Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is wonderful..., 12 July 2001
By A Customer
I love liturgics and I am planning on being a priest in the Anglican church (either in the US or in England) so I have read the Episcopal BCP from cover to cover and now have read Common Worship. It is very beautiful, some of the new Communions are so poetic and are aimed for a modern congregation. The book is written in a print that is readable, with red and black print as well as different font faces to distinguish between different parts of the liturgy. CW has a separate section for Canticles, Collects and the lectionary. Plus, it give vestement colours for each weekly Mass. The disappointing part about this edition is that it lacks weddings, funeral services, ordinations and healing services which makes it necessary to puchase anothe volume. I was given it was a Confirmation gift and use it frequently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep it beside your computer for your daily devotions!, 9 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Pleasing print, comfortable weight and content by a best-selling author. Published as an accompaniment to The Book of Common Prayer, not only is it a resource for church worship, but also for personal devotions. It contains the Calendar of the Christian year, a Psalter, Services, Collects, Canticles, Rules and a Lectionary.
It is altogether a lovely volume, it comes with my recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a worthwhile resource, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Worship: Main Volume (Common Worship: Services and Prayers for the Church of Engla) (Kindle Edition)
A useful resource for anyone who partakes in regular Anglican worship. Especially for those with a visual impairment as they can enlarge the words to a size they can see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CofE Common Worship, 18 May 2011
By 
Daryl "Daryl" (Wimblington, Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great book, it has helped me no end in preparing Collects and Prayer for a service, it is highly recommended if you lead any part of the CofE service, and the book is still in wide use today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what it says on the cover, 29 Dec 2010
By 
Its exactly what it says it is. This review is the result of a computer asking me the question. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMDG, 1 July 2009
By 
Becoming more accepted in The Church of England as the successor to the Book of Common Prayer, Common Worship does provide a great resource for the Church, extending beyond the formal corporate worship services. The provision for private devotion is much appreciated and extended resources for Holy Days, Feasts, Commemorations and Memorials are especially useful for small gatherings such as at mid-week Holy Communion. Common Worship in parallel with Celebrating Common Prayer - The Daily Office SSF, may fulfil most of the daily needs in regular prayer for Christians who look for a regular celebratory form of Office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Worship: Main Volume (Common Worship: Services and Prayers for the Church of Engla) (Kindle Edition)
I produce the news sheet for church and having the readings / prayers etc on my Kindle is useful. Once I found the right place, I only have to turn the page for the next week! Easier to use than I thought it might be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and informative, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Easy to use and contains all you need to know for most of the Anglican services. Certainly as a lay person I found it fit for purpose and value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful addition for the Kindle, 3 Feb 2014
By 
ALUN PRICE-DAVIES (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Common Worship: Main Volume (Common Worship: Services and Prayers for the Church of Engla) (Kindle Edition)
Obviously not as easy to navigate as the printed word but useful to have on the kindle for travelling and in an emergency.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prayer Books, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Common Worship book is well done and what one would expect from a book with 500 years of faith, tradition and development. The first thing that is apparent is the form factor of the book which is more narrow than the US (Episcopal) or the Australian prayer books. The type face is smaller than the Australian book but the Common Worship is a thinner, more compact volume.

The leafs of the Common Worship book are of an ivory stock that gives the book a quite different look than the stark bright white paper of the American and Australian books. Contrasting the paper color, the rubrics are of a bright red font and there is hardly a page that does not have a some heading or direction in red print. Despite the bright color, the font is a humble sans serif throughout. Blank bright red pages clearly separate the book sections. Matching the fonts, the book has two ribbons, one black, one red which are enough.

If there is anything missing, it would be a more robust collection of occasional prayers, thanksgivings and blessings. There are 81 each in the US and Australian prayer books but 23 in the Common Worship as I count them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Common Worship: Main Volume (Common Worship: Services and Prayers for the Church of Engla)
7.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews