Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Pleasures Beyond Measure
It is a joy to report that all is well on planet xx. Their 2010 debut was
a stunner; as single minded a celebration of the dark dreams of youth as
it is possible to imagine. Romy Croft and Oliver Sim's capacity to make
us feel both a first kiss and the edge of the grave in the same breath
endeared them to a generation (or three) in search of a sound...
Published on 10 Sep 2012 by The Wolf

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the ever difficult 2nd recording
it's always difficult to follow up a stunning first release (and many have failed). this one is ok. it's not as good as the first one, but better than most of what currently is on offer out there.
Published 19 months ago by mr w grobbelaar


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Pleasures Beyond Measure, 10 Sep 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Coexist (Audio CD)
It is a joy to report that all is well on planet xx. Their 2010 debut was
a stunner; as single minded a celebration of the dark dreams of youth as
it is possible to imagine. Romy Croft and Oliver Sim's capacity to make
us feel both a first kiss and the edge of the grave in the same breath
endeared them to a generation (or three) in search of a sound which might
come somewhere close to pinning down our feelings in these troubled times.
That they do so with such conviction and elan is a tribute to their singular
craftsmanship and uncompromising vision. 'Coexist' delivers further revelations.

The eleven songs in this new collection are really quite painfully magnificent.
Each terse title; each elusive but curiously heart-warming melody; each
spare but perfectly punctuated arrangement has such immediate impact on our
emotions that it is impossible to imagine how it could have been bettered.

The rhythmic structure of several of the compositions have greater presence
and definition than their earlier work and this turns out to be a canny
development. Numbers such as 'Chained', 'Sunset' and especially 'Tides',
despite their gloomy narratives, set our toes tapping despite ourselves but
highly disciplined sonic restraint remains the order of the day. Ms Croft and
Mr Sim were clearly born to sing together. Rarely have two voices sounded so
at home with one another. The keening guitar and measured vocal performances
of 'Try' (surely their finest moment?) wraps its hands round your guts and
pulls something quite remarkably moving out of the depths; the deliberately
measured unison entreaties of 'Tides' (the absence of harmony is a surprising
strength); the fragile, fractured but nonetheless uplifting progress of
'Swept Away' and the beautifully simple and simply beautiful final track
'Our Song' all prove beyond doubt that this fiercely talented ensemble are
here for the long haul. This is an experience to savour and truly treasure.

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album. Personally prefer their first but this is ..., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coexist (MP3 Download)
Great album. Personally prefer their first but this is extremely on point. The textures and sounds they use in theis album are amazing - the xx are a talented bunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars xx, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coexist (Audio CD)
I loved their first album and this is just as good. It has been accompanying me on my journey to and from work for the past 6 months and I am still not tired of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Gerard Deegan (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coexist (MP3 Download)
I saw the XX on Jools Holland and then 18 months later heard this while sitting in a barbers chair. I remembered I had seen them on TV so bought the album. It is very atmospheric. The guitars remind me of 'The Unforgettable Fire' by U2 from the eighties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl for the win, 31 Jan 2014
Bought the album for a friend, but I already knew she loved it. Owning a vinyl copy of this is substantial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 5 Jan 2014
By 
K. Langtree "awkward annie" (York, North Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coexist (Audio CD)
Bought this for my hubbie but have listened to it myself a lot. really good, ambient, great vocals and rhythms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coexist (Audio CD)
I am a huge fan of the XX. I love every single song in this album. The CD is of great quality too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome album!, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coexist (Audio CD)
Big fan of The XX since the first album. All I can say is that this album is awesome. =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 Dec 2013
By 
M. J. Lock - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coexist (Audio CD)
We thoroughly enjoyed this order, thank you for providing a good product to us. Well done and thank you! Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Coexist, 28 Nov 2013
My favourite XX album, so chill and absolute genius! Plays perfectly on the record player- highly recommended! I'd say get XX first though because it's slightly faster and Intro is probably the most famous XX song so if u don't know much of their stuff you will still recognise it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coexist
Coexist by The xx
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews