Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Despite slightly variable picture quality still an admirable release.
In some ways season 2 is an easy target and you often hear more lazy reviewers revelling in criticising it. Having to contend with a The Writers Guild strike, the introduction of the less likeable Doctor Kate Polaski and containing Shades of Gray which is undeniably the worst episode of The Next Generation bar none it is unfortunately encumbered. However whilst watching...
Published on 21 Dec 2012 by M. Palmer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the DVDs
Having the entire TNG series on DVD I had to think twice before double dipping, series two is my first TNG Blu ray purchase & it is worth the upgrade. I would say that 3 stars is about right for the story lines & picture quality on series two I have the sampler TNG Blu ray & the picture quality on that is superior. From what I have read series two does fall slightly short...
Published 9 months ago by Nimrod48


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Despite slightly variable picture quality still an admirable release., 21 Dec 2012
By 
M. Palmer (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
In some ways season 2 is an easy target and you often hear more lazy reviewers revelling in criticising it. Having to contend with a The Writers Guild strike, the introduction of the less likeable Doctor Kate Polaski and containing Shades of Gray which is undeniably the worst episode of The Next Generation bar none it is unfortunately encumbered. However whilst watching season 2 you start to encounter episodes that show the writers are starting to hit their stride and are getting much better at writing tight stories and developing the characters, which becomes a more consistent hallmark of the following seasons. Episodes like Where Silence Has Lease, The Measure of a Man, Q Who and others really are excellent (admittedly mixed in with a few duffers).

As mentioned in other reviews the picture quality is more variable in this season 2 release compared with season 1, it should still be stressed however that even when the picture quality is at its worst it is still miles better than the DVD releases. The first episode The Child as well as not being a particularly strong story also has the misfortunate of being one of the worst offenders, the picture can go from heavy grain, to perfect 1080p picture quality to overtly smooth within a few moments from cut to cut, on one of the extras it is mentioned that they experimented more with different types of film stock when filming season 2 and I don't know if that has anything to do with it, but sometimes especially in The Child the sudden shift in picture quality can be jarring. I should point out that this is more the exception than the rule, but you need to be aware that it exists.

One of the many reasons I am treasuring these blu ray releases is that the extra picture clarity really lets you appreciate what amazing actors the main cast are. You can suddenly see with more clarity subtle looks and gestures which were lost on the fuzzy standard definition programmes which almost makes it feel like you're watching a new episode and can really see a cast that is acting it's socks off and giving it 110%, which is no clearer than Patrick Stewart's performance in The Measure of a Man, that man oozes talent. Nagilum looks truly terrifying in high definition, and when Data (with perfect comedy timing) rips up his wrapping paper in The Measure of a Man you can see that the actors playing Wesley and Troi are laughing for real at what has just occurred (which I'd never picked up on before in SD), and it's touches like that that really make releases like this special.

For me the positives of what this blu-ray transfer offers far outweighs the negatives, but you just need to go into this purchase aware that there are negatives there... especially if you're paying full price.

Another worthy TNG release although as mentioned in other reviews I hope CBS learn their lessons from this release to really set the standard on the hallmark season 3 which everyone will be waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More fun than number one, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Nat Whilk (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
When I read the earliest reviews of this set, I was disappointed beyond words. I'd been looking forward to it ever so much, but it was obviously catastrophically awful. After putting the final disc back in the box, though, I have to say that I enjoyed these BDs even more than Season 1's.

It's true that the picture quality is sometimes a notch down on the earlier collection's. But the only conspicuous difference is that grain appears a bit more often, and that when it does show up, it's a bit heavier. But there are only a few minutes in the entire season when it's prominent enough to be noticeable. I don't think anyone could deny that the discs are hugely better than the TNG DVDs.

On the plus side, the average standard of the stories is, of course, much, much better than in the first box. The Borg; Guinan; Moriarty; Riker seconded to the Klingons; I'm sure you remember how many gems this season sparkled with. And what seals the deal is the excellence of the extras. Two extended versions of The Measure of a Man, commentaries, deleted scenes, a non-VHS-quality gag reel and about two and a half hours of new HD interviews. The cast and other interviewees are far more open and relaxed than in the old DVD featurettes - also included here - and their anecdotes and revelations are as entertaining as the episodes themselves. Their long sofa chat is one of the most enjoyable special features that I've ever seen.

The pasting that this collection took from its fiercest critics was so severe that I almost decided not to try it at all. I'm very glad that I changed my mind. I'd imagine that most fans of the show would get an enormous amount of fun out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars some great episodes and a nice package..but let down by inconsistent picture quality.., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
ive probably been spoilt by season 3 and 4 which i bought at Christmas, within the first couple of minutes of "The Child", it is evident that this is a rush job. I was a bit disappointed but after a while you do forget about the picture quality. It goes from good to bad quite often, more so the bridge scenes. I would still recommend it as it is a good season, and sounds absolutely superb...Also it didnt come with the cardboard slipcase but Amazon are replacing it for me....recommended..but after watching other seasons, you will notice the poor quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Season 2 - It's good, but it's not right., 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Okay, so it seems that Season 2 didn't get the full HD treatment that Season 1 did. The exterior shots and special effects look brilliant but some of the negatives haven't been cleaned up as well as they could have been. That said, it's not awful. It's still better than the DVD version and in most cases is HD. So if you're concerned from the other reviews - don't be. If you're a TNG fan, you should own it.

That said, Season 2 was not the best season. Beverly Crusher is replaced by Doctor Pulaski (for one season only thank goodness) and some of the episodes seem lazy. I still enjoyed watching it but when you get to Season 3 you see everything looks as good as it could do and Beverly is back!

If you love TNG - get it, if you're just a casual watcher, skip this and go straight to Season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Season 1 (which was already great), 30 July 2013
By 
Marcelo Duarte Ferrari (Ribeirão Preto, SP - Brazil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Fist of all: I'm not rating the show quality here. This rating and review pertains to the Blu-ray Disc release and its masterful accomplishment in image and sound quality, and overall presentation of said show.

Season one had already dazed me with its astounding re-mastering of ST:TNG. I never thought such amount of image detail could exist. It was like being blind all my life and suddenly starting to see. There's no better reason for BD to exist than to bring to life old recordings previously only available in "standard definition". This is the new "standard".

That said, they seem to have gone into further pains with the release of Season 2: there are more extras, more interviews and original content, such as deleted scenes, alternative cuts, and audio commentary (there's at least one episode per disc with alternative audio track with technical commentary, something that Season 1 was really missing). As with Season 1, all the original extra content previously released for the DVDs is here too.

I hope Season 3 comes with even more stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, great extras, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Highly recommended, only gets 4 stars out of 5 due to the high bar set by Season 1. I know things really kick off in Season 3 but there are some great episodes, that are just so enjoyable to watch for the story and now the hi-def experience, such as Q-Who, Peak Performance, Measure of a Man. Sure the boxset is worth the purchase based on the extended version of Measure of a Man and the cast get together for the interview! I didn't want that to end! For the amount of work that's going into these Hi-Def transfers and extras I think it's important that we snap up the boxsets so they keep it up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ST TNG Blu-Ray, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Love TNG and have all the series on dvd and had to get the two series that have been Remastered in HD and it's amazing. The picture quality is so crisp and I love the extra footage in the Ep. "The Measure of a Man" and the cast reunion. Also I should say that the delivery was earlier than expected, I haven't anything to say bad, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant quality, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I had all the next gen series on DVD and could not wait for the Blu-ray versions. They have not failed to disappoint, they are great quality and have loads of new extras. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than DVD, not as impressive as Season One Blu-ray though...., 16 Sep 2012
By 
IOWBOY - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Well it's finally here and all the concerns about a repeat of the problems experienced with the first season release can be addressed.

The first season of the restored high definition version of Star Trek: The Next Generation (ST: TNG) is a triumph Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 1 [Blu-ray][Region Free]; yes there were the well documented `technical issues' but putting them to one side surely nobody who has seen any of it can deny the stunning visual and audio quality.

I grew up watching the series on television and subsequently spent a small fortune buying them all on VHS and DVD Star Trek the Next Generation: the Complete Seasons 1-7 [DVD], but the huge improvements in these new Blu-ray versions completely justifies purchasing them once more in my opinion.

I'll start with a quick season overview before moving on to details of the set itself.

The second season of ST: TNG ran from 1988 to 1989, and due to his growing popularity following transmission of the first season, Lieutenant Commander Data played an increasingly central role, much as Lieutenant Commander Spock did from the original series. Many of the best episodes centred around the wonderful character that Brent Spiner bought to life, such as "The Measure of a Man", "Elementary, Dear Data" and "Pen Pals".

Lieutenant Geordi La Forge (LeVar Burton) was promoted to chief engineer, he had frequently shown his technical knowledge as the first season went on and this felt like a very natural progression for the character; I suppose I must not forget to mention young Wesley Crusher (Wil Wheaton), yes he was there and in my opinion he was just as annoying!

The beard made its first appearance on Commander Riker (Jonathan Frakes), and Lieutenant Worf (Michael Dorn) reacquainted himself with K'Ehleyr, who would one day provide Worf with his son Alexander.

The fantastic Diana Muldaur came on board as a replacement for Gates McFadden and played the ships new chief medical officer Dr. Katherine Pulaski, I think she was a great addition and it's a shame her character only stayed for the one year, it would have been most interesting to see how her character could have evolved.

The Enterprise's beautiful counselor, Deanna Troi (Marina Sirtis), continued to be an underused character although she does have some memorable moments with her mother Lwaxana, played brilliantly throughout the season by original series veteran Majel Barrett.

And last, but most certainly not least, we have the peerless Patrick Stewart in his role of Jean-Luc Picard; he built on his work from the first season and further convinced us of his superb leadership qualities, at the same time showing us that along with his intelligence and wisdom he was also an incredibly brave and courageous warrior.

We were once again treated to an appearance from Q (John DeLancie), and we had our first meetings with Whoopi Goldberg as Guinan and the Borg, really showing what the show was capable of producing.

The full list of 22 episodes featured on this Blu-ray box set are:

1. The Child
2. Where Silence Has Lease
3. Elementary, Dear Data
4. The Outrageous Okona
5. Loud as a Whisper
6. The Schizoid Man
7. Unnatural Selection
8. A Matter of Honor
9. The Measure of a Man
10. The Dauphin
11. Contagion
12. The Royale
13. Time Squared
14. The Icarus Factor
15. Pen Pals
16. Q Who
17. Samaritan Snare
18. Up the Long Ladder
19. Manhunt
20. The Emissary
21. Peak Performance
22. Shades of Gray

This was the shortest season of ST: TNG, with all other seasons having 3 or 4 more episodes, and this was due to a writers strike at the time in America.

This is the season that the show really started to take shape; yes, the first season certainly had its moments and laid down many of the important foundations that led to the show's success, but it could be a bit 'hit and miss' with respect to the quality of episodes and several of the stories were copies of ones from the original series.

The second season is far more consistent, it has a much more cinematic feel to it, and it includes some episodes that can stand proudly with the best from the entire cannon; The Measure of a Man, Time Squared and Q Who spring to mind and there is also Peak Performance, one of my personal all-time favourites.

This set is 5 discs, the first season having 6, with the discs having a combination of between three and five episodes and extra material.

The extras featured are largely in line with those in the first season collection, and there are also some really fascinating additions:

1. Episodic Promos
2. 1988 On-Air Season Two Promo
3. Energized! Season Two Tech Update (HD)
4. 1988 Reading Rainbows segment with LeVar Burton
5. 2012 Reading Rainbow iTunes Promo (HD)
6. Archival Mission Log: Departmental Briefing Year Two: Production
7. The Measure of a Man (HD Extended Version)
8. Audio Commentary on 'The Measure of a Man' with Melinda Snodgrass and Mike & Denise Okuda
9. The Measure of a Man (Hybrid Extended Version)
10. Gag Reel
11. Archival Mission Log: Inside Starfleet Archives: Penny Juday - Star Trek Coordinator
12. Archival Mission Log: Selected Crew Analysis Year Two
13. Archival Mission Log: Departmental Analysis Year Two: Memorable Missions
14. Deleted Scenes: The Icarus Factor, Up The Long Ladder
15. Audio Commentary on 'Q Who' with Dan Curry, Rob Bowman and Mike & Denise Okuda
16. REUNIFICATION: 25 Years after Star Trek: The Next Generation (HD)
17. MAKING IT SO: Continuing Star Trek: The Next Generation (HD)
18. Archival Mission Log: Mission Overview Year Two

The extras on this season two set really are excellent, with the two main features running to nearly two and a half hours long.

For me though the most intriguing extra is an extended HD version of the episode 'The Measure of a Man', considered by many to be one of the very best episodes of Star Trek ever.

This is the first time it has ever been made available and is actually a first cut of the episode, featuring deleted scenes and alternative camera angles that were thought lost; it has been found, cleaned up, reconstructed in high definition and has even had new two new visual effects added to integrate the original and the new material.

I would say that although this new version of the episode is probably no better than the original, which is no bad thing, as a long time fan who has seen the episode countless times it is really fascinating seeing it in this new cut.

Both the extended version and the original "network" cut of the episode are included in this Season 2 Blu-ray box set, so you will be able to compare and decide for yourself which one you think is best!

The featurette entitled `REUNIFICATION: 25 Years After Star Trek: The Next Generation' has been specially produced for this set; it features all the main cast members sitting round having a chat about their memories and experiences; it is just over an hour long and it really is fantastic, it is great fun and the cast clearly enjoy the reunion! It reminded me a lot of the excellent featurette 'The Captains Summit' available on the Star Trek Movie Boxset Star Trek: Films 1-10 Remastered Special Edition Box Set [Blu-ray] [2009].

The picture quality is once again simply stunning; but, BUT...... not consistently so.

My initial thoughts were that this second season is as much of a triumph as the preceding one, and for large parts it is.

The textures on the fabrics and other surfaces look almost good enough to touch, the detail on faces and hair also make you realise just how poor the VHS and DVD versions are, and the special effects shots do look far sharper.

However, following on from comments from other reviewers I have looked at the season in more detail and also compared it directly to the Season One (S1) release and I have to admit that some of the criticisms are correct.

On closer examination the effects shots just aren't as impressive as they are in S1, some scenes have varying degree's of clarity and the more I have watched the more I notice a 'fuzziness' with the black areas on screen.

I think the problem for me was that it's been a while since I watched the S1 Blu-ray and I have never before seen footage from S2 on a Blu-ray (I had seen footage prior to release but this was via the internet), so on initial viewing it does look tremendous; it's not until one casts a more critical eye over it that it's inconsistencies are apparent.

I would have thought that the advantage with the second season is that much of the original material has actually been preserved better than that from the first season and so the HD image should be even more astonishing; my thinking therefore followed that the team responsible for its remastering should have had an 'easier' job of things?

I have heard rumours that the team that worked on S2 were different from those who worked on S1; if this is indeed the case I hope this problem is corrected for S3.

Fortunately the sound is once more brilliant, 7.1 DTS-HD in English, and it is such a strange experience hearing these episodes in this way having spent years listening to them in just stereo, there are sounds I never noticed before and it gives me more of an appreciation for just how much detail the makers of the show went into.

The audio is also available in English Stereo Surround, French Mono, German Mono, Italian Mono, Japanese Mono and Spanish Mono.

There are subtitles provided in English for the Hearing Impaired, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Norwegian, Spanish and Swedish.

In summary ST:TNG is a landmark television series and season two was when things really started to 'click'; there are two ways to look at this release in my opinion.

Is it as impressive as the S1 release? No it isn't; there are inconsistencies in the transfer and it overall has less of the 'wow' factor.

Is it the best the S2 has ever looked? YES! Despite the aformentioned inconsistencies it still does look amazing at times and that coupled with the remastered audio makes the viewing experience a fantastic one.

I would say that if someone is having doubts over the purchase because of criticisms then they should try and watch an episode from this set and compare it to the same one on DVD; the difference will speak for itself.

When I first reviewed this set I gave it 5 stars, but having taken on board others concerns and then rewatching it and comparing to the previous season I have decided to lower my score to 4.

Ideally I would probably give the set 3 1/2, but this is not possible; the set is better than a 3 in my opinion so thus the 4!

Roll on Season Three!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the DVDs, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Having the entire TNG series on DVD I had to think twice before double dipping, series two is my first TNG Blu ray purchase & it is worth the upgrade. I would say that 3 stars is about right for the story lines & picture quality on series two I have the sampler TNG Blu ray & the picture quality on that is superior. From what I have read series two does fall slightly short on PQ compared to the rest of the series but even so its a huge step up from the DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Next Generation - Season 2 [Blu-ray] [1988] [Region Free]
£41.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews