Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!
I had only read one other Alice Peterson book but liked her style so much I decided to go for this one. It did not disappoint.She portrays her characters so well. She writes about ADHD with such understanding! As a mother of a child who was diagnosed with ADHD, I could hardly breathe while reading what Josie was going through. Oh I do remember dreading phone calls from...
Published 23 months ago by CMP

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cosy read (3.5 stars)
Josie and Finn appear to have it all - good careers, an enviable relationship; however, on closer examination there are cracks beneath the surface. Their six yr old son George suffers from ADHD, and when Josie finds out she is pregnant again she worries how she will cope with another child, and it doesn't help that it seems like it is always her who is left to deal with...
Published on 13 Aug 2012 by little bookworm


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 17 Sep 2012
By 
CMP "Chrispy" (Northampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You, Me and Him (Paperback)
I had only read one other Alice Peterson book but liked her style so much I decided to go for this one. It did not disappoint.She portrays her characters so well. She writes about ADHD with such understanding! As a mother of a child who was diagnosed with ADHD, I could hardly breathe while reading what Josie was going through. Oh I do remember dreading phone calls from school. She must have done so much research. I loved the bit where Emma reports that Nat had 5 people in his car, heartwarming because it made me realise how far my son has come too.
The only bit that jarred for me was where Clarky did not tell Finn the correct time for the swimming. I had Clarky down as so nice, helpful and supportive that I didn't think he would stoop so low. Yes, I was swept along with the plot and the characters. A great read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to relax with., 17 Feb 2008
By 
SJSmith (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You, Me and Him (Paperback)
Nice simple reading. This was easy enough to read over the course of an afternoon curled up on the sofa. It is a story that might be close to quite a few people's hearts. When you have a best friend it can be easy for your partner to be jealous, when that friend is a person of the opposite sex; then it must be all the more difficult. Add in to the equation that one friend is actually in love with the other, the challenges increase.

A book that is very well written with lots of thoughtful moments. There are times when you just want to bang Josie and Finn's heads together and actually Clarky's for that matter. The characters are so well described by Alice Peterson that you really feel like you know them, which for me is exactly what you need in a book describing relationships and the emotions that go with them. This was a pleasure to read because of its simplicity, realism and honesty. An author I would enjoy reading more from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A cosy read (3.5 stars), 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You, Me and Him (Paperback)
Josie and Finn appear to have it all - good careers, an enviable relationship; however, on closer examination there are cracks beneath the surface. Their six yr old son George suffers from ADHD, and when Josie finds out she is pregnant again she worries how she will cope with another child, and it doesn't help that it seems like it is always her who is left to deal with everything. Still at least she always has her best friend Clarky to turn to; however, is Clarky really just a friend? Finn certainly doesn't seem to think so!
My second Alice Peterson book and certainly not to be the last. What I like about Peterson's books is how her stories seem to have a realism to them. You, Me and Him is essentially the story after the 'happy ever after', and charts the everyday problems and misunderstandings in relationships. Finn, Josie and Clarky are all relatable characters, none of them perfect, and the dynamics between them believable. The flashbacks to their younger years are also enjoyable and add to the story, the budding relationship between Josie and Finn serving as a nice contrast to their problems in the present day. I also think Peterson deserves credit for her depiction of a child with ADHD and the daily challenges encountered, as well as the vulnerabilities children with the condition can have, and the lack of understanding society in general still has about it. I rather fell in love with George.
Overall an easy and pleasant read, with more weight than the average chick-lit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You, Me and Him (Kindle Edition)
Another great book by Alice Peterson. I love how each book has a small story about families living with some type of disability but it's not the main story. It makes you stop and think how you prejudge people but without ramming it down your throat. Very cleverly and discreetly done. This was a lovely story about family, friendship and love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You, Me and Him (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book kept me wanting to read more very emotional and sent active storyline. Thank you will be reading more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent read from Alice, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You, Me and Him (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book , such a moving story.
The characters are very well written, little George ADHD which is something I had heard of but never fully understood but have a insight now. Loved the character George and how he interacted with his mother Josie.
Wanted to slap Finn alot of the time.... why do men think it's up to us mums to do 98% of parenting !!

Overall a very well written story, written by a genuinely nice, friendly author Alice Peterson, well done Alice xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a read!, 22 Sep 2013
This review is from: You, Me and Him (Kindle Edition)
This story was a real page-turner! I loved the way Peterson described Josie's son who had ADHD and it was a real eye-opened to that world. I also thought it was excellent how Peterson described Josie's fears and her inevitable turn to Clarky, her best friend. Another feature of the story which totally engrossed me was the repetitive back and forth between the present day and past occurrences such as how Josie and Finn met and Josie and Clarky's friendship. I don't normally like stories which do this moving between time periods, however Peterson did it SO well by being subtle in parts with flashbacks and then more obvious between chapters. I had no idea how the story was going to end which was great (as I am a lover of rom coms and almost inevitably know how it will end!) and that made it one of the best books I've read all year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read !!, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You, Me and Him (Kindle Edition)
its one of those books you cannot put down.great if you can read it in one go but its a no no with kids around!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You, Me and Him (Kindle Edition)
Have just come across this author and this is the second book that I have thoroughly enjoyed. A real yummy box of chocs book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You me and him, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You, Me and Him (Kindle Edition)
fantastic read although have your tissues at the ready as it is a real weepy. would definitely recommend this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You, Me and Him
You, Me and Him by Alice Peterson
2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews