Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars23
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2012
When I first heard about The Dalek Project back in 2009 I instantly placed my order - the prospect of a full length graphic novel featuring the 10th Doctor and the Daleks - set during World War 1, gripped me. But then come the advertised release date it never arrived. Instead the date kept getting pushed back until it disappeared off the schedules full stop. There was much speculation as to the reasons why - the most common been that the storyline was similar in tone to a forthcoming TV episode in production at that time! (3 years later we now know this is why the book was postponed).

Instead we got The Only Good Dalek - a thoroughly entertaining adventure. My only negative was that the Doctor's character didn't quite match that of Matt Smith. My reasoning for this was that the book had been produced during the early stages before the world had yet to observe the 11th Doctor in action.

Jump forward 3 years and my excitement levels again rose when I again saw the release advertised of The Dalek Project - this time featuring the 11th doctor. I did feel a little disappointed as I had hoped to see the book released one day with the 10th Doctor at the helm (although it wouldn't make much sense commercially I guess to release a book featuring the exploits of a past Doctor).

Anyhow, was it worth the wait? The answer is an astounding YES. This book is simply fantastic!!

SPOILERS: The story kicks off in France in 2017 when an archeological dig uncover a sphere from a Dalek saucer within a long buried World War 1 Trench system. This action begins to resurrect the metal maestros who promptly rediscover the art of extermination! Into this comes the Doctor who within 30 pages has dispatched of his oldest enemies - 'unfinished business' as he describes it. Is that it then? you ask. Hell no, that's just the beginning. From here we are taken back one century to witness how the Daleks came to be trapped in the first place. The Doctor arrives at Hellcombe Hall in Kent where.... I'm sure you'll all have read the summary!

I would love to reveal more as this book warrants full applause. The Doctor here is the 11th version that we know fine well - we get the "Panama hats are cool" lines (although no 'Geronimo's').

There are many excellent sequences - eerie sequences when the Doctor first arrives at the ghostly Hellcombe Hall, different zones behind various doors, the Doctor and his newly found 'gang' escaping from the Daleks in a german U-Boat, and a fantastic finale set on the front line itself. I'll say no more.

In a nutshell - if you like graphic novels and are a fan of Doctor Who, buy this book!!!!
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2012
Admittedly, I did fear a repetition of 'Victory of the Daleks'(the third Doctor Who Episode in the first series featuring Matt Smith as the Doctor) but I am very pleased that this is not the case at all. The only similarity is that it's about Daleks playing some part in a World War but that is where it ends (although there are some fun inclusions of cameos from the TV episode but those I am sure are included only for the nutty fans like me who watch and read anything with the word "dalek" in it).

The Daleks are back. This story features the Copper and Bronze Daleks from the RTD era and in my view that is a good thing, as I can't help but feel that the new Paradigm has been a bit of a mistake. But not just those, we even get a quasimodo Dalek (and once you've seen it, I'm sure you will agree on the name) and hords of so-called Proto Daleks, which are robotic versions of a Dalek (no Squid type lifeform inside). All a recipe for an enjoyable read, as the Daleks have ensured both parties in the Conflict produce these proto Daleks.

There are actually two plotlines, one taking place in 2017 and another in 1917 (during the Great War). It's Doctor Who, so the future plotline takes place before the main story occurring in 1917. I remembered another kind of "Dalek Project" in the serial "the evil of the Daleks" from 1966. In this serial events took place in 1966 and 1866. No similarities otherwise, but still I like it very much when wrters know their Who history and add such details as an extra bonus for the long-time fans while not distracting from the story for new comers.

The Doctor is executed very well here, characterised as Matt Smith had shown him to be in the series, so that is great. The Daleks are also done very well (besides the fact that I like them better in this version) here. There are also some nice other characters involved. I must say I also very much enjoyed the drawings and colours. Nice faces, expressions on the faces and, truly wonderful Daleks!

Another great thing is shown too: if the Daleks would truly have no organic living core inside of them, time lords would be able to manipulate them far too easily. And that's the most spoilery remark I am going to put in this review. For the rest I would advise all fans of the Daleks, and Doctor Who in general, to just go and read it! Highly recommended.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 1 November 2013
In 2017, archaeologists in France uncover the remains of something that is most definitely not Bronze Age. Their awakening of what is there may spell danger for everyone on Earth.

In 1917, the (Eleventh) Doctor finds himself at Hellcombe Hall, where all is most definitely not as it should be. Why do strange noises emanate from behind locked doors, and why do doors not lead where they should? What's it all about?

Well, the Doctor will be sure to find out for us. How these two stories are interconnected and how the Doctor saved the world (again) and all of humanity (again) is a great read. The characters are well-rounded (although the Doctor must have been exhausted by the end of the story), and the artwork is great. A great story, well presented. Definitely recommended - over 120 pages of great stuff.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This graphic novel (containing 126 pages of comics) is an excellent Doctor Who adventure - the writer has captured the current Doctor's speech patterns to a `T', and the artwork is excellent, and, for a historical story manages to avoid any but possibly minor inaccuracies. The story opens in France in 2017, as archaeologists uncover some strange Bronze Age remains - a Dalek spaceship... although it turns out it actually crashed in 1917. The Doctor arrives just in time to help (most of) the archaeologists to survive the subsequent adventure, before popping back to 1917 with the chief archaeologist to show here the source of her troubles. Cut to 1917, and the beginning (or rather culmination) of another Dalek master plan, taking place on the Western Front. The Doctor (before the adventure in 2017) arrives in the grounds of Hellcombe Manor in Kent to discover it is riddled with Dalek transmat corridors linking their crashed spaceship, a munitions plant in England belonging to Lord Hellcombe, another production plant in Belgium, a section of the British trenches, and a German production plant in Belgium. You can probably guess what war-winning secret weapon is being produced at these secret plants; though the reason for it is actually the big surprise. There is much running around, being shot at, being captured and escaping, and blowing of things up, as well as Aqua-Daleks, rodent-cams, and a damaged Dalek Spaceship using a Zeppelin to fly; and British and German-built proto-Daleks in full battle array; there is even a U-Boat chase. This really does rival some of the big-budget TV adventures, but with somehow more believable characters, settings and motivations! Some of the plot-ideas initially feel as if they have been borrowed from various Patrick Troughton-era adventures, but quickly move off in their own direction - and you'd only know that if you were there for the original stories, as they are now mostly lost.

Anyway, this is an excellent non-stop adventure that holds together very well (providing you don't stop and think about it)., and ends with the 2017 Doctor going back to visit the survivors after the war, just to give it a happy ending for a change (especially when the Daleks are involved).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
Originally scheduled as a David Tennant story instead this graphic novel was shelved a few years back, probably because of the similarities to 2010's 'Victory of the Daleks' by Steve Gatiss. However, any such resemblance to that story is superficial. There are stronger connections to the 1967 Patrick Troughton story 'The Evil of the Daleks' by David Whittaker.
Nice to see the 2005 'NSD' Daleks back in action again and there are some superb steam punk variants on Dalek design in this story. The plot unfurls at a cracking pace and there are lots of booms, bangs and surprises on the way. Some reviewers have suggested that Matt Smith's Doctor comes across with a lot of David Tennant traits in this story: I can't say I noticed that myself. There is one point where the characters the Doctor meets (he is travelling alone in this adventure) who fill the normal companion role, seem to turn into question and answer machines. However I only noticed this on the second reading so shouldn't dampen the enjoyment too much.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
1917: The Great War is at its fiercest and most terrible. But things are about to get even worse. Armaments manufacturer Lord Hellcombe has a new secret weapon he believes will win the war. But when the Doctor witnesses the final demonstration he begins to realize how much danger everyone is in: Lord Hellcombe claims to have invented the Dalek! Except, of course, that nothing is quite what it seems. Now, the Doctor and his new friends must draw on every type of early 20th century technology and every element of human ingenuity and bravery if they are to discover the truth - and survive - to prevent the entire Western Front of World War One from becoming part of The Dalek Project!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
It's hard really to go wrong with Daleks and they've provided some of the best Doctor Who stories over the years in both TV and comic strip form. This graphic novel lives up to any expectations. It is an enjoyable story which flows quite well, apart from the time jump quarter of the way through which feels a bit disjointed. I had heard that this book was postponed due to similarities with 'Victory of the Daleks' but they don't particularly have much in common.

There are a lot of potentially interesting characters but there are so many that they are, unfortunately, given little space in which to develop. The Doctor is captured quite well but it is essentially only really the 'mad man with the box' side of the Eleventh Doctor. The darker elements of Matt Smith's on screen performance are absent.

The artwork is fantastic but maybe a bit over enthusiastic. We are treated to a whole array of variations on the Dalek model (the German Daleks look excellent) but I think this goes a little far with the 'quasimodo' dalek. I don't really see how the various Dalek components could possibly be asembled in that way. I feel that quite a few Doctor Who comic strips tend to go in for too many grand Hollywood style explosions (probably because this couldn't be duplicated on the TV much) and that this book does that too. They all look good but I would have preferred a few less explosions and a bit more character interaction.

I didn't like the idea of Daleks existing without the mutant part. Being entirely robotic rather than cybernetic doesn't feel quite right; as if they aren't real Daleks. That aside, the storyline worked well with a nice mix of environments travelled to in a variety of ways. This is a story that is suitably pitched to appeal to Doctor Who fans of all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Doctor Who, Daleks and World War One what's not to like? The writer really captures Matt Smith' accentricities and phrases. As for the Daleks I have been a fan of theirs since 1963 so it was good to see the old school Daleks as opposed to the Mk 2 paraguins.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
A fine addition to the world of doctor who, this comic is well presentated and the graphics are completely out of this world a must buy for any fans of the tv show
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2012
Overall good story. Moderate quality drawings. A story without the regular companions. I especially liked the way it relates to the Great War/WW1.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.