Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
Well I have waited a long time to read this and must admit it was worth the wait. Gripping story line that keeps you hooked to each page. Amazing, Daniel K, Kennedy x
Published on 10 Sep 2012 by Daniel K, Kennedy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars weird
what a strange book. It doesn't quite make full sense but if you ignore that it has a few erotic moments. But it was all quite silly really.
Published 16 months ago by heartface


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: Memory of Water (The Orcadian Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Well I have waited a long time to read this and must admit it was worth the wait. Gripping story line that keeps you hooked to each page. Amazing, Daniel K, Kennedy x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars weird, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memory of Water (The Orcadian Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
what a strange book. It doesn't quite make full sense but if you ignore that it has a few erotic moments. But it was all quite silly really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars did not like it, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memory of Water (The Orcadian Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
only read this if you are into science fiction. This book was so far fetched it was not very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping read, 14 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memory of Water (The Orcadian Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Another great book by Stuart. This one builds on the plot of the first. The characters are becoming more rounded and the tension and action has increased. A gripping read of supernatural creatures is made to feel real and plausible. THANKS..... looking forward to the third of the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 2nd novel, 28 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this book and story line, each page makes you want to continue. Well constructed descriptions. Look forward to the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another beautiful book, 30 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Let me start with saying this book is stunning in every possible way, there is one slight hint/spoiler in here but not so much that you know what happens exactly.

In such a short book - 202 pages - the way Stuart describes each scene is impeccable. This story should be a movie or a series (TV not collection of books), there is so much depth to this book, both clearly written and background meanings that you'll feel this book is more than 300 pages... In a great way.

The way he described each scene in the first book in the series - 'Body of Water' - was beautiful and I became instantly hooked but after reading this I am officially in awe of this writer. The water scenes at the end of this book had me gripped as each word created another element to the picture I was seeing in my head.
Very few authors (that I've found) can create a book which I can 'actually' see play out in front of me, Stuart does this. He is also 1 of a few that creates a book that I can read again and again.. I only have 2 other books that im fine with doing this and they never get old or lose the initial impact that they had.

Comparing this book to Body of Water, there is less romance and more action; with some of the questions raised in the first book getting answered but as any fantastic author he brings us some new questions just to make sure we're hooked just that little bit more. Even though Memory of Water is the action bringer you can still feel the love between the characters and Stuart didn't forget the name Dom calls Leven - moppy. Its so cute and just lets you know that unlike many other authors out there, this one keeps track of the little things as well as the main parts of the story line.

By the end of this book I became lost (in a good way) as to what I wanted from the characters. I first hated Shaun after B.o.W but still wanted him and Leven to get back 'together'.
SPOILER HINT** Now though Lorcan and Shaun are so suited to each other, both unaware of who they are or could be and so using each other as guides. I hope they make it just as Moppy (Leven) and Dom did in the start. As for hating Shaun - now I don't - I feel for his character and hope he finds the happiness he deserves.
Stuart sure knows how to torture not only the characters but the readers too, and that is a true gift.

To end: I eagerly anticipated this book after B.o.W and now I'm wishing each day away so I can get my hands on the 3rd. And after the dramatic showstopping ending I have a strong desire to annoy the hell out of him until he releases it.

I highly recommend this book, the one before and anything else this author produces and if you're not blown away by it and suddenly addicted .. Well there's not much hope I'm afraid. (Slightly dramatic but it really is worth it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Development, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memory of Water (The Orcadian Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I loved this follow on from Body of Water developing the core characters, it also manages though to be a stand alone book in that it interweaves and overlaps the story from a different perspective and you would not be lost if you start here.
The supernatural world is entirely beliveable and I found the interplay of traditional villiany (e.g. witches) with the modern villiany of greed unnervingly natural. The build up of threat is subtle and then there are unexpected explosive scenes, I was kept gripped until the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action packed fantasy story!, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memory of Water (The Orcadian Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Memory of Water is the second book in the Orcadian novels and I would recommend reading it if, like me, you're a lover of myths, legends and fantasy. The author has obviously done a lot of research on legends from the Isles of Orkney and brought them into the 21st century. Combining the two could not have been technically easy but the plot has been well thought out and delivers exceptionally well. The main characters have developed from the first book; they are believable and work well together. In the first book, the story was told from Leven's perspective and in this book it's told from Shaun's perspective, which I found an interesting twist. There are five main characters in all - Leven and his brother Lorcan, Dom (a selkie), Shaun and his sister Beth. Their relationships are complex but you are quickly drawn into their world.

The story starts with Shaun being at the lowest point possible in his life and the author gives you the opportunity to get to fully understand him, but it's not long before the action starts to kick off you'll find yourself unable to put the book down! The key to the story is the Odin stone, a source of great power that Shaun's father is trying to harness but without any real understanding of the forces he's up against. You're introduced to trows who invisible, stunted trolls that roam in packs hunting them (and manage to capture Beth), there are sea monsters, human monsters, witches... the list goes on! There are incredible fight scenes that are very well described and keep you on the edge of your seat. I won't tell you the end of the story, you'll have to read it to find out what happens (but it involves the possible devastation of London!). It is an excellent read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good I read it twice..., 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memory of Water (The Orcadian Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
After reading Body of Water (twice) I was doubtful of a sequel that could rival the first book, however, Memory of Water exceeded all my expectations. Thoroughly enjoyable, intelligent, with so many twists to the plot I was left almost exhausted on behalf of the characters. This book, as did the first, has the makings of a film - probably due to the detailed descriptions given by the author. The sex scenes, although raunchy at times, offered tasteful accounts of a love-making scenario as opposed to graphic pornography. Very well done Stuart Wakefield I cannot even wait for Spirit of Water... please hurry!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great books stuart, 5 Dec 2012
By 
B. Manchee "bazza" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Memory of Water (The Orcadian Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Loved the books .can't believe I come to the end of the second book . wanted to keep reading . now really need to read the third book. great read . loved them ..
Linda x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Memory of Water (The Orcadian Book 2)
£3.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews