Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From 1938 and the golden age of aviation comes-
-The Rocketeer. The Rocketeer is another wonderful example of the flowering of the graphic novel which began in the 1980's with Moore's Swamp Thing, V for Vendetta, and Watchmen, Frank Miller's Ronin and The Dark Knight Returns, Gilbert & Jaime Hernandez Love & Rockets, and Howard Chaykin's American Flagg, several of which I've reviewed for Amazon. As different from all...
Published on 4 Feb 2010 by Ian Williams

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars A bargain
Excellent value and I'm sure I'll enjoy it but make sure you read it on a big screen. My kindle is on my phone and for some reason this file won't zoom.
Published 25 days ago by Action Figure Theatre


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From 1938 and the golden age of aviation comes-, 4 Feb 2010
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
-The Rocketeer. The Rocketeer is another wonderful example of the flowering of the graphic novel which began in the 1980's with Moore's Swamp Thing, V for Vendetta, and Watchmen, Frank Miller's Ronin and The Dark Knight Returns, Gilbert & Jaime Hernandez Love & Rockets, and Howard Chaykin's American Flagg, several of which I've reviewed for Amazon. As different from all of these as they are from each other, The Rocketeer is a pulp adventure romp which moves from the dry sunny skies of California to the dark underworld of New York and it's a delight from start to finish.

Firstly the art by Dave Stevens is delicate in line, detailed and accurate in its portrayal of the period, wryly humorous, almost unique its depiction of people who look real, and particularly gorgeous in its portrayal of beautiful woman. Betty, the heroine, is modelled on the legendary 1950's glamour and exotic pictures icon Bettie Page. I've no doubt that Stevens, who later became a friend of Paige, did much to bring her back into the limelight again. But I digress, in the unlikely event that you aren't taken with the story, it's impossible that the art will fail to enchant you. It has also been recoloured, in accordance with Stevens' wishes (though tragically he died of leukemia before he could see it), by Laura Martin one of the very top colourists in the business and whose skills have enhanced many graphic stories. Also reprinted are the many covers of the various magazines in which this story appeared.

As for the story itself, stunt pilot Cliff Secord gets his hands on jet pack stolen by Nazis from its inventor who isn't, as one character thinks, Howard Hughes but a very famous character from the pulp magazines of the period. Lots of action ensues with Cliff distracted by his stunning girlfriend and her career as a glamour model. All doesn't end well and Secord chases her to New York to try and prevent her from going to Europe with her sleazy-sophisticate photographer mentor. There he is befriended by another pulp hero with a very sharp nose as dark secrets of Secord's life are brought into sharp threatening life.

I love this book. I love it for its beautiful art. I love it for its high adventure and thrills. I love it for its humour and I love it for its detail and for so many other reasons. And I love it because I have it in this definitive beautiful hardback edition. And I'm pretty sure you will love it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Drawn if Slightly Light, 4 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are moments when reading this collected Rocketeer when the sheer beauty of Dave Stevens' art can take your breath away. There is no denying the Rocketeer looks good. From the re-coloured art to the beautiful hardcover binding. It's clever too. If you know who Doc Savage or The Shadow are, then you could be in for a treat.

The story, like most pre- Dark Knight Returns is relatively light. Even the more adult moments are handled in a very light-hearted fashion.

It's also very short. 8 short issues make for a very thin volume. But it is the complete telling of the tale and exhaustive for it. The whole package is padded out with some additional cover art, which is definitely a bonus.

If you are looking for indepth story telling and complex characters try Watchmen, if you are looking for a beautiful looking bit of pulp - you've found it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful work from a sadly missed artist, 28 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All I can say is buy this book and any other publications by Dave Stevens bought the comics when they came out in the 80s nice to have them all in one book. downside is wish they could made the book larger as other graphic compilations
Have done by other publishers but that's just a personal thing glad I got this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Golden age adventure, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures (Kindle Edition)
This is a wonderful evocation of late 1930's America in comic form with more than a wink and a nod in the direction of the pulp magazines of the period. The artwork is old-style and completely to my taste. It's such a shame that the artist died before his time. We could have had many more thrilling adventures of the man with a rocket strapped to his back. I bought the Kindle version which showed up well on my iPad. By tapping on a frame of the comic it could be enlarged to a degree. My only wish is that the frame could be enlarged to fill the screen in order to appreciate the stunning artwork.

S R Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully drawn retro classic, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Follows the adventures of Cliff Seacourt after he happens upon an experimental rocket propelled back pack .
he runs into Nazis,circus freaks,betty paige ,the shadow and various others.
Set in 1938 there's a host of amusing period style dialogue and of course art deco style architecture all over the comic .
For fans of the film and comic books in general this is a highly recommended good little book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comicbook fiction, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures (Kindle Edition)
Dazzling art from one of America's best graphic artists. There is not much of Dave's work to be had but this is argueably his best.

The Kindle format actually enhances the composition, which can be viewed in more than sufficient detail to fully appreciate this labour of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures (Kindle Edition)
Bought this as a present when it was in a sale and my husband loved it a recommended purchase for anyone who loves graphic novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars simply excellent, 24 Aug 2012
This book is excellent. Stories are so well told and drawn by Stevens who has created a totally real and grounded world for them to take place in.

I love this book, so glad i decided to pick it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greats of this age, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my most favorite comics of all time. It's filled with adventure, comedy, witty dialogue, suspense and a wonderful feel for the retro and nostalgia for the 30s and early 40s. Dave's art is simply gorgeous and Laura's color adds a vibrant life to his drawings with attention to detail and a flair for the dramatic.

The characters are fascinating, wonderfully designed and their progression through the story and development is some of the best I've seen.

This is truly one of the great graphic novels of the last 30 years and then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A bargain, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures (Kindle Edition)
Excellent value and I'm sure I'll enjoy it but make sure you read it on a big screen. My kindle is on my phone and for some reason this file won't zoom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews