Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curing and Smoking
This is an excellent little book for those who are interested in having a go at curing and or smoking their own food. Even old hands like me will pick up a few new tips.
Published on 6 July 2012 by avid reader

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for info on curing - not much on hot smoking.
A good book with useful information. In my case I am mostly interested in hot smoking with a 'barbecue' style smoker. This book is mostly about cold smoking and curing techniques.
Published 15 months ago by Allan Porter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curing and Smoking, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent little book for those who are interested in having a go at curing and or smoking their own food. Even old hands like me will pick up a few new tips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good book, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book as a guide to starting smoking and have found it inspirational. All the advice is clear and simply explained and so far everything we've tried has been great. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already have another Dick and James book and love that (Self-sufficiency)

Although have yet to try making anything from the book - I have read it and think it is simply written and easy to understand.
There are a few things I am looking forward to making - am hoping to have a couple of pigs this year - so will need to be able to process them - so will come in useful then.

Written to appeal to both men and women - another great and useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real deal by real ( modern ) people, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. David Gould "Dave in the cave" (Wet Windy West Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made at Home: Curing & Smoking: From Dry Curing to Air Curing and Hot Smoking, to Cold Smoking (Kindle Edition)
Dick & his son have written a modern easy reading highly accurate classic that will be around for a long time and be used by many many people who prefer to prepare their own food rather than take the lesser stuff found in most shops , butchers and supermarkets.

The book covers just about everything you can smoke in hot or cold wood smoke, the recipes are easy to read and have been proven over and over again.

I'm delighted & honoured to be able to be able to recommend this book to anyone thinking of ,or who are even remotely interested in curing or smoking your own foods

I've Kindled this edition , read it five times in 12 days from stat to fin as well as going back and forth within it many times and will be getting the hard backed edition as I want to flick back and forth over certain sections ( this is not so easy on a Kindle Lite .

Hat's off to both of you guys and your families ... you're onto a real winner over and over again.

PS I've recently cold smoked my first 4 lb. of cheese chunks , then cured and smoked 500 gram of farmed salmon ( can't afford fresh line caught Atlantic salmon yet ).

Our New Years Day breakfast was our eating some of our home smoked cheese and salmon on crackers ,cheese crackers and water biscuits whilst sipping Strawbery Sekt
You're right , shop or super market sourced stuff are not a patch on the home smoked foods .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book, 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book I purchased writeen by Dick and James Strawbridge. They explain things to well and their methods for curing and smoking look so straightforward. I am looking forward to starting smoking and curing fish and meat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curing and smoking, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my husband who is trying to smoke fish etc. so far so good as he is just learning. The first few attempts were okay
, we did not eat them but our collie dog loved them. so he gets a treat now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bacon etc. homemade, 2 Dec. 2013
By 
Martin Phillips "Panasonic" (Miesbach) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect for first timers with easy to follow steps and instructions. Have made a few things out of here with positive results
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 3 Sept. 2012
This is a great book for novice's like me who are interested in curing and smoking food at home.

The book gives helpfull information on all aspects of curing and smoking as well as some good recipes to use once you have cured or smoked your own food. A good book to purchase for anyone just starting off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book for anyone interested in good food, 22 Jun. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Bridgend, South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made at Home: Curing & Smoking: From Dry Curing to Air Curing and Hot Smoking, to Cold Smoking (Kindle Edition)
Good book, great tips. An introduction to and almost a bible for the art and science of home smoking written in a way everyone can understand. So why not 5 Star? Well maybe a rundown on types of commercially available smokers would have made it perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to Make Food Smile., 19 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Made at Home: Curing & Smoking: From Dry Curing to Air Curing and Hot Smoking, to Cold Smoking (Kindle Edition)
How does Dick Strawbridge not catch his Moustache in the Kiln? Seriously I consider this book to be both Fun to Read, and Very Informative. One must consider that this book has been written by a charismatic Character, and his Son with the predominance of UK English terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews