Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of Burma
Forgotten Voices of Burma draws on the vast resources of the Imperial War Museum's sound archive to retell this story in the words of those who were there. This book captures the essence of what it was like to fight in the Allie's largest campaign against the Japanese in Burma's austere environment. Thompson's narrative expertly stitches together numerous accounts of...
Published on 29 Oct 2009 by eddiespangle

versus
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of Burma
This is one of the familiar IWM `Forgotten Voices..." series.
Much of it's content will also be familiar to those who have read Julian Thompson's books `The Imperial War Museum Book Of The War In Burma 1942-1945' and `The Imperial War Museum Book Of War Behind Enemy Lines' (which covers the Chindits), which are far superior to this volume. This one claims to be "a...
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by Charpoy Chindit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of Burma, 29 Oct 2009
Forgotten Voices of Burma draws on the vast resources of the Imperial War Museum's sound archive to retell this story in the words of those who were there. This book captures the essence of what it was like to fight in the Allie's largest campaign against the Japanese in Burma's austere environment. Thompson's narrative expertly stitches together numerous accounts of the conflict into a comprehensive, coherent and revealing story of how the `Forgotten Army' turned defeat into victory. Forgotten Voices of Burma will be of immense value to anyone with more than a passing interest in the 1941 - 45 Burma campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb insight to the "forgotten army", 7 April 2010
By 
A. R. Krantz (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was thoroughly impressed with this book.

Many who even know about the pacific campaign of WW2 only know of US marines conquering bitterly contested islands. This is true but often ignores other major and decisive campaigns in the Pacific theatre of WW2. Many dismiss this campaign in Burma as British Imperialism. However upon reading the horrendous and ultimately victorious cmapaign those men had to go through, one feels truly humbled and enlightened as to the sheer effort put in by this country and the commonwealth, and how this campaign equally contributed to the downfall of the Empire of Japan.

This campaign was every bit as brutal and energy sapping as all th other well documented campaigns of WW2, and i hope that this book will go some way to publicise this theatre of war which UK troops fought in, and do some much needed justice to them.

If anyone is interested in reading true soldier based history, wants to find out about less well known but equally as important campaigns in WW2, i suggest buying it. I only didnt read it all at once because of exam revision, it was that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of Burma, 4 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the familiar IWM `Forgotten Voices..." series.
Much of it's content will also be familiar to those who have read Julian Thompson's books `The Imperial War Museum Book Of The War In Burma 1942-1945' and `The Imperial War Museum Book Of War Behind Enemy Lines' (which covers the Chindits), which are far superior to this volume. This one claims to be "a new history of the Second World War's forgotten conflict", but many of the other personal accounts included here are also available in book form or online; Calvert, Randle, Norman, Dillon, and the 2 Norfolk stuff, for example. Other accounts, like Hogan's, are welcome, if rather confused, additions. Hogan is repeatedly referred to as a member of the armoured car section of 2 Burma Rifles; surely it should be Burma Auxiliary Force. A few West African & Indian accounts have been included for the obvious reasons, but it is sad to say that they are not that enlightening. What remains are recollections, some quite vague, without editorial comment. There is an infuriating lack of detail concerning dates and places. No attempt has been made to check or confirm people's names. This has lead to very many errors. This may be expected in an oral history project, but surely some comment should have been noted in the transcriptions. For example; the constant reference to Lieutenant Nolan (instead of Knowland) is quite shameful in view of his Victoria Cross award. Readers may also be confused by references to Typhoons at Meiktila, when presumably Thunderbolts were meant. Such errors are too numerous to list.

Many of the accounts are very good, but this format, which necessitates the chopping up of the personal accounts in a failed attempt to create a comprehensive historical narrative, works against the strengths of the material. The Imphal chapter is particularly badly organised, and the constant shifting back and forth between operations on the Tiddim Road and in the Kabaw Valley shows a lack of understanding of the operations under discussion, and will only confuse the general reader. The later operations, Meiktila and the Rangoon Road battles, seem particularly rushed, and, as usual, the Chindit operations are over represented. As a result it cannot be seen as a comprehensive account of the war in Burma.
A good deal of Space has been wasted on rather pointless glossary.
This is an IWM book so good photographs are to be expected, although the cheap paper makes them look a rather grainy. It is also disappointing
that so many post-war portraits have been used.

It is difficult to recommend this book to the general reader while the volumes mentioned above are still easily available.
Although the hardened Burma enthusiast will find much familiar content here, there is enough of interest to make it worth ploughing through the unhelpful format and the numerous errors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten Voices of Burma (a review by Thomas W. Johnson), 10 Aug 2010
By 
Thomas W. Johnson (Kailua Kona, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the great accomplishments of the Imperial War Museum was the oral history program for returning veterans after World War II. Julian Thompson, following in the foot steps of Stephen Ambrose, takes the same material and uses it in multiple publications. A reading of Thompson's The Imperial War Museum Book of the War In Burma 1942 - 1945 will see use of the same material. Nothing wrong with that; Ambrose used the same material in at least four books that I'm aware of. This book is not a detailed history of the war in Burma. Thompson tries to put the material in chronological order but given the simultaneous events it does get confusing. For example, how can you write about the Chindits, Kohima and Imphal in the first two weeks of April, 1944 without competing events on the same day.
There are no references to NCAC operations that I can see. I didn't see any quotes from members of the British 36th division.
Charpoy Chindit, my favorite reviewer is unnecessarily harsh in his assessment of this book. I enjoyed reading the first hand quotes from the soldiers who were there at the time. If memories have faded with the years since the actions, it only makes the sources more human. Who really cares if it was a Typhoon or a Thurderbolt at Meiktila? I'm interested in the first hand account of a tank crew member at Nungshigum; I don't really care if he can't remember if it was a Lee or a Stuart. This book should be read after the reader has acquainted his or herself with the war in the Burma theatre, other wise it won't make much sense. The fact that 161 Brigade fought in the Arakan, then flew to Kohima / Imphal to fight there isn't brought out in any detail in this book. Thompson's narative is okay. I'm less interested in the narative then in the stories taken from the soldier's who fought there.
Things you won't find in this book include any reference to the NCAC area, members of the African Brigades or Divisions and any of the Chinese soldiers who fought in the Ledo, Lashio or Bhamo areas.
Yes, there are numerous errors; probably due to fading memories; not an attempt to rewrite history. If Thompson uncovers an error in an oral history, is he really obligated to mention the correct fact. ("No, no, no. It was a Thunderbolt, not a Typhon.") Who cares, beside Charpoy Chindit.
I recommend this book for readers interested in the history of the area and the history of world war 2. Its an easy read, lots of pictures. I hope that Thompson goes back into the archives of the IWM and generates More Forgotten Voices of Burma. These men (and women) accomplished something incredible. The least we armchair historians can do, is appreciate all they did at the time with the resources available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroism and valour in Burma, 7 Mar 2011
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Having recently read "Fighting Through To Kohima" by Michael Lowry and being an avid reader and admirer of the "Forgotten Voices" series, I was very much looking forward to reading this book about the Burma campaign.
As ever with the "Forgotten Voices" series, you get it first hand. There are plenty of no holds barred witness testimony covering the retreat from the (initially) underestimated Japanese army. There are sections on the morale boosting Chindit expeditions and ultimately, on to the battles at Kohima and Imphal that tipped the balance and won a hard fought victory.
Conditions were obviously appaling at times and the hardships British, Commonwealth and indeed Japanese troops endured are obvious. As ever the bravery, the gallows humour, the fear, the friendship, the courage and the overwhelming need for a cup of tea, are all here.
Gurkhas, Brits, Africans,Indians,Americans,Chinese, Burmese, Japanese, fighting through jungle, monsoon, mud, filth and disease - incredible.
The testimonies are marvellous and thought provoking - another marvellous collection reflecting the courage of soldiers in some of the most atrocious conditions of the second world war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There is no way to thank all those who gave their lives for our freedom, 27 Feb 2014
Reading this book was an emotional experience – it was utterly vivid and immediate to read the actual words spoken by those who were there in this terrible drawn out war in dreadful and inhospitable terrain against the fearsome and tenacious Japanese army. One has seen so many war movies but nothing can compare with this.
Everything is here – courage, determination, stoicism, appalling suffering, resignation, humour, the unfairness and randomness of cruel circumstance and the lasting legacy of traumatic memories and loss.
I liked the way the material was organised - it made chronological sense, and there were 'voices' that one often heard a number of times as they appeared again. It took the reader straight to what was said and remembered, with clear accounts of the history in each section. What was remembered was at times confused, random and incomplete, just as memories of chaos and struggle would have been. Much horror and suffering is understated.
(This was one of the books I intended to read after completing mine – ‘Distant and Dangerous Days in Burma and China’. While the Allies were being forced to retreat northwards in Burma in 1942 my mother Josephine Chapman was one of the tens of thousands of civilian refugees also fleeing for their lives.)
I had been aware that Churchill had made a speech in February 1942 about the sheer impossibility of sending substantial numbers of troops to this region at this time during WW2, but I hadn’t been aware of the many individual stories of dreadful experiences during what was often a fighting retreat where so many died and suffered appalling injuries and illness.
There are comments by different people, soldiers of different ranks and races, civilians and the occasional woman which makes it all the more interesting. Also from time to time there are some words from Japanese soldiers.
Since I know my own mother’s story so well the many events described in the first chapter were all the more vivid – while reading it I had an image in my mind of where she was at particular points in the story – the bombing of Rangoon around Christmas time 1941, the chaos of not always knowing which planes were overhead, the rapid advance of the Japanese, the indecision about where to go and how far. In the early stages Myitkyina airfield in the north was still being much used (until taken by the Japanese in May).
There is one account by Major Michael Calvert which is of particular interest to me, as Josephine mentioned the absolutely incredible Gokteik viaduct, and made (as far as I know) the only inaccurate statement in her diary when she wrote in April that she saw the bridge and that it was blown up a few days later. Calvert’s account describes how some of them were deployed to protect the bridge ‘..about one thousand feet above the water, the greatest drop of any bridge in the world. I longed to blow it up. At first the Gurkhas said we could not lay explosives, but in the end we did. The Japanese pushed up through the Shan States, with the Chinese retreating, and their one route to China was via the Gokteik Viaduct. I kept asking Alexander’s HQ for permission to blow the bridge, but kept being told, “No, to leave it to the Chinese, hand it over, and withdraw.” The next time I saw Alexander, he asked “Did you blow the bridge up?” “No,” I said, “I longed to blow it up, but you gave me direct orders not to do it.” He replied, “I chose you because I was told that you were likely to disobey orders.” ‘ Calvert ends his account by saying – ‘…That was a sad mistake on my part, I should have disobeyed orders.’
Later there is a story Major Calvert tells about a deception operation which involved leaving a car full of documents for the Japanese to find, after which he ‘…found Mandalay had been bombed very heavily and there were thousands of Indians on the waterfront, bodies in the river, and many wounded. It was ghastly…..’ Josephine was there and described the bombing of Mandalay in detail. In a later account Calvert says – ‘..there were masses of refugees, and people were dying of cholera by the side of the track. I was told to go to the Chindwin and to do what I could to delay the Japanese….’ My mother was heading for the Chindwin (river), she wrote ‘ …we had been warned that we should cross the Chindwin by the 15th (May)’
Obviously it would not have been possible for all the accounts in ‘Forgotten Voices’ to contain dates, but it would have been very interesting for me to know what was the approximate date of this account when Calvert wrote that the Japanese were in the process of landing on a large mud bank in the Chindwin river.
After the retreat the situation gradually changed and there was more support. I knew the bare facts about the battles of Kohima and Imphal but reading this brought home to me the horror and terror and drawn out struggle which were needed in order to stop the Japanese advance.
There were details about Burmese and Karen people that struck me particularly because they linked with stories my mother recorded in a book published in 1946.
I was familiar with the account that John M Ellis had written for me of his experience fighting in the Arakan and hacking a way through dense bamboo jungle, so was interested to read similar stories such as those of Pilot Officer Roger Cobley and Lieutenant Stamford Weatherall in the chapter ‘On to Rangoon.’
There were places I knew of and conditions I had already read about - but nothing could possibly have had the impact that this book has had.
There were comments about leaders who were legends in history but as men encountered by other men were fallible and perhaps not always what history has made them out to be.
The occasional comments recorded by Japanese soldiers were thought provoking and reminded us that they too were human beings caught up in conflict.
There were comments by Indian soldiers who were brave and loyal but also able to hang on to their belief that after this war was over they would soon be free of British rule.
There was humour and respect and deep deep sadness.
There was the almost casual realisation that the atom bombs had been dropped. Immediate circumstances demanded attention and the full significance would have become apparent later.
Despite what another reviewer has said I think the photos are really good and added greatly to the accounts.
It's a book I will read again, there is so much in it. It brought home to a mere civilian like myself the frightening waste of such a conflict and the good fortune I have that I live in a safe country defended by more brave and conscientious soldiers prepared to do whatever is asked of them in dangerous parts of the world. Elizabeth Tebby Germaine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent, if imperfect, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Mr M.R.Watkinson (Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Whilst I'm not quite so critical as Charpoy Chindit's 3* review, I must agree that the author's choice of structure is confusing. He chose to follow specific actions in detail, rather than going through the campaign in strict chronological order. Whilst it does help to keep individual operations & battles coherent, it also makes it difficult to keep an overview of an unfamiliar campaign; for me & for many others, I'm sure, Burma truly is a little-known "sideshow".

My standard criticism of this series is the poor quality of the photo's, as they are printed on ordinary paper. In this book, that is not so noticeable. However, this is mainly because far too many of them are portraits, where there is no detail to be lost, so they remain disappointing. Maps are also a serious problem. I suspect that many people, like me, are reasonably familiar with the geography of Europe and therefore stand a reasonable chance of working out where unfamiliar places roughly are. Burma, a very distant land with very alien place names, is another matter. The maps in this book are inadequate, badly organised, and will often leave you puzzled as to where the action was. To give one example, Maymyo is mentioned a great deal in the early part of the book, never in the latter. Trouble is, it's not till halfway through the book that you get a map where its location is shown (it's a few miles east of Mandalay). It doesn't help that, whilst place names are naturally given as the soldiers knew them, many have since changed (Maymyo is now Pyin Oo Lwin, for example).

I'm not sufficiently expert on the Burma campaign to question whether detail is correct, although I will say that veterans mis-designating equipment, confusing a Lee tank with a Grant, or Typhoons for Thunderbolts, isn't something that bothers me. It is enough that a tank or plane was there performing its mission; I can forgive veterans' errant memories! The strength of the book, as always with the series, is the excellent & varied selection of personal accounts. Burma was largely a land campaign, with a vital RAF component. This is well reflected in the balance of testimony chosen. There is just a little from civilians, a moderate amount from the RAF, some from African & Indian troops, a few contributions from the enemy (both Japanese & INLA), much from officers of Gurkha / Indian / African units, and the bulk from white Commonwealth forces. It's all deeply interesting; it's a just a shame that, on the whole, the presentation of the book could have been better done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moving account from those who were there, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Forgotten Voices of Burma: The Second World War's Forgotten Conflict (Kindle Edition)
This is a must for anyone with a close relative who was in Burma during WW2. It is a very moving account of what the soldiers went through told by the men themselves. I was five years old when I first met my father on his return from Burma in 1945. He rarely spoke about his time there so for me this is a real eye-opener. I would have given five stars if there had been some indication of the dates when various incidents occurred.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 14th Army, 24 Jan 2012
While Europe celebrated the end of the war the 14th Army were slogging it out with an enemy that was far from beaten.
In their own words they tell of the hand to hand combat, the heat, the incessant rain and all the dangers of jungle fighting.
This book is a collection of personal experiences by the men of the allied forces who were at the sharp end.
This is a keeper for anyone interested in WW2 history. An excellent book to dip into now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars burma ww2 campaign., 25 May 2011
By 
road nomad (ebbw vale wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great book in the FORGOTTEN VOICES series.
It covers the campaign in Burma 1941-45 using the accounts of the people who were involved in it.
The jungle was an horrendous place to fight a war against the Japs, the conditions they had to live and fight in were pretty awful.
They had to put up with malaria, dysentry, leeches, monsoons, lack of fresh water and proper medical facilities having to improvise with what they had.
The Japs were a very strong and formidable enemy who didn't want to take any prisoners, they would sooner kill badly wounded or dying Allied troops rather than take them as POWs.
Now having read this book and having a better understanding of the war in the Far East I can fully understand why the troops that fought this campaign and survived hate the Japanese for the battlefield atrocities they commited against their comrades.
I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about the Burma campaign, reading first hand accounts of the troops who fought there really brings home the horror of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd1d8e8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews