Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to Dave Brubeck, 10 May 2013
By 
RayB "Ray Burns" (Chelmsford, Essex , United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Dave Brubeck (Audio CD)
This album is a discographical nightmare, there's no sleeve notes no discographical information and the tracks have been pulled from all over the place and presented in a random order that suggests that someone wrote down the tracks to be used on separate pieces of paper and threw them into the air and presented them in the order that they were picked up. So why not give this one a swerve and go for something else? Well, the price is right plus Dave Brubecks Quartet didn't change much over it's lifetime so the personnel remains fairly static but mainly because the music is just great, every track is pure gold.
If you're new to Brubeck buy this and when you're a fan (and you will be) buy the original albums seperately.
Go on, over three hours of brilliant music for less than four quid, you owe it to yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Pianist, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Dave Brubeck (Audio CD)
This man is a legend and his jazz piano playing is sublime. If you want the Dave Brubeck package buy this compilation, excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3 CDs of brilliant Jazz, 26 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Real Dave Brubeck (Audio CD)
This set of classic Dave Brubeck is a must get if you are a fan of the cool jazz period of 1958 to the mid 1960s. Albums such as Time Out are featured on these CDs largely including many great Live songs and the all time classic Unsquare Dance, must be one of the catchiest songs ever produced.
There are also some beautiful romantic jazz ballads such as Georgia On My Mind and Blue Shadows In The Night.
As a value for money set this is a must get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brubeck, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Dave Brubeck (Audio CD)
A CD very worth buying and playing over many times Very pleased to have bought it. Friends too like it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Compilation, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Dave Brubeck (Audio CD)
I bought this to update and augment my vinyl Brubeck. I wasn't disappointed with the content and recording quality of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 3 April 2014
By 
John Murray "John M" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was a great Brubeck fan years ago - saw him live in 1961 in Manchester as a student.
I was reading my Fire in bed a few nights back and needed some new background music. Found this collection and downloaded for nostalgic reasons. Usually nostalgia leads to disappointment - not in this case. Every bit as good as I remembered. Finished up forgetting about reading and just listening to the superb music which Brubeck , Paul Desmond and co created.
Buy it and you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool Sounds, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Dave Brubeck (Audio CD)
A great overview of The Dave Brubeck Quartet's music, highly recommended and great value for money. go buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brubeck at his best, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Real Dave Brubeck (Audio CD)
I am a new listener to Brubeck and am ashamed to say that I have hummed his music over the years without realising who wrote and performed the tunes.
Cooling down but not 'lounge' music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all albums of this type, there will always be some tracks that make you wonder why they were ever included. A couple (literally) have not been moved to my iPod but the majority made the cut. Really nice to listen to whether driving or sitting down to listen closely. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars quality, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of the highest quality....the best of the best musicians producing some of the greatest sounds of our time....I think I will leave it there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Real Dave Brubeck
The Real Dave Brubeck by Dave Brubeck (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews