Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty of fights
Unusual but great, trapped in a building and the only way out is on the top floor, now that sounds easy just catch a elevator and your there, well not quite as there are a few objects that get in your way. A couple of knives and guns that are carried by an army of gangland clowns, you know the type a dime a dozen, the fighting is fantastic but too over done. The thrills...
Published 1 month ago by Robyn B. Mcgorm

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have moved to the other side of the building...
A young man is chased by two thugs in the titular building and killed.

Moving on a few months, the tower block is closing and the only residents that are left are in the top floor, and would you believe it? Some dirty rotter starts taking pot shots at them.

And they are really good, because they only have to stick their head or hand up near the...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Not the worst film ever........but., 24 April 2014
By 
Mr. A. Watkins (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tower Block (DVD)
I almost fully agree with the review by Sam Kennell, I have seen worse films but not many. The start is quite promising with a chase through a high rise block and the start of the killings by the sniper but then it goes downhill fast. The story line I found to be absolutely ridiculous,the acting average to say the least. I was totally disappointed with this film,although the majority of the reviews seemed to like it. So much for film critics, I would reluctantly award this film two stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Block [DVD] (DVD)
amazing story my daughter tells me
she was happy with it
enjoyed the story
kept her quiet
for a while as she is a fan of jack o connell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its chavs vs a looney nut job in an ace Brit thriller aka British persons vs a very bad person, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Block [DVD] (DVD)
From the supremely nasty opener to the impressive close this film never lets up. Violent? Oh, yes! Torture porn? Hell no. And with Russell Tovey AND Jack O'Connell in the same film it's essential viewing. Not for the faint of heart, mind. And the film does not pull any punches in the unflinching realism of life in squalor (or near squalor). Some nice performances here too make for a striking Brit film. There's even a sort of explosion. And the best use of a nail gun since that film whose name I forget. I counted two uses of the C word. And multiple uses of the F word. No flying blood tho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Towerblock, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Block [DVD] (DVD)
Towerblock was action packed and some parts comical i would recommend it to anyone it is similar to assault on precinct 13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Block [DVD] (DVD)
we really enjoyed this film-i love sheridan smith in everything she does-tense thriller, good acting and fab and quick service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars like it, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Block [DVD] (DVD)
it was for someonne else they said they like it
it came on time i will oder again of yous
i will tell other to have a look on here for dvds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really excellent film, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Block [DVD] (DVD)
A very good cast along with a reasonably decent plot. A little slow to start with what seems to be an unrelated incident. For some reason they are the last people left in a tower block (why just the top floor ?) and then the action really starts. If this had a been a Hollywood film I am certain it would have had Bruce Willis and it would have helicopters / Alan Rickman / evil German henchmen etc and lots of explosions. Luckily it was a little more restrained and basic than that but much better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Directed by 'Ronnie Thompson'....One to watch!!!, 30 Mar 2013
This review is from: Tower Block [DVD] (DVD)
During the last few years there has been a spate of similar Thriller movies in abundance. Some good, some indifferent, and a couple, downright crap.

Maybe directors and producers should learn from this movie because THIS is how raw thriller movies should be made.

Ronnie Thompson's directing debut, he is one to watch if you are a fan of these films being made how they should be - intense!!

The remainder of residence on the top floor of a tall building in London witness a killing and remain tight lipped, this back fires!! Unaware that one morning all the residence will have a surprise they could have never expected in their worst nightmares.. Then it becomes a race against time to rescue the remaining few and see the forming of united survivors from prior enemies.

There are many fine actors in this movie, some of them legends in their own right.

You will love this film whether you are British or other, it travels well. We should of course support British movies, and spread the word, especially when they are this strong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb British thriller, 28 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Block [DVD] (DVD)
Yet another British gem. I love the fact that the British film industry is turning out so many good films lately. Brilliant thriller from start to finish, and it keeps you guessing til the end who is behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brit Siege Thriller that will have you gripped, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tower Block [DVD] (DVD)
This is an independent Brit thriller and it is actually rather good. The plot is we have a crime infested tower block in what looks like a sink hole in London; it is the sort of place where everything smells of urine and the lifts about as reliable as an African dictatorships human rights record. Then one night a teenager is dragged down the hallways to be kicked to death. When the police try to investigate no-one has seen or heard a thing.

The council have decided to knock it down and let developers move in, but the residents on the top floor are yet to be re-housed. They are a dysfunctional lot with Kurtis (Jack O'Connell - `Skins') running a sort of protection racket. Then one morning as they awaken to a new day, a sniper starts to kill the residents and he means to take absolutely no prisoners. The surviving people realise they are going to have to come together to survive, the question is how?

This also stars Sheridan Smith as Becky (`Gavin and Stacey') and she is actually both good as a character and has a good screen presence. We also have Paul the alcoholic, nice guy Russell Tovey (`Him and Her') who gets the role down to pat. This is a small budget but it does not always show, as the block is run down anyway and most of the action takes place in the confines of the building. There is genuine tension and I was hooked from early on.

I thought this was going to be a siege type film along the lines of `Assault on precinct 13' or something like that, but this is actually darker as they just do not know why they are being targeted. Directors James Nunn and Ronnie Thompson have crafted a really well made film that will hopefully get a lot more attention than it has so far received and is something they should be proud of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tower Block [Blu-ray] [2012]
Tower Block [Blu-ray] [2012] by James Nunn (Blu-ray - 2013)
£9.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews