Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting read
This book was actually written in 1902, a young homeless man, with no money and too proud to beg had spent 3 weeks drifting, he eventually tried stealing food, but was caught and sentenced to 15 years in San Quentin prison, he wrote this book when he was eventually released, and this story is a warts and all, story, about the violent and often sadistic way prisoners were...
Published 23 months ago by gayle

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read....
Interesting read this...just goes to show how far we've come in a hundred years. There's a lot of errors in the formatting of this book and it can get a bit annoying at times, but overall a good read. I definitely recommend for a good cheap read!
Published 22 months ago by paulnocte


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very interesting read, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: my life in prison (Kindle Edition)
This book was actually written in 1902, a young homeless man, with no money and too proud to beg had spent 3 weeks drifting, he eventually tried stealing food, but was caught and sentenced to 15 years in San Quentin prison, he wrote this book when he was eventually released, and this story is a warts and all, story, about the violent and often sadistic way prisoners were kept in those days, some of the things you have to read through twice, because you think to your self did "I really read that?".

Straight jackets that we all know about, were in those days pieces of canvas that went from neck to feet, and once you were in them there was no way of moving your body, you were kept in them for days weeks, even months at a time, they were never cleaned, your excrement was in there with you, for as long as you had them on. The dungeons still had the same punishments of centuries ago being hung by your thumbs in shackles, living on one sip of water and one piece of bread a day.

He brings up the old argument of the death penalty, ok its an eye for an eye system, but as he says it was only the poor that couldn't afford a wizz kid lawyer that got the penalty, the rich always got life, or a sentence for manslaughter, as he states, if it is to make an example of a person, by giving them the death sentence, then why do people still murder?

My only complaint was the transcript of the book was very poor, there were a lot of words and sentences that you had to figure out for yourself, it did take me a long time to read because of this, but truthfully this book could have been written yesterday, it raises the same issues, and arguments that it raises over a hundred years later, Why throw someone in prison, when prison is meant to reform people, if it is to reform people then why not teach them a trade, instead of locking them up for 23 hours a day, and making them even angrier against the system that put them in there. He wrote that over a hundred years ago, and it is still being argued today. An excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read...., 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: my life in prison (Kindle Edition)
Interesting read this...just goes to show how far we've come in a hundred years. There's a lot of errors in the formatting of this book and it can get a bit annoying at times, but overall a good read. I definitely recommend for a good cheap read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frank and honest, brutal account, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: my life in prison (Kindle Edition)
A disturbing read. Very informative and certainly worth a look but not for the faint hearted. The copy had a lot of typographical errors which was frustrating but I would still recommend this book if you want a good insight into the historical prison system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars frightening cruel, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: my life in prison (Kindle Edition)
But very interesting the incredible punishment for minor offences and even when released the prisoners are still paying for there crime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars have a look, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: my life in prison (Kindle Edition)
A good read up to a point then it becomes a bit long winded, but saying that a good insight to prison life in 1905 and worth a read, could do with benefited and proof read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: my life in prison (Kindle Edition)
Not too impressed with this book as it felt rather disjointed and for me a little difficult to follow the life-lines. I think the film might fill in the blank spaces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: my life in prison (Kindle Edition)
An interesting book that tells how tough life in prison back in the early 19th century. Gives what appears to be a fair account of real life in prison. Only issue is some of the text either missing or wrong spellings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars intreesting read, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: my life in prison (Kindle Edition)
A great insight into life in one of the hardest prisons life was life then long sentence for doing very little
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars boring, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: my life in prison (Kindle Edition)
Just couldnt get into this book, kept having another go but found it boring, nothing much to say about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars NOT MY TYPE OF BOOK, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: my life in prison (Kindle Edition)
I STRUGGLED WITH THIS BOOK TILL I GOT ABOUT HALF WAY THROUGH IT BUT IN THE END I HAD TO GIVE IN AND DELETE IT FROM MY KINDLE, SORRY BUT I THOUGHT IT MAY HAVE BEEN A BIT MORE INTERESTING THAN IT WAS,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

my life in prison
my life in prison by Donald Lowrie
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews