Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Ever
Joe Cocker raw and rockin !! brilliant album. I would say its its one of the best albums I own. Love it.
Published 18 months ago by Bonnie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars cd
This CD is quite good to listen to in the car and I like it for that reason. Glad I bought it.
Published 15 months ago by Jan


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Ever, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Bonnie (N.W. England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire It Up (Audio CD)
Joe Cocker raw and rockin !! brilliant album. I would say its its one of the best albums I own. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Fantastic!, 2 Mar 2013
By 
S. Robson (Northumberland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire It Up [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
Genuinely one of the best blues, rock, soul albums I've ever heard. Fantastic songwriting with sublime musicianship coupled with one of the most honest, heartfelt and grittiest vocal performances you are ever likely to hear adds up to a massive success for Joe Cocker.
If the press reports are accurate then this album is scheduled to be Cocker's swan song. If this is true he will have finished at the top of his game with probably his finest album ever! Truly fantastic Joe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good album from Joe Cocker, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Fire It Up (Audio CD)
Joe Cocker has still got it. I was 14 years old when With A Little Help From My Friends came out and stood me on my ear, and I thought at the time that Cocker's throat would be in shreds by the end of the song, never mind 44 years later. But no - all the power and emotion is still there in the vocals on this album and he shows that he is a truly great and enduring rock and blues singer. The band is excellent - punchy and empathetic with some fine guitar work, solid bass and prominent drums - and the production is very good. The production is rich with fine backing vocals which aren't over-done and you know that you are listening to a classy product.

The one problem with the album is some of the material, in my view. Much of it is excellent - the title track is a belter, for example, but some tracks like I'll Be your Doctor don't really add up to much. Cocker and the band give it everything, of course, but in the end fine performances can't really compensate for a weak song.

This album isn't an undiluted classic but is still well worth getting for the good stuff, of which there is a lot and which I've played and enjoyed repeatedly. Recommended to anyone who likes Joe Cocker's work or just enjoys fine, bluesey rock which is well produced and very well performed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The master is back, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire It Up (Audio CD)
Well it never ceases to amaze me but Joe Cocker keeps supplying the goods. Yet another winner with new songs and a very upbeat feel. Excellent , love it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fire it up, 5 Nov 2013
By 
midge (Tyne & Wear) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fire It Up (Audio CD)
Meets every expectation, already have album, bought it for a friend they love it. Joe Cocker is fab got other recordings from way way back when you lot were still at school! 5 STARS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars music, 7 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire It Up (MP3 Download)
Great songs from a brilliant singer. its a really easy way to get your music with out leaving the comfort of your arm chair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fire it Up album, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire It Up (Audio CD)
fantastic album which arrived very quickly after the release date - excellent price as well - would definitely use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Master class from Joe Cocker., 21 Feb 2013
By 
Grumpy Git (Herefordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire It Up (MP3 Download)
It's Joe Cocker at his usual high quality. I don't love every track as they are so predictably good, where the rest are predictably
'bob-on'. Not a bad track on here & as usual his band is tight. I don't think this album's as strong as 'Hard Knocks' although the title track 'Fire It Up' is the strongest track by far across both albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joe Cocker still rocks, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire It Up [CD/DVD] (Audio CD)
A very good album from Joe Cocker. The best tracks have been selected to be on the DVD as well. The other six or so, which are only on the CD, are not quite up to the same standard but quite good nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fire It Up (MP3 Download)
Always had a soft spot for anything Joe Cocker does. I just love the feeling that he puts into each and every song. Wonderful CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fire It Up
Fire It Up by Joe Cocker (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews