Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Collection, but Probably Not Recommended for Hardcore Pixar Fans
The shorts featured on this DVD are:

Your Friend the Rat [Initially Included with Ratatouille]
Presto [Initially Included with Wall-E]
Burn-E [Initially Included with Wall-E]
Partly Cloudy [Initially Included with Up]
Dug's Special Mission [Initially Included with Up]
Day and Night [Initially Included with Toy Story 3]
Toy Story...
Published 21 months ago by G. Bright

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not worth buying. I *love* pixar, but the ...
Not worth buying.
I *love* pixar, but the 3 things on this blu ray I didn't already have were complete dross.
Published 1 month ago by ijape


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Collection, but Probably Not Recommended for Hardcore Pixar Fans, 18 Nov 2012
By 
G. Bright "chronically sedulous" (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pixar Shorts - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The shorts featured on this DVD are:

Your Friend the Rat [Initially Included with Ratatouille]
Presto [Initially Included with Wall-E]
Burn-E [Initially Included with Wall-E]
Partly Cloudy [Initially Included with Up]
Dug's Special Mission [Initially Included with Up]
Day and Night [Initially Included with Toy Story 3]
Toy Story Toons : Hawaiian Vacation
Toy Story Toons : Small Fry
La Luna [Initially Included with Brave]

You can also find the animatic-like "George and A.J" [From the Up universe] and a couple of Mater's Tales toons "Air Mater" and "Time Travel Mater" [set in the Cars universe]. Additional bonus shorts are four student films that were created by directors at Pixar.

Don't expect to find just 3D animation here. "Your Friend the Rat" and "Day and Night" employ 2D animation techniques as well. This is a real treat for animation fans and animators alike, with insight via both commentary on every single short and the pencil tests of some of the student works.

With all this praise then, why am I saying this DVD probably -isn't- a good idea for true blue Pixar fans to buy? Namely, if you're really into their stuff, you more than likely own every movie they've made. And bar the Toy Story Toons (which I don't know whether they were included on any DVDs) and the Mater shorts (which ended up as part of a separate compilation), all these shorts have shown up as bonuses on the DVDs of the movies that they're associated with. Essentially, you'd just be buying a copy of something you already had.

The student films are a nice touch, of course, but with a (currently) 10 price tag, unless you're like me and don't own all the movies, you might wish to wait until the price drops, rent it or avoid it altogether, because you could end up disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful content but missing one little thing..., 17 Jan 2013
We are die hard Disney fans in our house, our dvd collection is slowly giving way to replacement Blurays (in some cases at least) and Pixar Shorts vol 1 was such a wonderful buy, enjoyed thoroughly by both my daughters but especially the four year old, I didn't hesitate to put vol 2 on her wish list.

Imagine her delight on Christmas morning when she opened it (one among many Blurays we received), then imagine my despair that there is no PLAY ALL option! I cannot turn it on and leave her to it, as I could with vol 1 or a movie, but am called every few minutes or so to come and put on a selected cartoon, not even in sequential order, but picked and chosen with a random description of which cartoon it is she wishes to watch. Luckily I speak toddler so it's not too hard to decipher but the lack of a play all button will leave me seriously considering the purchase of a vol 3 if and when they decide to release one.

In a nutshell - Wonderful content, but if you wanted an easy disk for your kids to sit and watch without much of a disturbance, this isn't the one for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great idea from Pixar, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pixar Shorts - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This collection is fab that Pixar have created, it's fab if your child can't sit through movies that are to long, these short clips are idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is..., 5 Dec 2012
This review is from: Pixar Shorts - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
First up, I'm a huge fan of both Disney and Pixar and the original Shorts Vol 1 is a treasured DVD.

However, what sort of spoils this volume is that, other than the fascinating extras like the commentaries and student stuff, there are only actually three 'proper' shorts on here that have not appeared on other DVDs before. It's strange to say it, but it's almost a shame that the true standalone theatrical shorts on here were included as extras on the film DVDs as it would have made this title an essential first-day purchase had all that material premiered here at once. On the other hand, there are several film-specific shorts (quite a few more than Volume 1 had) that make less sense on here outside of the context of their original DVDs. 'Burn-E' and 'Dug's Special Mission' in particular both kind of rely on you recently having seen their parent films to enjoy them fully, and they flounder slightly presented as pieces in their own right. As a consequence the whole thing is an oddball ragbag that doesn't completely please any particular audience.

So, those who collect the films themselves will find only three bona fide new shorts on here - 'George And AJ' (a 2D-animated affair for 'Up', released on iTunes and more a DVD extra than a short, but welcome nonetheless), 'Time Travel Mater' (a previously unreleased Cars Toon episode aired on the Disney Channel), and 'Small Fry' (a Toy Story Toon released with 'The Muppets'). Of these, only 'Small Fry' is genuinely a true Pixar short film.

Not included on this release are 'The Legend Of Mor'du' (a 'Brave' short available on the released-at-the-same-time-as-this DVD of that film), and 'Partysaurus Rex' (an exclusive Toy Story toon created for the 'Finding Nemo' theatrical re-release), already making this volume incomplete. The non-inclusion of the latter is extraordinarily measly given how little 'new' material is on this set, so we can only assume that, given the announcements of further Toy Story shorts and TV specials, that a standalone 'Toy Story Toons' release - akin to the Cars Toons DVD - is planned somewhere along the line. It's a mess though to have to buy so many full-price releases to mop up a relatively small archive of footage.

You can't really go wrong with a DVD that features 'La Luna', 'Presto', 'Small Fry', 'Partly Cloudy' and 'Day And Night'... but the Disney/Pixar collector will struggle to find reasons to pay full-price. I can't give this DVD a low star rating as the contents themselves are superlative without exception - I just think a bit more forward planning and withholding of the support features from the Wall-E, Up, Toy Story 3, and Brave DVDs (in the same way Small Fry was held back from the Muppets release) would have made this DVD much more essential, not to mention much more of an 'event' title.

It's still the only way to own 'Small Fry' though, which is probably the best reason to pick it up at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but not as good as volume one., 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pixar Shorts - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
My grandchildren and I both loved Volume one in this series and I was a little disappointed with this one initially, but the children weren't. They seem to love this just as much. Some good story telling with excellent animation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pixar Shorts - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
lovely selection of shorts, some better than others but overall a strong product. A nice addition to the first volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pixar V2, 5 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pixar Shorts - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Wanted this for a long time, as V1 was so good. Unfortunately this one is not so good, but still keeps me amused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good viewing, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pixar Shorts - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
My son-in-law wanted this for Christmas as he had already seen the first one. He thoroughly enjoyed it and has watched it a few times already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally brilliant, 8 Jan 2013
By 
Neil H. Smith (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pixar Shorts - Volume 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought for the kids but we loved it too.......better than vol 1. Each short is great. Honestly you owe it to yourself to snap this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun to watch, 6 Jan 2013
a little confusing with regards to the navigation of the films..but on the whole my grandchildren loved the short films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pixar Shorts - Volume 2 [DVD]
Pixar Shorts - Volume 2 [DVD] by Josh Cooley (DVD - 2012)
5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews