Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action cam for hi-fi enthusiasts
The main bias of this action camera seems to be in camera technology, at the expense of usability. Whether you want to go for this depends on your priorities. The GoPro Hero3 Black may out-perform this camera in some areas, but do keep in mind the cost difference between the two.

I personally prefer the elongated form of this camera. Someone else may prefer the...
Published 17 months ago by Skaven252

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sony HDR-AS15 looks nice but doesn't do what it says on the box
Hi Everyone.
I purchased the HDR-AS15 action cam before going to the Maldives. The specific purpose was for videoing during diving. I liked the shape of the Sony, because it fits neatly in the palm of the hand, which should allow for great angle shots while diving - as opposed to the GoPro, which is less ergonomic from this point of view. The Sony underwater case...
Published 14 months ago by James Hill


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action cam for hi-fi enthusiasts, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony HDRAS15 Sports Action Camcorder with Full HD and Wi-Fi - Black (Electronics)
The main bias of this action camera seems to be in camera technology, at the expense of usability. Whether you want to go for this depends on your priorities. The GoPro Hero3 Black may out-perform this camera in some areas, but do keep in mind the cost difference between the two.

I personally prefer the elongated form of this camera. Someone else may prefer the box form factor.

NOTE: I'm not an action man - I'm using a pair of these to shoot ultrawide FOV stereoscpic footage. I don't have insights on the action/field usage of this camera.

Pros:
+ Sharpest image in the market, with up to 170 degrees FOV
+ Best, least noisy low light performance in the market thanks to the back-lit sensor
+ Very clean high quality stereo sound (by action camera standards), both from the internal microphones and the external input (which also takes stereo!). The noise floor is fair enough - for an action camera.
+ With the latest firmware update, it can shoot 1080P at 60 frames per second. 720p 120fps slow motion mode also available (this requires daylight due to short exposure).
+ Surprisingly good digital image stabilization (limited to 120 degrees FOV) - among the better ones I've seen.
+ Smooth white balance / exposure adaptation. No sudden jumps. Works well for long time lapses too.

Cons:
- Very poor mountability. The camera itself is impossible to mount on anything on its own due to its rounded shape and the lack of a tripod screw on the chassis. It comes with a waterproof housing with a tripod screw - and that's it. All other mounting accessories need to be purchased separately.
- The external inputs/outputs are located in the bottom of the camera, making them inaccessible if the camera is mounted in any way (except upside down - good luck finding a suitable accessory)
- Applies heavy dynamics limiting/compression to the sound to maximize the perceived volume. This is OK for direct use but not good for post processing. It sounds pumpy and clips easily if it gets a loud signal. (most users won't care - I do)
- Inconsistent manufacturing quality - some specimens may have a slightly mis-aligned lens which can give a blurry image in one of the corners of the image (also noted by Techmoan) - this is not the Zeiss quality I would expect. Make sure to check that the camera's picture is sharp all over and if not, be prepared to return it for a new specimen.

Other points:
* The color range is a bit vivid, making the sky very blue. You may whether like it this way, or not. It's a bit 'colder' in tone than the GoPro. However these can be graded easily in post.
* Charges via micro USB. Comes with a cable, but not with a charger. The charging indicator is a tiny light in the bottom under the lid.
* With the new firmware, you can change the on-board speaker sound settings, to either get the loud feedback you want, or make it quiet for time-lapses.
* Be prepared to purchase a MicroSD (or the Sony proprietary equivalent) with this camera - it doesn't come with one. The card cradle is not designed to only allow iserting the card the right way around, which may lead to a bit of confusion. Even the right way around the camera may not always recognize the card until you try again.
* The bottom lid that protects the external inputs/outputs tends to get in the way and is flimsy. I removed it permanently by unscrewing the bottom panel.
* There is a(n expensive, bulky) cradle accessory available, that turns this camera into a tripod-mountable camcorder with a viewfinder.
* The recently introduced AKA-SF1 skeleton frame offers new mounting options, which leave the inputs accessible.
* The slow white balance adaptation is good for avoiding flicker, but if the footage frequently changes between indoors and outdoors you may have moments where the white balance is off for quite a while as the camera slowly adapts.

Possible alternative: Braun Sixzero (similar price range; similar form factor but more practical: has a viewfinder screen and a tripod screw on the body; poor sound quality, not as good picture quality; narrower FOV; comes included with a good set of mounts)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony AS 15 review., 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony HDRAS15 Sports Action Camcorder with Full HD and Wi-Fi - Black (Electronics)
Amazing.
My mate has the Go Pro 3 Silver and we were both waiting to compare the two,
I have to say the Sony is better, what stands it apart is the Steady Shot and video
quality. delivery was a day earlier than quoted so well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 1 Aug 2013
By 
shaun@favell.co.uk (Retford, Notts. UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony HDRAS15 Sports Action Camcorder with Full HD and Wi-Fi - Black (Electronics)
I have been considering an action cam for a while and almost bought the leading competition's top model (black edition) until I saw this. The quality is fantastic, and after installing the v3 update found more video options and features than advertised. 1080p 60fps for one. The camera and case feel well made at half the price. No freezing.

The number one complaint about this cam is it's mounting options. This simply is not true. Sony designed the camera to be tripod mount compatible meaning it is not restricted to specific aftermarket mounts. There are loads of different mounts available at excellent prices. I bought an awesome ram mount at a bargain from Amazon.

The live view mode through the playmemories app is almost instant. No 4 second delays.

The enclosed instructions are not easy to follow, but there are plenty of online tutorials. The menu is easy once you get the hang of it.

I'm glad I chose this over the competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than gopro, 5 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony HDRAS15 Sports Action Camcorder with Full HD and Wi-Fi - Black (Electronics)
that camera is so good, i would say it films better than GoPro, and the best part is, it is cheaper than GoPro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent choice, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony HDRAS15 Sports Action Camcorder with Full HD and Wi-Fi - Black (Electronics)
Excellent camera it is a bit behind in matter of mounts from competition buts what is worth is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great camcorder, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony HDRAS15 Sports Action Camcorder with Full HD and Wi-Fi - Black (Electronics)
only one issue is the fogging only used with the waterproof case and it was only used on sunny days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality results and a lot of fun, 16 Aug 2013
By 
Martin (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony HDRAS15 Sports Action Camcorder with Full HD and Wi-Fi - Black (Electronics)
There is no doubt that this is well designed for the job in-hand, ie an action cam. The buttons and menu are not immediately user friendly, but you can very quickly get the hang of what is quite a simple set of functions. Simple but they work well and the results are of satisfying quality.
Two things to be aware of:
1) Mounting the action cam is a challenge. For cycling it works well strapped to the top of my helmet but you are aware of the extra weight. Be prepared to improvise because the mounting hardware is simple, effective but not very flexible. A tripod mount sounds attractive but can be wobbly under action unless you have a very firm clamp arrangement.
2) You will suffer from condensation inside the sealed housing. Anti-fog paper is expensive. Try silica gel sachets as an alternative.
If you are prepared to fiddle and improvise with the mounting arrangements then you will not be disappointed by this device. Buy and enjoy. It may even motivate you to do more of what you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars action camera for 40th birthday, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony HDRAS15 Sports Action Camcorder with Full HD and Wi-Fi - Black (Electronics)
Bought this fpr my son't 40th birthday. Spent a lot of time looking at reviews and specifications. The stabilasation system was the clincher , makes for much better videos without your eyes getting tired with all the shaking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A definite rival to the GoPro; don't overlook this action camera if you are looking for one., 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony HDRAS15 Sports Action Camcorder with Full HD and Wi-Fi - Black (Electronics)
I wrote loads for this review, so I thought I'd share just the summary points instead and save you all the hassle of reading an essay.

Video - 8/10
Excellent quality; Crisp image with great levels of contrast and brightness. Handles light changes very well and shakiness even without the digital image stabilization turned on. Plenty of video modes to choose from and two viewing angles available allowing for a wide field of view. Firmware update gives you 1080p @ 60FPS PS mode. Almost all video modes are superb quality with no noise or interlacing issues on playback. The 720p @ 120FPS slow motion mode is the only exception to that. Noticeable difference in quality compared to other modes and not essential when you have 720p @ 60FPS slow motion mode anyway.

Sound - 9/10
Fantastic sound quality; the best I have heard from an action camera yet! Sound quality is very clear and crisp, even in the waterproof case.

Photos - 2/10
Your mobile phone will most likely take better quality images. Photography with most action cameras is difficult because when you are in the middle of the action, access to the camera may be difficult and using a remote control or remote control application to take the shot means you're holding onto another device anyway. So you may as well just get a decent camera and a photographer or just take stills from the footage captured. If you are adamant you want good photos too, get the AS30 due out at the end of this month, it has a 12MP camera instead.

Accessories (inc. PlayMemories app) - 7/10
Good quality accessories including helmet mounts, tripod mounts, head mounts and cases are available.Both head cam mounts have a single adjustable strap. Waterproof case can be easily removed from its strap but the skeleton case can't (not without a screwdriver). Pitch cannot be adjusted and you are limited with strap positioning before it slips off your head.

Chest mount is not available (but due in October 2013 according to Sony's website) which most other action cameras have, however, because of the cameras form factor and the pitch adjustment already available on the tripod mounts, I feel a shoulder mount which uses the existing tripod mounts would be a better solution. Waterproof case suffers same problem as the rest, it fogs up. Sony's anti-fog patches are quite pricey, I'd consider looking for silica strips since there is little space left in the case when the cameras in it.

Ease of use - 9/10
No issues changing video modes, attaching it to computers and TVs (via USB or HDMI), accessing footage, updating firmware, using remote control application and inserting and removing the battery and SD cards. Most of the options are self-explanatory but it is worth briefly looking at the diagram in the manual to know how to get to the options you want.

Battery Life - 7/10
Battery life is above average, allowing for several hours of constant filming but maybe an extra hour or two when filming intermittently and the PlayMemories remote control app is not in use. When I spent 3 - 4 hours of playing with camera settings, using the PlayMemories app and intermittent filming, only half the battery life was drained. Battery charge rate is quite good, took around 4 hours to charge fully.

Price - 8/10
At time of writing, I paid around £250 (£185 for the camera as Amazon were doing an offer on it, probably due to the HDR-AS30 release coming soon) which included waterproof case, skeleton case, tripod mount and a 32GB SD card. Competitive price for a bit of kit that is up there with the GoPro Hero HD 2 and Hero HD 3.

So, overall, a rival to the GoPro camera series with competitive pricing and should not be overlooked if you are considering an action camera. Also, unless you need variable FPS, geo-tagging, a better still camera and support for Micro SDXC format cards, then stick with the AS15, otherwise, grab yourself a HDR-AS30.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb bit of kit, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony HDRAS15 Sports Action Camcorder with Full HD and Wi-Fi - Black (Electronics)
Got for friend to record his donkey carting outings ! Excellent quality camera and good price from Amazon - in fact got camera and mounting accessories batteries charger etc for less than local store selling just camera only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews