Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
74
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2013
This box set is well worth the money, fantastic sound quality with the fantastic sound quality DVD being a bonus. One also gets a fantastic informative booklet which is a superb history of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons in writing as well as pictures. There is interesting information underneath each song title as well. I would highly recommend this boxed set if you are a fan, like I am, of Frankie Valli and the Four Seasons. I have most of the tunes on the vinyl LP' The Four Seasons Story', but some tunes I haven't heard before. Thank you Amazon for recommending it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
What can I say? I have loved Frankie and the 4 seasons since I was a teenager, a life time ago. This updated 3 CD plus DVD pack was a bargain. The DVD shows the changes over the years to clothes, hair and the people in the Seasons etc but their music stays the same, Frankie well - always the same, he's just great and an enduring consumate performer. After all that - The price and delivery were 5 star.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
Please note that this 'small box' version is not quite the same as the original 'long box' release in that the booklet has been truncated to omit the discography despite the note to the track listing which refers to it. Better to have left out the 6 page essay on the Jersey Boys stage show and retained the discography I'd have thought. Music top notch of course
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
The three cds chart the career of Frankie Valli as well as the Four Seasons. The tracks include all the well known hits such as Beggin, Working my way back to you, Opus 17, My eyes adored you, Swearin to God, Who loves you, December 1963, Grease, Sherry, Rag Doll, Walk like a man and Big Girls don't cry. There is also a dvd included which shows performances of 12 of their songs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
One of the Four Seasons best records was "And That Reminds Me" and this is one of the very few places to get it . The way the drums are brilliantly incorporated into the intro seemed to be a trademark of producer Bob Crewe , and presumably the great bass playing is by Joe Long . It was a crime that Joe Long wasn`t inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame after his long service with the group and his major contribution to some of their most outstanding records . These included : "Lets Hang On " , "Opus 17" , "Working My Way Back To You" , " Beggin`" and not least "The Night" . And that reminds me why not to go and see "Jersey Boys" .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
A SLIMMED DOWN CD SIZE COLLECTION FORMERLY ISSUED IN THE USA IN 2007 IN A LONG BOX VERSION BY RHINO. I HAVE THIS COPY BUT TRACKS ARE IDENTICAL AND INTERESTING UNHEARD TRACKS "EAST MEETS WEST " THE 4 SEASONS MEETS THE BEACH BOYS COULD HAVE BEEN A CLASSIC BUT NOT. THIS COLLECTION HAS HITS/ALBUM TRACKS/"B" SIDES BUT FOR ANY ONE WHO HAVE EVER APPRECIATED THE 4 SEASONS AND FRANKIE VALLI OR DOO-WOP MUSIC FROM THE BEGINNING THIS IS A MUST MAY I ALSO SUGGEST THE RECENTLY RELEASED THE ANTHOLOGY- ONE DAY RECORDS DAY2CD193 FOR TRACKS PRIOR TO THOSE ON THIS COLLECTION SHOWING THE FORMER YEARS (1953-1960) OF THE FOUR SEASONS AS THE FOUR LOVERS.FRANKIE VALLEY. A PERFECT COMPANION TO THIS COLLECTION AND VALUE FOR MONEY I RECOMMEND THIS AS A MUST HAVE FOR ANY MUSIC FAN OF WHATEVER DECADE PERFECTION AMERICAN STYLE.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2016
Great!! Frankie Valli/ Four Seasons, brilliant CD and DVD can't praise it enough, mixture of well known and not so well known , pity they not so heard as they should be love it and great value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
With 3 CDs and 1 DVD you get almost 4 hours of songs and 40 minutes of viewing.
The best stuff is entirely essential if you are a fan and while much is made of Frankie Valli's voice, which is fantastic, the vocal backing and musicianship are top class as well.
Frankie provides some solo numbers, not all to my taste being a little too lounge for my liking, but nevermind, overall it's a triumph of great music which has stood the test of the past 50 years.
So while many Best Ofs and Greatest Hits can be found on 1 or 2 CDs, this one really tops the lot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
I think instead of flogging live recordings space would have been better filled by including some of the great B sides like No Surfin' Today,Born To Wander or Connie-0
Also unnecessary is yet other retread of the artrocous Wonder Who
For all that money you expect better
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2015
awesome box set - very comprehensive in fact I doubt there is one better
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£3.07

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)