Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Light
This light was bought as a security light for our farm and also to light up the yard when we need to go out there during the night. It gives an excellent light especially considering the low wattage bulb. Its sensor movement detector is very efficient.
Published 22 months ago by Mrs. Pauline Knight

versus
51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Neat little flood light ( while it lasted)
This review was edited on 29th June 2014 so please read last paragraph thanks!

If - like me- you are accustomed to cheap halogen PIR floodlights which rust, blow bulbs, crack their lenses, fill up with water and never seem to last more than a couple of years this lamp comes as a bit of a revelation. To begin with, it's less than half the size of the old halogen...
Published 16 months ago by monkeyspank


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Neat little flood light ( while it lasted), 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Low Energy Saving Security Flood Light PIR Sensor Movement Detector Floodlight LED Only uses 10w but gives 100w Light SMD LED Outdoor Home Floodlamp Detects Motion Wall mounted Garden House or Business use. (Electronics)
This review was edited on 29th June 2014 so please read last paragraph thanks!

If - like me- you are accustomed to cheap halogen PIR floodlights which rust, blow bulbs, crack their lenses, fill up with water and never seem to last more than a couple of years this lamp comes as a bit of a revelation. To begin with, it's less than half the size of the old halogen floodlights. You don't realise this when you are looking at the photo. It's quite "dinky" and a LOT less ugly. The lamp and bracket have a nice powder coating on them which give it a feel of quality. When fitted, it is remarkably unobtrusive.
In use, it gives adequate light. Ours is fitted above a (suburban) driveway and the light it gives is perfectly acceptable. It's hard to compare the light output to anything else, because this is an LED light and it gives a very cold, clear light. Obviously it's not going to be as bright as a 300W halogen floodlight. I'd say it is broadly similar to the light output of a "clear" 100W incandescent lamp.
The seller's description of this item implies that there is 3 year manufacturer's warranty and that the unit should last 30 years! (?) Without wishing to question either of these statements, if this lamp is still working in 2043 I'll be even MORE highly chuffed. TOP TIP; don't be too quick to put the ladder away. It took me 3 nights to get the day/night settings correct.

Unfortunately this lamp has now FAILED completely after 10 months of operation. So disappointing, and not quite the "30 years" promised. After checking fuse, power supply etc I took it apart on my workbench and it is the actual LED lamp which has failed. But of course- unlike normal floodlights- you can't just replace the lamp. So off to the landfill it goes. Money down the drain. I accept I might have been unlucky; It was good while it lasted but I definitely wouldn't want another one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Been operational for a 8 months & 4 failures out of 5 - Not weatherproof, 12 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Low Energy Saving Security Flood Light PIR Sensor Movement Detector Floodlight LED Only uses 10w but gives 100w Light SMD LED Outdoor Home Floodlamp Detects Motion Wall mounted Garden House or Business use. (Electronics)
Bright enough for driveway and detection is pretty good. Originally I gave this 4 stars, as with all PIR systems, the setting dials are difficult to read when in position (why on earth cant they put them on the side & label clearly? Its difficult to read when the PIR is tilted down).

On the back of this I've just purchased 5 more of these to replace all PIRs around the house perimeter. That should show up any MTBF issues with 6 in play.

Update after 8 months use: Dropped to one star as 4 out of 6 units in total have failed so far
1. replaced as was defective on installation - timer not operating so light stayed on for only a few secs
2. replaced another which stopped working after a couple of months - I think water is getting in the infrared section so it wasn't weatherproof
3. the replacement to (1) has subsequently just failed (month 5) with the same fault as (2) so clearly weatherproofing is a major issue.
4. the replacement from (2) has just failed at month 8.

After 1 year's use a further three have failed (one being a replacement to an earlier defective one). That makes 7 failures out a total of 6 purchased. Interestingly the only original one still working is the very first I purchased so guess this is a quality control problem in manufacturing. So score out of 6 = minus 1 ! Not surprising they have dumped the price to half what it was - if the above 6 purchases are anything to go by its still not worth the effort.

Problem seems to be with the infrared detector as if you bypass it the lamp still works.

I can't fault the Hobby Store company though as on complaining in cases 1, 2 & 3 I got a replacement with no questions asked. However had to return the faulty lamps & got refunded postage (no refund for my wasted time or the electricians charges though).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy it, it isn't reliable, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Low Energy Saving Security Flood Light PIR Sensor Movement Detector Floodlight LED Only uses 10w but gives 100w Light SMD LED Outdoor Home Floodlamp Detects Motion Wall mounted Garden House or Business use. (Electronics)
I bought 2 of these in August to replace 2 existing security lights on my garage, one at the front to protect the garage and one at the rear to protect the greenhouse / shed. The original had high Wattage halogen bulbs fitted.
I was tempted by the LED low energy lights which they claim can last years (they probably can) and, once fitted, although the lights were dimmer than the previous lights they were more than adequate brightness for what I needed, - what a saving on energy!
That was not the problem though. Come October and the darker nights the lights started to malfunction and either come on or not come on when triggered and come on for uncontrollable amounts of time from just a quick flash to over 10 minutes if they did work, regardless of settings.
By late November both lights, having developed the same problems at the same time, finally stopped working altogether leaving me in the darkest nights of the winter with reduced security and no outside light if I went down the drive to the bin or to the greenhouse to check the temperature.
As far as I can work out the LED light units are still working due to the way they failed and it is the electronic sensor and control which is most likely failed.
So, having had them working for just 4 months or less I now need to replace them again. I think I will be returning to high power halogen bulbs that actually work for a reasonable service life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Light, 12 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Low Energy Saving Security Flood Light PIR Sensor Movement Detector Floodlight LED Only uses 10w but gives 100w Light SMD LED Outdoor Home Floodlamp Detects Motion Wall mounted Garden House or Business use. (Electronics)
This light was bought as a security light for our farm and also to light up the yard when we need to go out there during the night. It gives an excellent light especially considering the low wattage bulb. Its sensor movement detector is very efficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Good at all, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Low Energy Saving Security Flood Light PIR Sensor Movement Detector Floodlight LED Only uses 10w but gives 100w Light SMD LED Outdoor Home Floodlamp Detects Motion Wall mounted Garden House or Business use. (Electronics)
The first one I received was on all the time day or night. They sent me another which worked for about a month now it flashes on briefly when it detects then won't work at all until the next day.I am an electrician and I can't make it work. It's in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cracking little light, 12 Mar 2013
This review is from: Super Low Energy Saving Security Flood Light PIR Sensor Movement Detector Floodlight LED Only uses 10w but gives 100w Light SMD LED Outdoor Home Floodlamp Detects Motion Wall mounted Garden House or Business use. (Electronics)
Build quality on this light is great. It looks complete waterproof unlike some others. Great value for the price.

One thing to note is the bulb is non replaceable so once it goes it goes. Given that it's led which usually have anything up to a 25yr life span it shouldn't be a problem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great light, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Low Energy Saving Security Flood Light PIR Sensor Movement Detector Floodlight LED Only uses 10w but gives 100w Light SMD LED Outdoor Home Floodlamp Detects Motion Wall mounted Garden House or Business use. (Electronics)
Easy to install, took about 15 mins, looks the part and the light given is fantastic. Will defo buy another !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent light, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Low Energy Saving Security Flood Light PIR Sensor Movement Detector Floodlight LED Only uses 10w but gives 100w Light SMD LED Outdoor Home Floodlamp Detects Motion Wall mounted Garden House or Business use. (Electronics)
I purchased the light to illuminate the area where we park our cars. The motion sensor works well and the amount of light provided is more than adequate for our purposes. A very good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Security light, 30 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Low Energy Saving Security Flood Light PIR Sensor Movement Detector Floodlight LED Only uses 10w but gives 100w Light SMD LED Outdoor Home Floodlamp Detects Motion Wall mounted Garden House or Business use. (Electronics)
This item was delivered in less than 4 days from me ordering it. It was boxed securely and safely. The light is up and working now and it is better than I expected. It is well worth the money and would gladly recommend it to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fails to work after only a few months!, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Suze (Seaton, Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Super Low Energy Saving Security Flood Light PIR Sensor Movement Detector Floodlight LED Only uses 10w but gives 100w Light SMD LED Outdoor Home Floodlamp Detects Motion Wall mounted Garden House or Business use. (Electronics)
I thought the lamp,if a little on the small side, worked well enough until a few weeks ago when we thought the light wasn't working very well and have tested it more thoroughly today (when it is getting dark early and therefore you need a light more than ever!) to discover it has given up after the first tentative flicker. Nor happy at all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews