Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and intelligent book
Bought this for my girlfriend's birthday and she loves it. The book is packed with useful tips and tricks for enjoying life and saving money, something surely everyone would want to do? There are so many tips across a wide range of activities, everyday things we use and even extravagances that don't need to have an extravagant cost!

Everyone who reads this is...
Published 17 months ago by Ben Hogg

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good ideas, but only if you live in the UK
There's quite a lot of information in here, but it's very UK, and even south of England focused - referencing websites etc local to those areas. I live in Spain, so there's only so much of it that was of use to me. It might also benefit from some concise summaries at the ends of each chapter of measures you can take, as otherwise it's quite a lot to take in.
Published 11 months ago by C. McAlister


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and intelligent book, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my girlfriend's birthday and she loves it. The book is packed with useful tips and tricks for enjoying life and saving money, something surely everyone would want to do? There are so many tips across a wide range of activities, everyday things we use and even extravagances that don't need to have an extravagant cost!

Everyone who reads this is guaranteed to save money in one way or another and I bet a lot more than they bought the book for too!

It is also written really well too and I think everyone who reads is guaranteed to learn a few good money-saving tips!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looking after the pennies, 7 Jan 2013
By 
I bought a copy of Ausperity having read (and liked) a lot of Tobin's stuff in the ES.

Quite a lot of people will probably already be aware of some of the strategies she describes in the book - but the key to getting more for your money (IMHO) is knowing them all/using them all together - and this book is the perfect guide to doing just that. I'd imagine a lot of people will read it through once and then keep it on the shelf as a reference.

Parallels with what Martin Lewis is doing are obvious but the MSE website can be a bit daunting and impersonal whereas Ausperity is well structured. It's also worth pointing out that Tobin is also more cunning than Lewis - and that = bigger savings.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars will help you save more than the cost of the book!, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written to keep it interesting. I have turned over many corners of the pages of this book to remind me to go back and put into action the advice and look up apps and websites. Trying to save/make money in simple ways can actually be quite fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Should Own This Book, 23 April 2013
Bought this book at the weekend- read obsessively in 2 days.

A Complete must for every household. Have been a money saver for the last few years (or so I thought!!) reading Lucy's book has given me a whole list of new, fresh ideas to try, websites to visit.

It deals with the 'big stuff' and also every day things which are easily overlooked.

Written in such an easy, organised way- good to keep and dip into

My only regret was coming to the end- hope that she writes a follow up soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book now, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ausperity: Live the Life You Want for Less (Kindle Edition)
This is a must have book , within a couple of hours of buying this book I had saved myself 70 on food straight away and the fact that the book only cost 99p made it even better.
Some of the tips are so obvious you'll wonder why you haven't been doing them for years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Jan 2013
Very prompt delivery. The book contains loads of useful info. I've downloaded many of the apps recommended & I'm having great fun using them. It's written in a friendly & humorous way & is an easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Plenty for seasoned thrifts and newbies!, 23 April 2013
By 
R. WEST-SOLEY "Rich West-Soley" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ausperity: Live the Life You Want for Less (Kindle Edition)
Packed with advice and no fluff or bumph - page after page after page of tips. It's pretty exhaustive, although I still thought a tiny couple of things were missed out (like using train ticket discount sites, for example), although there are ample web links to fill in the gaps.

For seasoned thrifts, there should still be plenty of new information, but for those just starting to get thrifty, it's a real treasure trove. If you need it, the book practically doubles as a course on financial prudence, with sections on managing credit card debt and all sorts. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful read, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ausperity: Live the Life You Want for Less (Kindle Edition)
Lots of good ideas and links to useful websites. I had come across some of the info before but it's very useful to have it all in one place and I like the way it's written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book WILL save you money!, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have saved the price of this book from one tip alone - the free download RedLaser which scans barcodes in shops and compares the prices online. Some of the tips are obvious, but several were new to me, and they are easy to implement and definitely save you money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ausperity, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ausperity: Live the Life You Want for Less (Kindle Edition)
This is a very interesting book and provides lots of useful sites for further information. It offers some thought-provoking ideas and motivating concpets. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in new approaches to saving money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews