Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Classic Musicals in Blu-ray format
The product description gives brief synopses of these classic musical films. The Blu-ray presentations are first class, particularly South Pacific and Sound Of Music. I thought some additional information may be useful when considering purchase.

1) Chitty Chitty Bang Bang: Produced by Albert Broccoli. Songwriters Richard M. and Robert B. Sherman did the score...
Published 15 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three films are missing 3 blu rays worth of extras
This is fine for someone just starting out on musicals or those not bothered about extras, however if you buy The Sound of Music, South Pacific & West Side Story separately you get an extra blu ray of extras with each, this is what you miss with this set:

South Pacific

"Road Show" version of the film
Audio commentary by film historian Richard...
Published 4 months ago by Wilfrith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Classic Musicals in Blu-ray format, 20 Jan. 2014
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The product description gives brief synopses of these classic musical films. The Blu-ray presentations are first class, particularly South Pacific and Sound Of Music. I thought some additional information may be useful when considering purchase.

1) Chitty Chitty Bang Bang: Produced by Albert Broccoli. Songwriters Richard M. and Robert B. Sherman did the score. Screenplay by Roald Dahl based on an Ian Fleming children's book. Excellent cast (Dick Van Dyke, Sally Ann Howes, Lionel Jeffries) and production team. Songs include 'Me Ol' Bamboo', 'Toot Sweet', 'Hushabye Mountain', 'Truly Scrumptious' and the catchy title Oscar nominated title song. Choreography by Mark Breaux and Dee Dee Wood.

2) Sound Of Music: Production and direction by Robert Wise. Stunningly photographed by Ted McCord. Screenplay by Ernest Lehman. Cast includes Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, Peggy Wood. Songs by Rogers and Hammerstein include: 'The Sound of Music', 'Praeludium', 'Morning Hymn and Allelulia', 'Maria', 'I Have Confidence in Me, 'Sixteen Going On Seventeen', 'Climb Every Mountain, 'Lonely Goatherd', 'Do-Re-Mi', 'Something Good', 'Edelweiss', 'So Long Farewell and 'My Favourite Things'. Choreography by Marc Breaux and Dee Dee Wood.

3) Fiddler On The Roof: Director Norman Jewison, chorography by Tom Abbott, Robbins, and Sammy Bayes. Cast includes Topol, Norma Crane, Molly Picon and Rosalind Harris. Written by Joseph Stein. Score by Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick. Songs and numbers include 'Fiddler on the Roof', 'Tradition', 'Matchmaker, Matchmaker', 'If I Were A Rich Man', 'Sabbath Prayer', 'To Life', 'Sunrise, Sunrise', 'Do You Love Me?', 'Far From the Home I Love' and 'Anatevka'.

4) West Side Story: Co-directors Robert Wise and Robbins. Choreography by Jerome Robbins. Screenplay by Ernest Lehman. Cast includes Natalie Wood, Richard Beymer, Rita Moreno, Russ Tamblyn, George Chakiris, Ned Glass. Musical directors Saul Chaplin and Johnny Green, orchestration Sid Ramin and Irwin Kostal. Numbers include 'Prologue', 'Jet Song', 'Somethings Coming', 'Dance At The Gym', 'Maria', 'America', 'Tonight', 'I Feel Pretty', 'One Hand, One Heart', 'A Boy Like That', 'I Have a Love', 'Somewhere' and 'Roof Dance'.

5)South Pacific: Directed by Joshua Logan, screenplay by Paul Osborn adapted from two stories by James Michener's Tales of South Pacific (1947). Cast includes Mitzi Gaynor, Rosanno Brazzi, Juanita Hall, John Kerr, France Nuyen and Ray Walston. Music by Rodgers and Hammerstein (the latter wrote the stage script adapted by Osborn). Choreography by Leroy Prinz. Numbers include 'Dites-Moi', 'A Cockeyed Optimist', 'Twin Soliloquies', ' Some Enchanted Evening', 'Bloody Mary', 'There is Nothing Like a Dame', 'Bali Ha'i', 'I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Out Of My Hair', 'I'm In Love with a Wonderful Guy', 'Younger Than Springtime', 'Happy Talk', 'Honey Bun', 'You've Got To Be Careful Taught', 'This Nearly Was Mine' and 'My Girl Back Home'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was the deal of the year!, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I got 5 of the greatest musicals ever made for the sum of £6.25! It was a no brainer. They're not vanilla disc either. They all come with a raft of extra features (I'm not sure how the extras compare to the single disc versions) and have been remastered to a great clarity of picture and sound. We've only watched Chitty Chitty Bang Bang but the colour and sound were awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Singing from the rooftops, 29 Dec. 2012
By 
P. Kennard (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The films themselves are well-known and don't really need detailing here, this review is about the Blu-rays themselves.
All of the films have received careful attention and all look excellent in HD. South Pacific in particular looks better than I can ever remember seeing it. Sound is good and there are a few good extras along the way.

A note of caution: these are all single disc editions of the films, meaning you lose a number of extras from the individual releases of Sound of Music, West Side Story and South Pacific. While this is not critical, it is annoying to lose the 'roadshow' version of South Pacific, while the DVD of Sound of Music disappearing means I might need to upgrade my mother's DVD player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three films are missing 3 blu rays worth of extras, 29 Nov. 2014
By 
This review is from: Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is fine for someone just starting out on musicals or those not bothered about extras, however if you buy The Sound of Music, South Pacific & West Side Story separately you get an extra blu ray of extras with each, this is what you miss with this set:

South Pacific

"Road Show" version of the film
Audio commentary by film historian Richard Barrios
"Passion, Prejudice and South Pacific: Creating An American Masterpiece" full-length documentary (94:05)
"Making Of South Pacific" original featurette (14:01)
"60 Minutes Exclusive: The Tales of the South Pacific" TV special with Diane Sawyer and writer James Michener (22:25)
"South Pacific on the Screen - A Perfect Hit" Fox Movietone News clip (1:20)
"State Department Confers High Honor on South Pacific" Fox Movietone News clip (0:52)
4 "Vintage Stage Excerpts" performed by original broadway stars Mary Martin and Ezio Pinza (9:38):
- "I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Outa My Hair"
- "Finale"
- "Some Enchanted Evening"
- "A Wonderful Guy"
Mitzi Gaynor screen test (6:51)
Theatrical trailer (2:43)

West Side Story

"A Place for Us: West Side Story's Legacy" documentary
- Play All (29:28)
- Creation and Innovation (15:09)
- A Timeless Vision (14:19)
"West Side Memories" documentary (55:55)
Storyboard to Film Comparison Montage (4:50)
Trailers:
- Play All (11:50)
- Original Theatrical Trailer (3:57)
- Original Issue Trailer (3:54)
- Reissue Trailer (3:58)
- Animated Trailer (2:04)

Sound of Music

- A City of Song -- Virtual Map of Filming Locations in Salzburg, Austria. Blending graphics, movie scenes, archival footage and high-def images, take the ultimate tour of this Austrian city to see locations used in the film along with places linked to the real von Trapp family.
- Musical Stages: Creating The Sound of Music -- All New Interactive "Backlot Tour" with In-Depth Featurettes on the Songs, the Stage Show & Movie, the Film and Sound Restoration and the Real-Life von Trapp Family
- Vintage Rodgers & Hammerstein and The Sound of Music Programs
- Screen Tests, Rare Treasures, Interviews, Photo Galleries & More!

(for full list see DVDCompare)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic musicals., 12 Sept. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great value collection of great musicals. I compared this copy of FIDDLER with a single blu-ray purchased elsewhere and it contains just as many extras as the other one. I don't have duplicates of the other 4 so can't compare them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Musicals indeed, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great films and great offer as a part of 'March Madness sale'!
Loved the packaging -the fact that each film housed in a separate case makes this release a cool box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Two of the discs don't even work! I bought ..., 10 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Two of the discs don't even work! I bought this a while ago but only just got round to watching them and I've watched two films that are ok but the two I wanted to watch only have music on the discs and no picture whatsoever. It's my own fault for leaving it late to send back and it's definitely the discs that don't work as I've put them in different blu ray players and it's still the same. Rip off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great boxset
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great package, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
5 Classics perfect picture and sound. My Mother loves it. Bluray experience was her first and I think she will neber look back again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Musicals - 5 Film Collection [Blu-ray] [1958] [Region Free]
Used & New from: £29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews