Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars206
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£13.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2011
Well, for one thing, the production values are sky high. The costumes, locations and acting are all first rate. It is true that Jonathan Rhys Meyers looks nothing like Henry VIII but he certainly captures the essence of the man: big personality, dangerous to cross but on occassion compassionate (and passionate!), powerful yet in later life prone to mood swings and relatively frail. The writers have taken liberties with some of the events and characters, however, this is entertainment, not a documentary. If you accept the artistic licence for what it is then this series is compelling. It captures the main events of King Henry VIII's reign rather well. The political tensions and brutal reality of life in royal circles in the sixteenth century are never very far away. To my mind the fourth and final series is the best. Savour and enjoy.
44 comments49 of 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Having pre ordered Series four of The Tudors and had to wait a long time for the official release date, it actually came two working days before that official release date. I already had series one, two and three on DVD and the pre order price was very good. I had already seen episodes 1-7 as they had been transmitted on the BBC.
Within twenty four hours of receiving the item I have now seen the remaining episodes 8,9,10 on this DVD set, plus the special features.
Series Four is fantastic. It is worth the long wait. It is just as good as any of the previous three series.
The production is lavish, glamorous, well directed and acted. The sets and the atmosphere of the whole series are excellent.
Once again the producers have created an outstanding series of drama. There is just as much power in this final series as there was in the first three. And it gradually builds into a grand finale.
I am not going to give away any of the plot twists or describe any of the scenes or highlights. It would only spoil it for anyone that hasn't seen it yet. But I can say if you enjoyed the other series then you will not be disappointed in this one.
The series goes out in style and to be honest I was sad that it ended. I still wanted more.
It may not be historically accurate but it does not matter. History is subjective anyway. And this was meant to be entertainment and it most certainly is just that. The last episode in particular takes a lot of liberties in order to be entertaining rather than factual.
Every episode from episode one of series one, to the final episode of this series four has been a fabulous production and it should be one of the best remembered TV programmes of our times.
I wish the producers would take the same formula of production values and do something else from history. After all there was more to the Tudors than just Henry.

The special features are both interesting and informative and for anyone who has enjoyed seeing the series on TV, these features are worth seeing. Therefore getting this DVD set is a good investment.
I definitely recommend this series and this wonderful DVD set.
0Comment25 of 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
This was really well worth the wait (UK viewers had to wait almost a year after this had been screened in the US to see it).

The Tudors has been one of those rare shows that improved year on year and I'm sorry that it has come to an end. Even though you knew what was going to happen, it was so well dramatised that I was kept glued to the screen.

I thought Series 3 was fantastic and would be very hard to improve on but Series 4 really delivers the goods and wraps things up nicely.

The last episode was quite different to what had gone before and although it goes a bit 'Ashes To Ashes' it was still very enjoyable and doesn't detract from what has gone before. Having read the series episode synopsis before even seeing it I was a bit dubious about the "dream sequence" but it was brilliantly done and nice to see the ladies again.

Jonathan Rhys Meyers has been a compelling Henry VIII and he remains so until the end. I thought his deterioration in the last two episodes was very well done.

The cast has been consistently excellent throughout but Henry Cavill deserves a special mention. (I did think that Sarah Bolger was too nice to be Mary, even when she stated her intentions about what would happen should she ever become Queen).

My only disappontment was that Joss Stone was only in two episodes. She was a revelation and I loved her portrayal of Anne of Cleves.

Also, it was a shame that Eoin Murtagh didn't play Prince Edward in the last episode, for continuity if nothing else.

I can't end this review without mentioning the music, composed by Trevor Morris. It really made my enjoyment all the more complete. The shorter theme used in opening credits of series 3 & 4 is probably my favourite from any television show.

Yes it was over the top and not always factually correct but as another reviewer said, it's entertainment not a documentary (and as a result of watching this I bought books about the Six Wives and Elizabeth).

Thank You to all involved.
0Comment23 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2011
I must say that i have loved the hole Tudors saga. With a mixture or history and artistic license, I would say that the Tudors has something for everyone. The key to all of the seasons was the vast array of acting talent on hand, especially in those regular supporting roles which really added to the depth and drama of the Tudor Court.

In terms of this purchase, one is buying into a fantasic final season and a must have to any collection.

Season 4 exellently portrays the decline of one of England's most polemic Rulers. It does lack alittle something from the previous seasons, but perhaps the nature of story meant it could only end that way.

I Loved watching this Drama and look forward to enjoying it again and again.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2011
These shows are very good entertainment and like previous viewers have stated, a long time in coming to these shores (despite being filmed in Ireland).
Let us get the obvious out of the way, yes we know that Henry in later years was fat and ginger haired and Rhys Meyers is obviously not and we could probably all think of actors better suited, but if you get past that, you may actually enjoy it. Saying that I am sure that Charles Brandon was not as handsome as Henry Cavill was either. Yet despite that, these shows have more historical value than people give them credit for.
Yes like the excellent series 'Rome', they upped the sex, language and bloody deaths, but they do run fairly close to the facts, at least in all the non-fiction books and historical documentaries I have read. The shows really tried to bring to life the court of Henry as it may of been.
Historians agree the Tudor court was as sneaky, favour mongering and down right dangerous as the shows portray, just not as glamourous. Families including the Seymores, Boleyns and Howards were all indeed swinging in and out of favour and doing their upmost to bring the others down. If you think that was bad just take a look at the War of the Roses! I do not think one aristcratic family survived without at least one of their members ending up on the scaffold.
Not to mention real life characters such as Bishop Gardiner and Richie Rich waging their own religeous persecutions, with Henry's knowledge and blessing and we all know this continued for another couple of centuries.
In this the Tudors did very well.
Some have said they overdid some of the executions and added additional elements for entertaiment value, including the portracted death of a certain character at the end of Season 3. Well no! It seemed it did happen just like that and I had to turn away seeing the death of a character in Season 4.
Overall I really enjoyed these seasons and would have liked to see what they could have done with the reigns of Henry's three children, but these were very good.
BTW I absolutely loved the soundracks of all four seasons (the first time I bought all seasons of a show), they really added to the show, not to mention help me to relax when reading and to work when marking for my job with some really emotional pieces. Season 4 has three which spring to mind 'Execution Ballad', 'Surrey Found Guilty' and 'End of a Dynasty'. The Tudors Season 4
I do indeed recommend this show............................even to those who like me love
history!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
Henry VIII ages disgracefully into self-justified madness brandishing a cane, and for once, the make-up department of this tongue-in-cheek series reflects the passage of time. However, the Duke of Suffolk still looks like a slightly care-worn 29 year old at his death. The pace picks up and we spend less time dwelling on the executions, which multiply, and there are delightfully original events such as Henry's 'reconciliation' with Anne of Cleves. I wish we could have been presented with more on her development, instead of the rather tedious focus on the Earl of Surrey, whose career is given undue importance (how the siege of Boulogne drags - I know that's the point but it is not very riveting). Katherine Parr is delightfully serene and coolly intellectual, and a follow up is set for her relationship with the sexy Tom Seymour. Edward Seymour and his wicked wife plot, twist and manipulate Henry's court, grasping onto power via their nephew ( a weak point - very wooden), whilst Bishop Gardiner attempts to counter their influence with ever crueller sallies against the Evangelicals. Will Somers is glimpsed from time to time - but the scene with him and Henry in a previous series remains the best written episode.
Of course this is full of inaccuracies - but it's a great way to pass an evening, and a launch point to talk about WHAT DID ACTUALLY HAPPEN!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2011
An excellent end to a brilliant series. I don't know how specifically accurate the storyline was to actual history but the producers did a really good job from start to finish. From the actors to the costumes to the sets, this is a truly wonderful epic. Jonathan Rhys Myers especially deserves to be singled out for his acting.

The fourth and final series covers the last few years of Henry's life as he grapples with ill health but still manages to have an eye for the ladies. With war looming in France he leads his army and sieges Bologna, where he believes the land is his to rule.

There is maybe less overall action in this series but with traitors and spies around every corner, the episodes will keep you watching right until the last minute. A thoroughly enjoyable, intriguing insight (or the writers version) into the life and times of Tudor England!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Top class all the way through from series 1.I don"t think it floundered once along the way.
The series was helped by the introduction of the wives and the appearance of the many advisors and nobles to Henry"s court which pushed the story along if Jonathan Rhys Meyers sometimes lagged in his role as the king.
Certainly the introduction of these charactors was important to the overall plot and gave us viewers someone to cheer for or boo at metaphorically speaking depending on their historical connection with Henry.
Overall, top notch entertainment from the BBC.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2011
I really enjoyed season 4 of the Tudors. There are some terrific performances. David O'Hara is superb as the ambitious, aristocratic Earl of Surrey. Simon Ward is also excellent as a sinister Bishop Gardiner. In this last series the King grows ever crueller, moodier and paranoid as his reign nears its end and he starts to loose his grip on what is happening around him. Jonathan Rhys Myers also seems to acquire a bizzare Michael Macyntyre style voice towards the end. The drama is hard hitting and fairly gruesome at times but the performances, costumes and script are all excellent.

Much is made of the historical innacuracies like the slim line, dark haired Henry VIII, and important characters who mysteriously disappear without reason from previous series like Thomas Cranmer and the Duke of Norfolk. If you can ignore these points and just watch it for what it is, which is drama based on history, then it is great viewing.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Another fascinating and entertaining instalment of historical drama which boasts the ability to evoke sympathy, mirth, shock, annoyance and anger in the viewer. The tudors season 4 relinquishes little, if any, of its former glory from past series, engaging you to the point where you won't be able to help yourself watching most of the episodes en masse. It is a testament to the portrayal of the characters and the actors and actresses who bring them to life that the viewer finds themself mourn the absence of powerful personalities who come and go on the show. Meanwhile, tracking and following the growth and ageing of the central character is very interesting as we see the fiery temperament and stubborn determination of the king, alongside contrasting frailties which make the king seem more vulnerable and human, perhaps more so than we realised before. Rhys-Meyers, while occasionally treating us to Irish-accented lines, holds his own once more, definitely showing an increasingly caring and burdened side to Henry. In addition, we are confronted with a novel dimension in the form of a more immediate conflict at the assault of Boulogne which, for a change, takes us to the front line to witness some action on the field where you can really sense the soldiers' desire for a good fight to ensue as they wait. The final series also carries a sure air of nostalgia as the long-standing characters reflect on bygone experiences, which adds a poignantly beautiful element to the mix, and a personal favourite of mine has to be the concluding delirium which arouses shadows and ghosts of an extremely haunting nature, as said ghosts address both past and future, history and legacy. Overall, a fitting end to a wholly worthwhile venture into a dynasty which altered the face of a nation. Bravo.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.