Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to date overview of Keats' life.
Indispensible for a Keats enthusiast. Many biographies have been written about this poet and Nicholas Roe freely admits to having borrowed from nearly all of them The most interesting aspect of the book is that it revises the steriotype; Keats was not the frail asthete of popular imagination. He was, amongst other unexpected things, an energetic hiker who walked long...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. P. J. Laidlaw

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Detailed Biography of Day to Day Life.
This biography is exceptional for its detail, which is sometimes overwhelming. There is so much information there, one is tempted to say 'too much information!' The style of writing is heavy at times and not always eaysy to read, especially in large doses, but Keats' life was a short one and this book will fill in every minute detail. The research that has gone into it is...
Published 9 months ago by Shirley Haydon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up to date overview of Keats' life., 11 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. P. J. Laidlaw "Jeannie L" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Keats (Kindle Edition)
Indispensible for a Keats enthusiast. Many biographies have been written about this poet and Nicholas Roe freely admits to having borrowed from nearly all of them The most interesting aspect of the book is that it revises the steriotype; Keats was not the frail asthete of popular imagination. He was, amongst other unexpected things, an energetic hiker who walked long distances in Scotland.
At the least the book is a fascinating true story of a well known artist, at most it could change your whole perception of life in early19th century England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Detailed Biography of Day to Day Life., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Keats: A New Life (Hardcover)
This biography is exceptional for its detail, which is sometimes overwhelming. There is so much information there, one is tempted to say 'too much information!' The style of writing is heavy at times and not always eaysy to read, especially in large doses, but Keats' life was a short one and this book will fill in every minute detail. The research that has gone into it is phenominal.It's quite an achievement to finish but if you do there is not much about his life that you do not know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very fine, indeed., 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Keats: A New Life (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed reading this book and I found the author informative and his research seemed credible. It seems that much of Keats life has not previously been discussed as well as this author presents it. I very much enjoyed reading about his youth and his family. I also liked the material about his medical training in London. I haven't finished the book yet, but it's a very interesting read and it is well written. For lovers of Romantic poetry in English Literature, I highly recommend this biography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roe's 'John Keats', 4 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Keats (Paperback)
I am very much enjoying this closely written and highly researched biography of one of our great poets.I am learning so much more about him than I ever thought possible. Great scholarship in this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gift, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Keats: A New Life (Hardcover)
I gave this book as a Christmas present but I believe that it is being very much enjoyed and the style of writing has been praised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Favourite Poet., 2 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. Angela READ "Maturegrad" (Devizes, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Keats (Paperback)
A well-received gift to my daughter-in-law who has always loved Keats' poetry and will enjoy this excellent biography of the man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Keats
John Keats by Nicholas Roe
£8.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews