Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story of Courage and Perseverance
It is one of the few books I have which I have read over and over again over the last 13 years. I use this book (and the other autobiographies she has written)when I am feeling low as a pick me up. It makes me feel that no matter how bad things are, if Helen and her family can get through what they experienced I should be able to get through anything!
It is...
Published on 3 Mar 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dreary.
The constant self pitying of the. Authors character is very annoying. Admittedly the description of poverty was reasonably accurate, but depressing read all round.
Published 1 month ago by E. V. MacRory


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Story of Courage and Perseverance, 3 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Liverpool Miss (Paperback)
It is one of the few books I have which I have read over and over again over the last 13 years. I use this book (and the other autobiographies she has written)when I am feeling low as a pick me up. It makes me feel that no matter how bad things are, if Helen and her family can get through what they experienced I should be able to get through anything!
It is extremely well written, descriptive but not excessively so keeping my interest throughout the book. The characters are conveyed very clearly, and her experiences are very vividly written, the lack of soap, bug bites and lack of food and warmth makes you realise how lucky you are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most moving story I have ever read., 27 Jun 2000
By 
hewer29@lineone.net (England, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Liverpool Miss (Paperback)
Fantastic. How this girl lived through all this is amazing, I know that I would have collapsed and died. There was not one book out of the four making the Autobiography that I didn't cry with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liverpool Miss, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool Miss (Kindle Edition)
This is a brilliant follow up to Twopence to cross the Mersey. The dreadful circumstances in which these people live seems almost unbelievable. The seemingly impossible recovery of ordinary life just goes on and on with no relief.The sheer awfulness just keeps you turning the page. And then you realise it is a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A life less-ordinary, 22 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Liverpool Miss (Paperback)
When I am feeling miserable and sorry for myself - having to work full time, not always having the money to go out or buy the latest fashions - I read any of Helens novels detailing the grinding poverty, desperate loneliness and family home devoid of any warmth or love and I realise how truly lucky I am. Her books should be compulsory reading in schools in the developed world to show todays children how fortunate they are in every way and how easy life is and will continue to be for them. The sad fact is that without memoirs such as this, we would not know the full extent of peoples suffering during the depression - it is almost as if our society is ashamed of the memory. Very sad indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this moving account of poverty, 4 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Liverpool Miss (Paperback)
The Forrester family are slowly winning their fight for survival. But 14 year old Helen's personal battle is to persuade her parents to allow her to earn her own living, to lead her own life after years of neglect and inadequate schooling while she cared for her six younger brothers and sisters. Her untiring struggles against illness caused by severe malnutrition and dirt (she has her first bath in 4 years), and above all the selfish demands of her parents, make this story of amazing courage and perseverance both heartbreaking and inspiring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gave insight into the depression and how people lived, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool Miss (Kindle Edition)
Helen deprived of education.Parents money wasters.No basic household items. Almost starvation .Parents could not get used to having no money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liverpool Miss, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool Miss (Kindle Edition)
Excellent book, really enjoyed reading it at every opportunity
Will definitely be reading it again. Now downloaded the next one in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Liverpool Miss (Kindle Edition)
Excellent story portraying her life growing up in Liverpool during the war and after. Describes the Liverpool areas perfectly and very well written. Would recommend to everyone, not just war fans, Liverpool fans or history fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book arrived in vgc considering it's age., 9 May 2011
By 
A. Chambers (surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liverpool Miss (Paperback)
Helen Firsts has always been a favourite author of mine...the whole series of her life books have me held where other books do not. Worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars liverpool miss, 9 Dec 2010
This review is from: Liverpool Miss (Paperback)
As usual a very interesting read from Helen Forrester. Very discriptive and i am sure it gives a good reflection of hard times not just in Liverpool but many parts of the UK during the war years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liverpool Miss
Liverpool Miss by Helen Forrester
1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews