Customer Reviews


122 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute 'must-read'!
It's rare that you find a book that delivers humour, drama, tension and emotion in equal measure - I simply could not put this book down and read it from cover to cover in a single go. A very refreshing look at family relationships and how important they are; at disability and how, sadly, our society still discriminates; at love and how it can shine in the most...
Published on 18 Dec. 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable undemanding romance
An enjoyable story about family and romantic relationships with a few good points about society's treatment of disabled people or those who are different. Katie is a believable character and the complexities of Bels, her disabled sister are well observed - she is not stereotyped. It's a shame therefore that some of the other characters are less well developed and slightly...
Published on 5 Jan. 2013 by Nosinabook


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute 'must-read'!, 18 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
It's rare that you find a book that delivers humour, drama, tension and emotion in equal measure - I simply could not put this book down and read it from cover to cover in a single go. A very refreshing look at family relationships and how important they are; at disability and how, sadly, our society still discriminates; at love and how it can shine in the most unexpected places. Your heart goes out to the heroine, Katie; at her hurt and confusion as her parents try to cope with her younger, disabled sister Bells. She relishes her independence, successful career and seemingly perfect boyfriend, but having Bells to stay turns her world upside down. As she rediscovers her love for her sister, she re-evaluates her life and what really matters.
In a sea of clichéd, run-of-the-mill books about modern relationships, this really cuts through with a completely different perspective. I haven't read any of Alice Peterson's other books, but I will search them out and look forward to hearing more of this exciting author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read., 4 Jan. 2013
By 
finalguy (Newport (Wales)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Letters From My Sister (Kindle Edition)
The cover may suggest an easy girly book, but this is so much more, and has a depth to it that isn't immediately obvious.

It is written in a beautiful, descriptive style with wonderful, endearing characters, Bells is definitely not a stereotype disabled person and is inspiring because of it. As with any of Alice's books, the style is as if you are being brought into the story, like a fly on the wall. Combined with an entrancing plot, a great depth of character development and you've got a really great piece of literature - I really really enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original & Funny, 25 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
I loved this book!
The book stars two sisters - Katie and Bells. Bells wasn't born "perfect" and the story charts how their relationship changes when Katie is asked to have Bells to stay.
The characterisation of Bells, who was born with a disability, is done beautifully. Bells is no disabled character cliché thrown into the story to make the other characters look good (in their handling of her). She is the book's star. Alice Peterson has drawn a complex and real character in Bells, whose disability does not define her personality.

At the outset of the book, the "perfect" sister Katie appears to, rather annoyingly, have it all but this is not the case. Having never come to terms with her sister's disability and having been jealous of the time her parents have spent with Bells, the story develops as Katie's relationship with her sister deepens and she begins to learn what's really important in life.

There's lots more going on too. The dialogue is excellent and there are some very funny moments that I could relate to. The character Sam (Katie's flash boyfriend) is a real hoot, who I ended up liking enormously despite first impressions.

This book took me by surprise. It has a depth to it that isn't immediately obvious when you look at the cover or its genre. I wish more books were like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suz, 19 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters From My Sister (Kindle Edition)
A story of how having a sister who's different, can rule you life, depending how you deal with it. Katie doesn't cope well and has a lot of thinking and realization to do when her sister comes to stay. But also in the story is family and relationships. Alice Peterson touches many subjects that are hard to deal with, but she does it brilliantly. Each character is so realistic, there is probably a family like it in your town. I enjoyed this book and felt privileged to get to know Katie and Bell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GREAT READ!!, 10 Jan. 2006
I never really trust reviews so i thought i'd write one as a genuine reader of this book! I really enjoyed reading this book and has helped me look at how people with disabilties are viewed and treated, as i myself have a disabled family member. Some parts really made me feel for the characters like i knew them and finally and ending i really think was appropiate. I give this the thumbs up !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart warming stuff, 29 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
Damned good stuff, a very touching story. Brilliantly written, this book was hard to put down, and I highly recommend this book to anyone. Jamie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an absolute pleasure, 3 Dec. 2006
By 
N. A. Roberts (Frome) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Wonderful endearing characters, Bells is no stereotype disabled person and helped me to look at all disabled people in the eye. The cover may suggest an easy girlie book but this is much more. It is very accessible and easy to read but there is far more to it. The author's other books are quite different (her autobiographical first book was equally inspiring though) but all a great pleasure to read. I cannot wait for her next novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Depth, humour and beautiful style, 5 Aug. 2007
By 
S. J. Critchley "AmsterSam" (Amsterdam, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is written in a beautiful, descriptive style which belies its slightly "chick lit" cover - combine this with an entrancing story and a great depth of character development and you've got a really great piece of literature - I really really enjoyed this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another startlingly perceptive novel, 3 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters From My Sister (Kindle Edition)
A truly original approach to life's dilemmas, some familiar and some many of us may never have to face - don't be surprised to find yourself still reading late at night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Letters From My Sister (Kindle Edition)
What a lovely book fantastic story enjoyed every minute another great book from Alice fantastic author word definitely recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Letters From My Sister
Letters From My Sister by Alice Peterson
£3.65
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews