Customer Reviews


162 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding
streamed excellent the film was great and the fact you have 48 hours to watch it is outstanding highly recommended
Published 6 days ago by mr s gilmore

versus
12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The padding is really starting to show...
I've been an avid fan of Tolkien's books for about 45 years now. I was apprehensive when I first heard that Peter Jackson was making a film trilogy of the Ring books, but on the whole my fears proved groundless and I think he did a very creditable job with them. So much so that I have all the Director's cut DVDs and they stand up well to repeated viewing. Then I heard...
Published 3 days ago by S. Green


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars outstanding, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
streamed excellent the film was great and the fact you have 48 hours to watch it is outstanding highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May not be perfect to the book, but its an EPIC film!, 17 Mar 2014
This film is largely criticised for not being true to the books etc, as I'm sure you are aware. However one thing that cannot be ignored is the fact that this is a GREAT film.

Some have criticised the Lord of the Rings trilogy for focussing so much on epic movie making, the story was neglected. However with the Hobbit, the best of both worlds has been achieved.

I went to see this film, and it has got to be one of the best movie experiences I've ever had. There's comedy, action, and the spectacular non-CGI scenery thats typical of Peter Jackson. The first film was perhaps a bit slow to start, but after watching this sequel, you'll forgive the filmmakers, as from the moment you see the words 'The Hobbit', the action starts.

Buy, watch, and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The padding is really starting to show..., 13 April 2014
By 
S. Green (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I've been an avid fan of Tolkien's books for about 45 years now. I was apprehensive when I first heard that Peter Jackson was making a film trilogy of the Ring books, but on the whole my fears proved groundless and I think he did a very creditable job with them. So much so that I have all the Director's cut DVDs and they stand up well to repeated viewing. Then I heard he was doing the Hobbit...

Well many others have already made the point here and elsewhere that they had grave doubts about him spinning it out over three films, and I had the same doubts. Unlike LoTR however this time my fears have proved well grounded. I didn't really enjoy the first part. I found it unimaginatively scripted and directed with the dwarves being reduced to little more than a Disneyfied comic turn rather than being the weary, weather stained outcasts and nomads they were meant to be. Even Ian McKellan's turn as Gandalf lacked the necessary gravitas of the Ring films. The first instalment was only saved by Martin Freeman's excellent turn as Bilbo, plus of course Andy Serkis ending the film on a high note as Gollum.

But at least the meddling with the original story line was kept to a minimum and the padding out seemed less noticeable to me.

This second part however is a different matter. Great liberties have been taken with Tolkien's source material. A major character (Tauriel) has been introduced that didn't even exist in the book and appears to have been brought in simply to add a "love interest" story within a story. Legolas (who didn't appear in the book either) has been ridiculously pimped up to almost make him some kind of invincible superhero - so much so that it's hardly worth the Orcs turning up to the fight as they seemingly present no real threat whatsoever. They may be ugly great muscle bound snarling brutes with big pointy weapons, but they're apparently incapable of inflicting any real damage. They're just so much elf-fodder. "Sire, there's an army of five hundred heavily armed Orcs at the gate!", "Oh well, just send Legolas out, he'll soon see them off"

The nature of many of the main encounters in the book have also been altered to an extent that that the story itself is changed. There have been so many changes in fact that I think the credits should have actually said "loosely" based on The Hobbit by J R R Tolkien!

That in itself is probably the worst crime as far as Tolkien fans are concerned, but other fans in general have cause for complaint over the shameless padding out. This instalment feels far more bloated than the first and really shows that Jackson could easily have done a single three hour film, or at most two films. A trilogy was just being greedy - shameless commercialism. The interminable fight scenes between Super Legolas, the Mighty Tauriel and a bunch of CGI Orcs or extras in Orc suits are totally unnecessary and add nothing of value to the film whatsoever. They're just there to stretch out the thin storyline so they can get (paying) bums on seats for the third instalment next Christmas (and God knows what further liberties we'll see in that one).

The high points for me - (1) most (apart from the Legolas vs Orcs invented scene) of the Lake Town scenes. Bard is well played, and Stephen Fry turns in a good performance. The hope amongst the people for a return of the good times and how this makes them disregard the obvious threat is well conveyed. (2) Bilbo's conversation with Smaug. Could have done with more of this and less of the derivative Indiana Jones style running battle between Smaug and the dwarves, which also didn't happen in the book.

The low points - the rest of the film I'm afraid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film but!!, 16 April 2014
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
As a movie I really enjoyed this. However as previously mentioned in other reviews very overly stretched out. When you consider that the book of the Hobbit is smaller than any of the 3 LOTR's books it is hardly surprising even Peter Jackson who likes his epic length movies is struggling to get the material available to cover 3 films.
Only reason I can see for having 3, is 3 x box office ticket sales and 3x dvd's are better than 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping Film, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good film, better than the first hobbit, lots of action and suspense. Very gripping! Can't wait to see the last!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An opportunity missed., 16 April 2014
This review is from: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Hollywood at its worst unfortunately. One of the greatest stories ruined due to a thin script being over stretched. Embellished with irrelevant characters and nonsensical story lines that detract from the essence of the tale, the screenplay is fragmented lacking purpose and momentum. Very poor CGI in the Legolas/Orc river fight, and the dwarves ruined (albeit in part 1) from the off by terrible casting. Only awarded 3 stars in recognition of the excellent original story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Continued excellence, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic continuation of the saga of our decade.. Finally long awesome films you can loose yourself and time in!! Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Movie Download, 12 April 2014
By 
Mr. Graham Sawyer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First time using Amazon Prime. Would recommend the service to others, although perhaps more time could be allowed to finish watching the video. 2 days may not be enough - perhaps 7 is more realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If it ain't broke don't fix it., 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is undoubtedly a good film, but for a hobbit fan like me I just can't understand what all the changes to the plot were for, because they only detract from the overall enjoyability of the experience. If it ain't broke don't fix it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another classic, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this film, so much better than the first installment. Can't wait for the next installment now! See it now, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadde2aa4)

This product

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug [DVD] [2013]
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews