Customer Reviews


378 Reviews
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (29)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


265 of 277 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Directors cut review
I know a number of people are trying to decide whether to order the Directors cut from the states, or to make do with the British theatrical cut. It's a little hard to do when you've no idea which is better. Well thankfully ive been able to see the Directors cut version and here's what I think.

Essentially, most of the extra running time is made up of 5 seconds...
Published on 8 July 2009 by DeeJay

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SUPERHERO ACTION, SUB-HERO EDITING
There is a lot of Superhero action in this movie. The who-dun-it aspect is simple to figure out. What really bogs the movie down is the stiff acting by everyone and the ever constant heavy themes of blurring good and evil. I ask you, can the Watchmen really be good guys if they allow Nixon to become president 5 terms and disco music to survive?

The movie does a...
Published 22 months ago by The Movie Guy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TOTAL DISSAPOINTMENT, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
Jd Van Staden (LOUIS TRICHARDT, LIMPOPO South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Watchmen (1-Disc) [DVD] (DVD)
After watching the trailer I couldn't wait to see this film. What a dissapointment. Visually it was good but that's all. The Superheroes are suppose to be upset about the corruption of the world but I don't think there can be anyone more corrupt than themselves. The actual story takes up about twenty minutes of this long, boring, dragged out piece of film. Really not worth the watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars the worst most pointless film ever., 4 Aug. 2009
Directors cut? european dancing nipple edition? Who cares. Do not spend your hard earned cash on this complete pile of old monkey plop. First lets discuss the plot there isnt one. Second, character development you wont care enough about the protaganists to care. Third its overlong and the bad guy looks like Steve Normans uglier brother(if you dont know who he is youve never worn a flouncy shirt and zoots) and its pointless getting it on bluray as the picture is mediocre at best. Now I know people who smoke a pipe are going to poke me in the eye with their pipe stem for saying this but it really is terrible in every way. But if you have insomnia this will guarantee you twelve hours no problems at all atrocious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of Rubbish, 5 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: Watchmen (1-Disc) [DVD] (DVD)
I was expecting a great super hero movie but it lacked in everything but looks. I was hoping for a grown up Justice League but I thought Transformers the Movie (the cartoon) was 100 time better at least you cared about the characters, here they just seem to be cheap imitations of the Saturday Morving TV shows. It starts out a a snails pace and goes downhill from there. All Looks no substance I'm afraid.

If you want decent Super Heros with adult themes may I suggest Justice League Unlimited Season 1.
or if you want live action visually stunning great films then go for the Lord of the Rings movies, grownup fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A very different opinion, 14 Nov. 2009
By 
amcarn15 "amcarn15" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have to admit to being gobsmacked by some of the glowing reviews for this film. It is by far one of the worst, over indulgent and unimaginative films I have ever seen. I've just sat and watched it on Blu-Ray, well..I managed to endure about 100mins of it before I started getting really angry about it. Great for you that rave about it, but that's 100 mins of my life that I won't get back. Dreadful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 45 minutes.........., 26 Aug. 2011
By 
M Cunningham (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Watchmen (1-Disc) [DVD] (DVD)
That's how long we lasted before switching off.

45 minutes of bad acting, poor exposition and a barely comprehensible plot.

The comics may be genre classics but this adaptation proves the view that they are unfilmable.

Might be more enjoyable if you've read the comics, if not you'll probably neither care about or follow what's going on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the masonic meaning,, 10 May 2009
By 
Ben Sims "ben_sims2" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
anyone with a small brain can follow the hidden meanings.you dont have to be a sci fi fan to be interstead in hollywood showing u the truth.some vary high powered people want to show us all,what they plan to do before they do it,555.555.555
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hoodwinked, 30 Oct. 2009
I just bloomin bought this on Blu-Ray and now they release a new version which is 25 mins longer.....I feel ripped off. I will not buy this. Instead i think i will go and download myself a Blu-Ray rip off the internet. Those gowd daym mofos!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Moore or less...?, 27 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Final proof, perhaps, that cult comics really don't work that well as feature films. This tries so very hard, almost too hard but the brief comic-book dialogue is very stiff and awkward when spoken by a real cast. Not to forget the surreal sight of the "heroes" running around a grim and grubby city in awful costumes that look completely ridiculous and swings the whole film into high camp far too often. Unlike the comic they just stand out too much from the rest of the art direction making the central characters look like they've stumbled out of a pantomime show. CGI FX work is variable, some very good and some very dated and poor. In fact dated is quite an apt description, even the graphic novel has dated and the whole thing feels a little past its best. Mention must be given to some of the worst make-up ageing FX ever. Rally awful, but special mention to Nixon's rubber nose! Without doubt the worst prosthetic EVER put on screen. What were they thinking of? Didn't they do a make-up test before shooting day? Alan Moore is right in keeping his distance. This is not a very worthy addition to the Watchmen's memory. It really is NOT a film and should have been left on the page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The unfilmable, 7 Mar. 2009
One of the reasons that Watchmen in unfilmable is because in order to film it you need to constrict the story to a 2-3hr film. The whole magic of Watchmen (the comic book series) is the fine character studies which lead to emotional pull, understanding and depth. Therefore when it comes to suspending disbelief you do so because these fine threads pull the story together and make you accept it.

The film is decent enough entertainment (just as 300 was no more than that) but it's turning an ambition piece of work into caricature, a hollow crab. It's like handing Bosch's The Garden of Earthly Delights over to Rolf Harris and saying "Here, make this in the style of (whatever's made a lot of money at the time)." And, Leonard, poor Leonard, must Hallelujah be used on everything now? What next, a Halifax advert with a man happy to receive his mortgage loan and Hallelujah playing in the background?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 3 Feb. 2013
Visual: 300 visually is a stunning film. The 'crushing' technique is akin to the graphic-novel counterpart and really sets the atmosphere beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Watchmen [Blu-ray] [2009] [US Import]
Used & New from: £56.66
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews