Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return
From the opening, plaintive "Here I am in London Town" the record settles nicely into a couple of poppy toe-tappers very like "Old" deacon Blue. It is perhaps only now that you appreciate the influence bands like DB have had as I detect everything from Mumford and Sons to Biffy Clyro in the stylistic and lyrical flourishes here. As well as the tracks mentioned above...
Published on 24 Sep 2012 by Big Jim

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deacon Blue (Nearly) Back To Their Best
I was glad to hear Deacon Blue back on the radio recently, they were one of my favourite bands of the late 80's and 'Raintown' is still one of my all time favourite albums. With 'The Hipsters' they've returned to the format of 'Raintown' but it just doesn't quite work! Don't get me wrong, Its a good album but it doesn't quite reach the heights of their first outing.
Published on 7 Dec 2012 by D Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 11 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hipsters (Audio CD)
Love deacon blue and this album is as good as their early classic albums. Definitely recommend for deacon blue fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely album - happy tunes!, 6 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Hipsters (Audio CD)
What a lovely album. I was never a fan, never bought any of their albums but came across this on Spotify and it really has grabbed my attention and interest.

It starts well with London Town and no duff song on the album. After listening to it 3 times in one day it was a no brainer to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hipsters (Audio CD)
Given as a present - no feedback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is their best, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hipsters (Audio CD)
I was always sort of a fan of Deacon Blue and know their hits from the 90s, but this album - for me - is easily the best thing they've done. Simple but very effective, great songs and heartfelt lyrics. It relaunched their career - and rightly so. For fans - a must. For new enquirers - get this and maybe their Greatest Hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hipsters (Audio CD)
A truly wonderful album. Deacon Blue are excellent. Not a bad track. Endlessly lyrical and musically inventive. What a terrific vision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hipsters brillant, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hipsters (Audio CD)
Brilliant album great that they are still beating out great tunes after all these years love them still after 25 years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New but familiar, 23 Sep 2013
By 
W. Noble "MesonW" (uk,n) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hipsters (MP3 Download)
Not listened to this enough to justify a full review, but it does offer some new tracks with the old feel of DB, and one or two average ones perhaps? I bought this while enjoying one of their gigs, so I was caught up in the mood at the time - they are good live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The hipsters cd., 12 Aug 2013
By 
Peter Williams (Selby) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hipsters (Audio CD)
Very similar to their last cd with songs that you can listen to without becoming too bored.plays okay and not had any problems with it so far. Was quite well packaged when it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - as expected, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hipsters (Audio CD)
Just as I expected. This is very good. I kind of expected this to be like this hence I ordered it. I was not wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Typical DB, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hipsters (Audio CD)
So uniquely Deacon Blue. When all new bands are coming and going it is fantastic that a band as great as Deacon Blue are still producing great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hipsters
The Hipsters by Deacon Blue
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews