Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 November 2012
This is an excellent series presented by Sam Dunn and shown on Sky Arts here in the UK. There are 11 episodes covering the history of hard rock and heavy metal and its fragmentation into various sub genres. Even a long series like this is hard pushed to be totally comprehensive on such a vast topic and there are one or two obvious omissions (presumably due to artist availability). I'm sure everyone will also have a personal favourite that didn't make the cut for editorial reasons. Nevertheless I think the scope of the series is quite breathtaking and taken as a whole it is a considerable achievement. Perhaps most importantly, if you're a fan of rock and metal, it is an extremely enjoyable and often fascinating series. Running time is 8hrs 15 mins spread over either 3 DVDs or 2 Blu-rays. IMPORTANT NOTE: The Amazon.com reviews from the USA refer to this series being on DVD-R. This is NOT the case in the UK. These are proper authored DVD and Blu-ray discs in top notch metallic finish packaging. Both DVD and Blu-ray are region free and will play in the US too.
77 comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Presenter Sam Dunn takes a scholarly look at heavy metal, frequently using terms such as "genre" and "sub genre" to explore the history and progression of metal. Yes, metal heads are ridiculed, but its music which has outlasted most other recent musical trends. Lots of memories of growing up with metal/heavy rock/whatever you want to call it, and something that can be watched over and over.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Rock & Metal fans have had the mickey extracted out them in TV presentations especially in the UK..sly asides,little digs we've had to weather.We all have a good idea who these people are!
This is presented throughout with knowledge,love,dignity & passion.
Keep on Rockin'!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
I saw anthropologist and metal fan Sam Dunn's movie "Metal: A Headbanger's Journey" a few years ago and loved it. In this series he's taken the 'Family Tree of Metal' he developed in the film to examine the genre, and set out to find out how each of its major branches (thrash, grunge, nu metal, shock rock, power metal, prog metal, NWOBHM and more) came into being. With a strong reputation as a sympathetic film maker, he was able to open a lot of doors and attempt to create a definitive history of metal. He's done a bang-up job. The sheer number of interviews carried out for the series is impressive (over 300), and most of the folks he talks to are able to cast light on different aspects of the music, the industry, and the people involved.

Metal is not known for its shy and retiring types or for its self restraint; even if you're not into the music you'll find it fascinating to see how metal's different stars have fared with the passage of time, as well as how they relate to Dunn and his film crew. The footage of Dunn setting up each interviews is telling - who makes eye contact, who doesn't? Who opens up, and who stays rigidly in their stage persona? Some, like Lemmy and Aerosmith's Tom Hamilton come across as affable older and wiser hands with a sense of perspective; others, like Maiden's Bruce Dickinson are able to chat to Dunn as an intellectual equal. And then there's Ted Nugent...

Highly recommended. If you know a metalhead, or someone with metal tendencies, make sure they see this series. They will love you for it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
sam dunn plays a blinder in this 3-disc set. Metal evolution is well researched and put together using all the sub genres of rock/metal to make an (encyclopaedia) documentary series to appeal to most tastes of this form of music. Good interviews with many protagonists who put metal on the map of modern music (Sabbath, motorhead, priest ,ronnie james dio, metallica,maiden etc). No ac/dc, ufo, lizzy though.
Would of liked to seen an episode about southern rock/boogie-skynyrd, 38 special ,molly hatchet- but maybe next time.
Overall if you are new to hard rock/metal this is a useful set to have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
A really interesting documentary series. I learnt a lot about some of metal's more fringe sub-genres and, somehow, this documentary made nu-metal interesting. Wish they would have looked into some more extreme metal genres (though the thrash episode is excellent) but as a historical documentary and sociological study of the bands and culture of metal it's extraordinary. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Bringing all the different labels of Rock together, this is a well worked documentary, loads of members of bands adding their comments, so whatever type of rock you are into, there will be something on these DVD's to interest you....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
A great insight into the world of metal and its many sub-genres. Has interviews with lots of the biggest names in the metal world and teaches you more about the metal world than you thought you knew while playing some great music during the show.

Must buy for fans of metal music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
I bought this based on viewing and really enjoying one episode (#10). I'm working my way through this series which traces the history of Heavy Metal music and investigates the various offshoot genres that have appeared (and disappeared). I must say that I've thoroughly enjoyed what I have watched thus far being the first 6 episodes (plus the aforementioned #10) and the first 15 minutes of the 7th about 'Thrash Metal'. This last one will particularly interest me as a drummer, as there is a look at the use of double bass/kick drums in metal music. Sam Dunn is a very good presenter and interviewer and obviously has the trust and regard of most of his interviewees. There are some very interesting insights given especially with late legends such as Ronnie James Dio and Jon Lord which are now especially poignant. I especially appreciate the insight of others such as Joe Elliot (Def Leppard), Bruce Dickinson, Steve Harris (both Iron Maiden), Ian Paice, Roger Glover (both Deep Purple), Lemmy Kilmeister (Motorhead), Ted Nugent, Yngwie Malmsteen, Rob Halford (Judas Priest), Glenn Hughes, David Coverdale & Alice Cooper among many others too numerous to name.

I grew up in the 70's on traditional heavy & prog rock e.g. Deep Purple, Led Zeppelin, Wishbone Ash, Status Quo, Uriah Heep, Foghat, Thin Lizzy & ELP (though sadly not Black Sabbath). I lost track of the genre along the way so wasn't exposed to NWOBHM groups like Iron Maiden & Motorhead et al until the last few years... Iron Maiden's twin lead guitars remind me very much of Wishbone Ash and Thin Lizzy but faster and more dynamic.

Watching this series has been an education, which is a key thing for me as I like to learn something new in a rock music documentary, even in my advancing years. It has enabled me to understand and appreciate the newer genres better than before. While I'm not into the thrashier, growlier aspects of metal, I can appreciate the talent it requires to achieve such levels of musicianship. My son loves to listen to metal so in a lot of ways our music conversations will potentially become even more enlightening.

So even if you're not particularly a metal fan, it's still a lot of fun to watch even for the casual observer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2013
Bought as a last minute birthday present for husband as I had accidently deleted it from the sky box. Came the day before needed. Thanks. What else can you say, it's heavy metal! He loves it, that's the main thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)