimed this was better than the first installment with more action. I will admit I enjoyed the first feature better, and of all the 5 films released to date, I would rate this as the weakest. Still, if you are going to see the third film, you pretty much need to see this one in spite on any shortcomings. People who are lovers of the book, will find this tale nearly unrecognizable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars “Are we there yet?”, 5 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
It is a long time since I read any of Tolkien’s books, and I came to this having watched the first film, as well as the sequel Lord of the Rings trilogy. If, as with any film, you disregard the original source material and treat it on its own merits, then this is a very good sequel to the first film. The story, expanded in places, but still in keeping with the spirit of the original story, if not the fine detail – I’m sure I remember the Goblins as being less monstrous in the written version – takes us through Mirkwood, on to the Lake village, and finally into Dwarf city ‘under the mountain’. Meanwhile, Gandalf has gone off to investigate the tombs of the Nazgul, and to look into Dol Guldur, where a Shadow is walking…

This is a fast-moving adventure, despite being over two and a half hours long. I kept checking the elapsed time, just in case I was approaching a cliffhanger, only to find there was much more time to go. Note that the end credits take up ten minutes, so adjust your expectations accordingly. It really is an epic story told in an epic way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good in most parts., 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's not Tolkiens imagination, nor Peter Jackson's skill as displayed in LOTR, but the CGI industry taking over. The film could have been shorter, left out a substantial part of the padding, yet included all that was necessary to cover the original Hobbit as well as the flashbacks and previews of the rise of the Necromancer/Sauron. Overall however, I enjoyed it and am looking forward to viewing the Appendices. As a LOTR fan it's a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars like expanded polystyrene packing, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This film resembles the curate's egg. It was obvious that, in making three films out of one small book, a lot of padding would be necessary. It this case much of it is, like expanded polystyrene packing, only fit for the scrap heap. The film derives more from Mack Sennett than from Tolkien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better then AUJ EE, 8 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a far better extended edition then an unexpected journey's one.
Firstly, the design of the box is much better. The golden writing on the front is shiny rather then plain and the detail on the front and back pictures are good. When you take off the sleeve, there are some good pictures of the map of Erebor and Bilbo, Smaug and the Arkenstone.
Secondly, the extended scenes are worth nearly 27 minutes. AUJ's extended scenes were a mere 13 minutes that did not change the story whatsoever. The best scenes are perhaps the longest. After waking up at Beorn's house, Gandalf and Bilbo introduce themselves to Beorn and the dwarves follow in paris. This is a great scene because in the theatrical cut there was too little of Beorn. The next scene i loved was of more Mirkwood. Here we see the Company crossing the bridge and Thorin trying to kill a deer. The third and probably the best scene that was new is Gandalf meeting thrain (Thorin's dad) in Dol Goldur. Some of the scenes in the theatrical cut of Dol Goldur just had Gandalf, here you have Gandalf and thrain. This is emotional particularly when the scene ends.
Thirdly, the extras are even better. Nine hours of fun film making with some scenes devoted to the Battle of the Five Armies film.
In total, this is an extended edition fit to match the first two lord of the rings extended editions.
BTW, parents dont be pertubed by the 15 rating this has been given. The film itself is a 12 as it says on the actual disc and it is one of the appendices that has a 15 on the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extended edition improves a good film further, 28 Jan. 2015
By 
BookWorm "BookWorm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Just as Tolkien's books set in Middle Earth defined the modern fantasy genre in literature, these wonderful epic film adaptations of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings have set the bar for fantasy films. This extended edition DVD is worth the money. If you liked the cinema version of the film, 25 minutes of extra material just enhances the pleasure. There's some good stuff added here too; the reappearance of Thorin's long lost father, which helps flesh out the backstory, a longer scene between Kili and Tauriel which means their relationship makes a little more sense, and an expanded version of the journey through Mirkwood. I felt that all of the additional material added to the overall story, and as with the Lord of the Rings extended editions I preferred this to the cinema cut. It also makes it more of a treat at first viewing - almost like watching a new film rather than one you've seen already. Yes, it does make it longer, but I don't mind that - and it's spread over two DVDs which means there's a natural break in the middle, and I usually watch it in two parts.

As well as the extended film itself, there are a wealth of extras that will keep the geek in you happy for a very long time - nine hours in fact. There is a director's commentary - which is genuinely interesting and insightful - and then lots of 'making of' features. With a filming process as lengthy and involved as the one behind this film, this can't fail to be fascinating. The lengths that the team went to in order to make this the best film they could are quite remarkable and makes you watch it again with new eyes. It also helps you spot little details you may have missed.

If you love these films and want to immerse yourselves in them, this DVD is essential. And even if you just like the film without being an ardent fan, I'd suggest buying this over the standard version, for the sake of the extended film in itself. You don't have to watch the features, and I feel the film alone is worth the money. But the features are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I also know that if you like a book or even love it, 5 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
First of all,i get a lot of younger people would not have read the book The Hobbit. I also know that if you like a book or even love it,a film can not compete in anyway.I have seen some very good book to film adaptations and some terrible ones. The Hobbit is more than terrible its a disgraceful lack of regard to an amazing author and one incredible story,not that i would expect anything less from Peter Jackson. I can picture him flicking through the hobbit book and then just tossing it onto an open fire in one of his mansions and thinking 'right time to make up my version'.

The characters are nothing like what they should be.The film is nothing like the book (how he has the audacity to say based on the book) at the end credits i don't know. The only thing he gets right is the characters names. Yes the dragon is very impressive but that was the only part of this terrible film that i enjoyed. My wife says just forget the book and watch the film as it is. I tried but i ended up tutting and 'oh come on' most of the way through the film.

Once again he puts characters in a film that shouldn't even be there. Based on the book eh ? mmm i don't recall reading about legolas and various other characters in the hobbit book,maybe i should go read it for the 20 ish time ive read it perhaps i missed that part,oh wait no i didn't because THEIR NOT IN THERE !! King kong was bad enough making us wait over an hour before we even saw king kong but he doesn't just spit on the hobbit film he S**** all over it!
In my personal opinion he should be banned from directing for the rest of his over the top (way over the top) cavalier attitude towards films and what they should be about.
Special effects may 'wow' the younger generation but story line beats special effects very time.There was a story to this film but peter Jackson destroyed it in his ignorance. No wonder Guillermo del Toro Gómez left the 'project' he's probably throwing up in a corner somewhere.

I would have given this no stars but i gave it one because he got the characters names right and the dragon was a nice bit of cgi.

If my son hadn't of got this for a Christmas present i would never have bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars okay, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Okay. Bit slow, and I don't know why it's called desolation of smaug, it doesn't quite pan out that way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... a masterpiece written by an Oxford professor and add poor quality plot padding, 17 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It takes a lot of guts to take a masterpiece written by an Oxford professor and add poor quality plot padding. Great quality production, with eye-popping 3D. I enjoyed it, but - with another reviewer here - it is really missing EMOTIONAL ENGAGEMENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, film been dragged out just a little bit too much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2180 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013]
£6.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews