Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


184 of 191 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Freud Helps Hargreaves Loosen His Tie
Hargreaves' first work, and regarded by many as his masterpiece, Mr Tickle is something of a rarity amongst the Mr Men books. Elsewhere, we see much exposition on the pitfalls of excess - such as in Mr Greedy and Mr Messy, for instance - but a distinct lack of discourse on personalities that are over- rather than under-regulated. A case in point might be another work, Mr...
Published on 28 Feb 2010 by Hamilton Richardson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great
Classic children's novel,loved the series when I was young and now my nephew loves them too.Great books and tons to choose from.
Published 22 months ago by Amy C


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

184 of 191 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Freud Helps Hargreaves Loosen His Tie, 28 Feb 2010
Hargreaves' first work, and regarded by many as his masterpiece, Mr Tickle is something of a rarity amongst the Mr Men books. Elsewhere, we see much exposition on the pitfalls of excess - such as in Mr Greedy and Mr Messy, for instance - but a distinct lack of discourse on personalities that are over- rather than under-regulated. A case in point might be another work, Mr Fussy, which stands out as an opportunity glaringly missed. Despite a faintly ridiculing tone to the prose, this is essentially a lamentation on how others cannot live up to the high ideals and perfectionism of its titular central character. It is at best an ambiguous critique of repression, and Mr Fussy escapes the moral judgment so often dished out to others in the series.

So what a glorious anomaly we find in Mr Tickle - a breath of fresh air from the unrestrained id. The all-consuming sensual delight he offers relentlessly disrupts the social order. A postman drops all his letters in a puddle, the tickling of a policeman causes a traffic jam, and the unbearable reverie he inflicts upon a station master brings the local rail network to a temporary standstill. There is something almost Bakhtinian about the manner in which he tickles a dour schoolmaster until he loses control in front of his class.

But Mr Tickle is not Stirner's Egoist, nor does he proclaim `do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the law'. And if he is a terrorist, his weapons are laughter and ecstasy. Though his principal targets may well be those who wear uniforms - those who exercise, embody and therefore are most in the grip of Authority - we would be mistaken to think that Hargreaves' purpose is to challenge the external Social Order. Rather, it is to loosen the vice-like grip of an interior foe: the overdeveloped Superego.

We note that Mr Tickle himself is no slave to sensory delight - quite the opposite; he is a model of psychical equilibrium. At the end of his day's escapades he relaxes in an armchair, sated and quiescent. Our hero preaches a message of catharsis - a call to arms against becoming too bogged down by self-suppression and normative regulation. Via psychoanalysis, we arrive at an Aristotlean middle way, and are left with the gentle realisation of our need to give a measure of expression to desire and joy.

Because one thing we can be sure of is that the more we repress the pleasure principle, the more we guarantee that sooner or later we will fall victim to an overpowering and fervid release from the id.

And rest assured, it will be at just that hour we fail our Superego the most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely my favourite Mr. Man book, 21 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mr. Tickle (Mr. Men) (Paperback)
Mr Tickle is so special to me - he taught me to appreciate life for all the funny little things. I love his arms because they are so dangly. My favourite bit is when Mr Tickle catches a goat - by Leyla Roscoe age 6
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the very 1st mr man, 18 May 2004
Mr Tickle was Roger Hargreaves' first Mr Man book,the idea came to him when his son asked what a tickle looked like.
"Tickles are small and round and they have arms that stretch and stretch and stretch."
There is no moral to this story,just heaps of tickles and giggles. What more could anyone ask for in a book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun book, 26 Jan 2009
By 
Daddy-O (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is great fun. As soon as I start to read it my son knows that a tickle is about to happen and he starts to laugh right away. The story is nice but don't read it at bedtime or your child is likely to wake up too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Delivery, 12 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The classic children's book - and the best of all the Mr Men stories - delivered at breakneck speed! Ordered late one evening, the book arrived the very next day. If only all companies were this efficient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
pleased with book and service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well and trully tickled, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant silly children story
There is no moral message here - this a mischievous guy out to tickle for his own amusement.
I loved these Mr Men stories as a kid.

For Adults:
An equally silly social commentary on the 1970s.
Mr Tickle: The Original sexpest.
Mr Tickle is a socio-path and takes delight in remember his tickling and its consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 13 Nov 2013
By 
B. Simpson "mini_mum" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Tickle (Mr. Men and Little Miss) (Kindle Edition)
You cannot go wrong with a classic Mr Men tale and Mr Tickle is just that. Fun and mischief all in a days work! Nice book with the classic illustration style of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic kids book., 8 Sep 2013
By 
Mr Adrian Paul Friar (St Helens, Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Tickle (Mr. Men and Little Miss) (Kindle Edition)
What needs to be said about the Mr. Men and Little Miss books especially Mr. Tickle, well as it's the first book in the series it the best start to the loveable characters created by Roger Hargreaves. Mr. Tickle is fun, entertaining and bonding, have your child on your knee then cuddle them close and read the book until the final action in the book to make your child laugh. Once hooked the series will entertain till they have children to share the series with starting with Mr. Tickle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant on the kindle, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr. Tickle (Mr. Men and Little Miss) (Kindle Edition)
I loved these books as a child and was delighted to be able to download this for my 2yr old. Fab to read and enjoy together, highly recommend :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr. Tickle (Mr. Men and Little Miss)
£1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews