Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of Burma
Forgotten Voices of Burma draws on the vast resources of the Imperial War Museum's sound archive to retell this story in the words of those who were there. This book captures the essence of what it was like to fight in the Allie's largest campaign against the Japanese in Burma's austere environment. Thompson's narrative expertly stitches together numerous accounts of...
Published on 29 Oct. 2009 by eddiespangle

versus
35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of Burma
This is one of the familiar IWM `Forgotten Voices..." series.
Much of it's content will also be familiar to those who have read Julian Thompson's books `The Imperial War Museum Book Of The War In Burma 1942-1945' and `The Imperial War Museum Book Of War Behind Enemy Lines' (which covers the Chindits), which are far superior to this volume. This one claims to be "a...
Published on 4 Aug. 2010 by Charpoy Chindit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of Burma, 29 Oct. 2009
Forgotten Voices of Burma draws on the vast resources of the Imperial War Museum's sound archive to retell this story in the words of those who were there. This book captures the essence of what it was like to fight in the Allie's largest campaign against the Japanese in Burma's austere environment. Thompson's narrative expertly stitches together numerous accounts of the conflict into a comprehensive, coherent and revealing story of how the `Forgotten Army' turned defeat into victory. Forgotten Voices of Burma will be of immense value to anyone with more than a passing interest in the 1941 - 45 Burma campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb insight to the "forgotten army", 7 April 2010
By 
A. R. Krantz (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was thoroughly impressed with this book.

Many who even know about the pacific campaign of WW2 only know of US marines conquering bitterly contested islands. This is true but often ignores other major and decisive campaigns in the Pacific theatre of WW2. Many dismiss this campaign in Burma as British Imperialism. However upon reading the horrendous and ultimately victorious cmapaign those men had to go through, one feels truly humbled and enlightened as to the sheer effort put in by this country and the commonwealth, and how this campaign equally contributed to the downfall of the Empire of Japan.

This campaign was every bit as brutal and energy sapping as all th other well documented campaigns of WW2, and i hope that this book will go some way to publicise this theatre of war which UK troops fought in, and do some much needed justice to them.

If anyone is interested in reading true soldier based history, wants to find out about less well known but equally as important campaigns in WW2, i suggest buying it. I only didnt read it all at once because of exam revision, it was that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of Burma (a review by Thomas W. Johnson), 10 Aug. 2010
By 
Thomas W. Johnson (Kailua Kona, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the great accomplishments of the Imperial War Museum was the oral history program for returning veterans after World War II. Julian Thompson, following in the foot steps of Stephen Ambrose, takes the same material and uses it in multiple publications. A reading of Thompson's The Imperial War Museum Book of the War In Burma 1942 - 1945 will see use of the same material. Nothing wrong with that; Ambrose used the same material in at least four books that I'm aware of. This book is not a detailed history of the war in Burma. Thompson tries to put the material in chronological order but given the simultaneous events it does get confusing. For example, how can you write about the Chindits, Kohima and Imphal in the first two weeks of April, 1944 without competing events on the same day.
There are no references to NCAC operations that I can see. I didn't see any quotes from members of the British 36th division.
Charpoy Chindit, my favorite reviewer is unnecessarily harsh in his assessment of this book. I enjoyed reading the first hand quotes from the soldiers who were there at the time. If memories have faded with the years since the actions, it only makes the sources more human. Who really cares if it was a Typhoon or a Thurderbolt at Meiktila? I'm interested in the first hand account of a tank crew member at Nungshigum; I don't really care if he can't remember if it was a Lee or a Stuart. This book should be read after the reader has acquainted his or herself with the war in the Burma theatre, other wise it won't make much sense. The fact that 161 Brigade fought in the Arakan, then flew to Kohima / Imphal to fight there isn't brought out in any detail in this book. Thompson's narative is okay. I'm less interested in the narative then in the stories taken from the soldier's who fought there.
Things you won't find in this book include any reference to the NCAC area, members of the African Brigades or Divisions and any of the Chinese soldiers who fought in the Ledo, Lashio or Bhamo areas.
Yes, there are numerous errors; probably due to fading memories; not an attempt to rewrite history. If Thompson uncovers an error in an oral history, is he really obligated to mention the correct fact. ("No, no, no. It was a Thunderbolt, not a Typhon.") Who cares, beside Charpoy Chindit.
I recommend this book for readers interested in the history of the area and the history of world war 2. Its an easy read, lots of pictures. I hope that Thompson goes back into the archives of the IWM and generates More Forgotten Voices of Burma. These men (and women) accomplished something incredible. The least we armchair historians can do, is appreciate all they did at the time with the resources available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of Burma, 4 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the familiar IWM `Forgotten Voices..." series.
Much of it's content will also be familiar to those who have read Julian Thompson's books `The Imperial War Museum Book Of The War In Burma 1942-1945' and `The Imperial War Museum Book Of War Behind Enemy Lines' (which covers the Chindits), which are far superior to this volume. This one claims to be "a new history of the Second World War's forgotten conflict", but many of the other personal accounts included here are also available in book form or online; Calvert, Randle, Norman, Dillon, and the 2 Norfolk stuff, for example. Other accounts, like Hogan's, are welcome, if rather confused, additions. Hogan is repeatedly referred to as a member of the armoured car section of 2 Burma Rifles; surely it should be Burma Auxiliary Force. A few West African & Indian accounts have been included for the obvious reasons, but it is sad to say that they are not that enlightening. What remains are recollections, some quite vague, without editorial comment. There is an infuriating lack of detail concerning dates and places. No attempt has been made to check or confirm people's names. This has lead to very many errors. This may be expected in an oral history project, but surely some comment should have been noted in the transcriptions. For example; the constant reference to Lieutenant Nolan (instead of Knowland) is quite shameful in view of his Victoria Cross award. Readers may also be confused by references to Typhoons at Meiktila, when presumably Thunderbolts were meant. Such errors are too numerous to list.

Many of the accounts are very good, but this format, which necessitates the chopping up of the personal accounts in a failed attempt to create a comprehensive historical narrative, works against the strengths of the material. The Imphal chapter is particularly badly organised, and the constant shifting back and forth between operations on the Tiddim Road and in the Kabaw Valley shows a lack of understanding of the operations under discussion, and will only confuse the general reader. The later operations, Meiktila and the Rangoon Road battles, seem particularly rushed, and, as usual, the Chindit operations are over represented. As a result it cannot be seen as a comprehensive account of the war in Burma.
A good deal of Space has been wasted on rather pointless glossary.
This is an IWM book so good photographs are to be expected, although the cheap paper makes them look a rather grainy. It is also disappointing
that so many post-war portraits have been used.

It is difficult to recommend this book to the general reader while the volumes mentioned above are still easily available.
Although the hardened Burma enthusiast will find much familiar content here, there is enough of interest to make it worth ploughing through the unhelpful format and the numerous errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroism and valour in Burma, 7 Mar. 2011
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Having recently read "Fighting Through To Kohima" by Michael Lowry and being an avid reader and admirer of the "Forgotten Voices" series, I was very much looking forward to reading this book about the Burma campaign.
As ever with the "Forgotten Voices" series, you get it first hand. There are plenty of no holds barred witness testimony covering the retreat from the (initially) underestimated Japanese army. There are sections on the morale boosting Chindit expeditions and ultimately, on to the battles at Kohima and Imphal that tipped the balance and won a hard fought victory.
Conditions were obviously appaling at times and the hardships British, Commonwealth and indeed Japanese troops endured are obvious. As ever the bravery, the gallows humour, the fear, the friendship, the courage and the overwhelming need for a cup of tea, are all here.
Gurkhas, Brits, Africans,Indians,Americans,Chinese, Burmese, Japanese, fighting through jungle, monsoon, mud, filth and disease - incredible.
The testimonies are marvellous and thought provoking - another marvellous collection reflecting the courage of soldiers in some of the most atrocious conditions of the second world war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, if imperfect, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr M.R.Watkinson (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Whilst I'm not quite so critical as Charpoy Chindit's 3* review, I must agree that the author's choice of structure is confusing. He chose to follow specific actions in detail, rather than going through the campaign in strict chronological order. Whilst it does help to keep individual operations & battles coherent, it also makes it difficult to keep an overview of an unfamiliar campaign; for me & for many others, I'm sure, Burma truly is a little-known "sideshow".

My standard criticism of this series is the poor quality of the photo's, as they are printed on ordinary paper. In this book, that is not so noticeable. However, this is mainly because far too many of them are portraits, where there is no detail to be lost, so they remain disappointing. Maps are also a serious problem. I suspect that many people, like me, are reasonably familiar with the geography of Europe and therefore stand a reasonable chance of working out where unfamiliar places roughly are. Burma, a very distant land with very alien place names, is another matter. The maps in this book are inadequate, badly organised, and will often leave you puzzled as to where the action was. To give one example, Maymyo is mentioned a great deal in the early part of the book, never in the latter. Trouble is, it's not till halfway through the book that you get a map where its location is shown (it's a few miles east of Mandalay). It doesn't help that, whilst place names are naturally given as the soldiers knew them, many have since changed (Maymyo is now Pyin Oo Lwin, for example).

I'm not sufficiently expert on the Burma campaign to question whether detail is correct, although I will say that veterans mis-designating equipment, confusing a Lee tank with a Grant, or Typhoons for Thunderbolts, isn't something that bothers me. It is enough that a tank or plane was there performing its mission; I can forgive veterans' errant memories! The strength of the book, as always with the series, is the excellent & varied selection of personal accounts. Burma was largely a land campaign, with a vital RAF component. This is well reflected in the balance of testimony chosen. There is just a little from civilians, a moderate amount from the RAF, some from African & Indian troops, a few contributions from the enemy (both Japanese & INLA), much from officers of Gurkha / Indian / African units, and the bulk from white Commonwealth forces. It's all deeply interesting; it's a just a shame that, on the whole, the presentation of the book could have been better done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 14th Army, 24 Jan. 2012
While Europe celebrated the end of the war the 14th Army were slogging it out with an enemy that was far from beaten.
In their own words they tell of the hand to hand combat, the heat, the incessant rain and all the dangers of jungle fighting.
This book is a collection of personal experiences by the men of the allied forces who were at the sharp end.
This is a keeper for anyone interested in WW2 history. An excellent book to dip into now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I have only red a few pages so far. ..., 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of Burma: The Second World War's Forgotten Conflict (Kindle Edition)
I have only red a few pages so far. Apart from the introduction it appears to literally be a compilation of soldiers diaries/logbooks. While these are compelling as individual statements. My impression is that some deeper context along with/between these statements would vastly improve the books impact. Anyone could have compiled the statements into a chronology, I was hopeful that the author had provided some wider military insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moving account from those who were there, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of Burma: The Second World War's Forgotten Conflict (Kindle Edition)
This is a must for anyone with a close relative who was in Burma during WW2. It is a very moving account of what the soldiers went through told by the men themselves. I was five years old when I first met my father on his return from Burma in 1945. He rarely spoke about his time there so for me this is a real eye-opener. I would have given five stars if there had been some indication of the dates when various incidents occurred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Easily Forgotten Voices, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Forgotten Voices books vary considerably in both the structure of the book and the selection of quotes it provides. In this case the structure is not good, as despite the usual text at the begining of each section it does not make the progress of the war very clear. The focus seems very selective and I was dissapointed to find no quotes relating to the defence of Singapore or Hong Kong, or anything from POW's captured during the campaign. It explains why there was a difficulty obtaining quotes from Indian and Burmese soldiers, but there is nothing from the Japanese soldiers here either.

The quotes also seem to be a poor selection. Many seem to be from the same individuals, suggesting that there was a limited choice of material. But this has the effect of just telling the story of a few men, rather than giving an overall picture. Some paragraphs are literally just "And then we marched to Mandalay and set up camp there", which is far from an exciting or insightful quote to choose.

Not one of the better Forgotten Voices books, and it doesn't even begin to tell the story of the war in Burma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews