Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars27
2.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 September 2014
after the frustration of using gametel gampad, i decided to try out nyko portable gamepad, because nyko seems to be a very professional gamepad manufacter, and their product design seems more reasonable to me.
however, this gamepad is not good enough to play action game or fighting game, some of its design is rather ludicrous:

1. the analog sticks are not properly aligned, there is slightly more space on the left side than right side of the stick, not sure if its a flaw.
2. its extremingly hard to point diagonally by using the sticks, it always either goes horizontally or vertically, makes it really hard to do "forward jump" in fighting game.
3. i dont know why gamepad manufacters seems love the cross pad design, its very stupid design introduced by nintendo, hard to use in fighting game. on this game pad, it became even worse, oppose to the analog sticks, you cannot properly point vertically, always accidentially trigger left or right, make it very hard to use in mame4droid game list menu becuz left or right will skip current page. can somebody build a game pad based on sega sature's controller?
4. the x, y, a and b keys sometime stuck when you pressed too hard, make it impossible to trigger "light crouh kick x 2" etc...

i gave 3 star because the dock and the finish are quite good, but still, if you are looking for a proper gamepad, avoid it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
I had similar issues as the other reviews. Mine didn't turn on after charging, and the replacement wouldn't charge at all. I decided to get a refund instead of waiting for another replacement. Its a shame as the gamepad itself feels like a good controller - its just hit or miss whether you get one that works or not.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
If it worked as claimed then it would be a 5* product (price/quality). The build quality is actually quite good and the rubberised effect works well and gives it a nice finish....HOWEVER after 2 units, both of which have arrived DOA (even after overnight last chance before returning charges) they do nothing, don't switch on, despite using a variety of chargers. Amazon returns was great, but seriously should stuff this bad be sold on Amazon?

I'd buy one if:
1) you want to always win a 2 player gaming battle by giving your opponent one of these. They don't work so you'll win everytime.
2) You like to plug devices into USB chargers and then want to come back repeatedly through the day to see that nothing has happened. Perhaps you like to watch paint dry, but would now like to move onto something more hi-tech.
3) You've had a sad episode in your life and would like to move your attention away from that 'episode'. Buy one of these and focus your attention on different ways to charge the playpad, which will ultimately fail, but you may feel better about that earlier 'episode' and now have a dislike of all things 'Nyko'.
4) You like returning items because they don't work.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2013
Despite other reviews, this is a decent gamepad.

On a build quality front, it is pretty good. Feels solid, sits nicely in the hands and has a slightly rubbery feel which adds grip. In addition the buttons feel very nice and the two thumbsticks feel good as well.(Though digital only, NOT analogue) It also comes this a stand on which to put your phone / tablet and a carrying case. Both of which are also very well made. The pad also has four different modes to switch between. HID mode (used for the free software, Nyko Playground, as well as for native sync), Apple iCade (for use with iCade apps), Mouse, and an app setting (Have no idea what its for in all honesty). This gives it great versatility as a controller, and covers just about everything.
In terms of function, it is again good. Syncing to my Galaxy Tab 2 (Jelly Bean 4.1.1) is easy, whether through the native bluetooth or the Playground app. Some games require sync outside of the app (Dead Trigger for example, which has its own gamepad support) and everything else works nicely with Playground. I've used it to play Dead Trigger, GTA III, and several emulators and it has performed well in each. The software itself is also nice. Easily lets you set up controller layouts for games and even save different configurations.
Any downsides? Perhaps one or two. Firstly, the Playground app doesnt yet have touch mapping as others have mentioned. But because I didn't buy it for use with touch apps, This hasn't been an issue for me. The second is only a minor complaint. As standard, the Playground app gives you a layout for GTA III, however the buttons weren't mapped correctly. But after setting up a proper config for it, it worked like a charm.
Not a bad controller at all.

UPDATE:

Since writing this review the controller completely died. Stopped charging all together. Bought a second to replace it and it was dead on arrival. Save the hassle and buy yourself a Moga Pro
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
First off i am not complaining

Secondly i read the reviews dated more than a year ago, what with all the software issues. i thought it would have been fixed.... it has not, in fact nyko playground app that allows you to customize controls for games. Well it has taken a step back there are no customization for anything now.

The only game i have played that actually is supported without some funny controller layout is Sonic Episode 4 Part II, hell even gta 3 the controls are funny, R2 function is mapped to B? with no way of changing in game controller settings that i have found at least

Just do yourself a favor and don't bother there is only a small selection of games it is designed to work with and none are gameloft games, N.O.V.A. 3 for instance or Order and chaos online

if you plan on using this controller for mobile games you have been warned
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
Crap S***. ......okay so I did my research as I always do and was happy to order. ...received my pad looked amazing but it did not work out of the box as what I had seen on video's neither did it charge at all.....completely disappointed
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
ABSOLUTELY POINTLESS - THESE DO NOT WORK - THEY WILL NOT CHARGE!

Save yourself some time and just give someone £25 for nothing in return.

After 2 controllers (both dead on arrival) I gave in. Amazon provided refund in the end.

I tried several USB charge plugs, several different micro USB cables even different USB ports on my PC and USB Hub - nothing.

Unit is meant to show it's charging via an orange led on the controller - I saw the smallest of flickers first time I plugged both controllers In - after that, nothing.

Should have listened to the other reviews
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
It's Okay, but the 2 joysticks are a bit hard, and seem to hurt your fingers. Also the left stick is only works in a 8 way direction (if you push hard enough), which is irritating and feels choppy, also they are placed inaccurate, so hitting the up-left direction is hard and buggy. I hope it will get a bit softer over time.

Otherwise with games like GTA: San Andrea's this game-pad is the mobile game-pad king. Especially for the price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2015
I have the white version and thought I would get the black as a 2nd controller. First one came next day and did not charge or show any signs of life. I then tried my white one to check power output and that charged fine as usual. I requested a replacement which came on time the next day and yet again this device is dead as can be. Will now be buying a different type. Its a shame as I like the idea of keeping the controls in the case.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
So had two of these dead on arrival...Think i shall be avoiding Nyko from now on. Shame, as love the look and feel.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)