Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Alaric Bond
Well, he's done it again! The eagerly anticipated fifth instalment of Alaric Bond's 'Fighting Sail' series is with us at last and it is another corker! Set at the conclusion of the Irish uprising of 1798, with Britain's army brutally putting down the rebellion on land, The Patriot's Fate follows Wolf Tone's attempt to bring a French invasion force to bear while Royal Navy...
Published on 31 Aug. 2012 by Joolz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not so good as first books in sequence.Not as strong
Published 1 month ago by hombre65james


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Alaric Bond, 31 Aug. 2012
By 
Joolz (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patriot's Fate (The Fighting Sail Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Well, he's done it again! The eagerly anticipated fifth instalment of Alaric Bond's 'Fighting Sail' series is with us at last and it is another corker! Set at the conclusion of the Irish uprising of 1798, with Britain's army brutally putting down the rebellion on land, The Patriot's Fate follows Wolf Tone's attempt to bring a French invasion force to bear while Royal Navy elements desperately seek to prevent them from landing. It is a story of cat-and-mouse on the high seas culminating in a dramatic climax.

As before in this series, the story is told from the viewpoint of several characters rather than just a single hero: most of these are already familiar from earlier books, but we also follow the exploits of a contingent of Irish 'rebels' in equal measure. Bond's skill is to shift perspective between this relatively large cast without in the least disrupting the flow or disorientating the reader, effortlessly weaving these multiple elements into a slow-boiling narrative that informs and entertains in equal measure as tension builds.

Bond's mastery of story-building and characterization is matched by his authoritative handling of the complexities of shipboard life, a problem faced by all who write about sailing ships. Technical terms cannot be avoided, but Bond deftly steers a path through them, and should anyone be unsure, a useful glossary is appended to explain most of them.

The Patriot's Fate is an un-put-downable 'page turner' that should establish Alaric Bond as one of the best historic naval fiction writers currently active. It doesn't get much better than this! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ....a very readable, gripping, page-turner...., 7 Oct. 2012
By 
This review is from: The Patriot's Fate (Paperback)
It is always a pleasure to read any book in this author's Fighting Sail series, and, unsurprisingly, as I read the series, each new book surpasses its predecessors. This particular book embraces the Irish Rebellion of 1798, and I don't recall another author doing this in naval fiction, although the author mentioned Wolfe Tone in his first book in the series, "His Majesty's Ship"
.
I particularly liked the way the author kept his reader in touch, with alternative narrative, within a chapter, between the main protagonists, and, as usual, there were the characters we already know within the series, and new ones to keep the reader's interest fresh.

The book is a very readable, gripping page-turner culminating in an epic battle involving Sir John Borlase Warren, with lively interaction between characters and lots of animated conversation between them which I believe brings a book to life. It gave me a sense of impending doom, particularly viewed through the eyes of one the leading characters.

The title of the book implies that this would be a story, with not necessarily a happy ending, but what a twist in the tale there is in the last few pages! It certainly took me by surprise.

Well done, Alaric Bond! Thanks for another excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bond Always Delivers, 2 Oct. 2013
This review is from: The Patriot's Fate (Paperback)
The Patriot's Fate, like all of Bond's novels in this series, has a unique flavor and setting compared to so many others in this genre. The backdrop of The Patriot's Fate is the Irish uprising of 1798, with the climactic action taking place during the Battle of Tory Island. Being someone who is interested in Irish history, considering my own heritage, I particularly looked forward to this volume in the series.

As usual in Bond's stories, we meet new characters and embrace familiar, old ones. He cleverly places one of his Irish characters upon the French ship Hoche, so the reader experiences action from both the Irish and the British sides throughout the narrative.

Also like Bond's other books, The Patriot's Fate moves smoothly along at a pleasant pace, and the final battle plays out over the last quarter of the story, keeping readers who prefer a good sea battle happy and satisfied.

I read the e-book version of the novel, and if I have one complaint, it is in the number of typos throughout the text. While I have certainly read e-books with more such errors, running into them always jars me out of the story, and thus annoys me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good naval yarn!, 25 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patriot's Fate (The Fighting Sail Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I have read almost everything written in the way of "fighting sail" novels and I rate this highly. Unusually Mr. Bond's novels give an idea of life aboard a sailing warship from different ranks' perspectives. This particular yarn follows the experiences of some of the characters in previous books, and comes to a gripping if predictable finish. A good read for anybody who enjoys this type of fiction, though it will be best to read the preceding books in the series first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complex story well told., 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patriot's Fate (The Fighting Sail Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Bond captures the mixed emotions of the times as Irish patriots sought help from the French yet also found themselves shipmates, and inevitably friends of English sailors. The author shows great attention to the detail of the operation of and life aboard a Royal Navy frigate of the time. I will be looking for more books by this author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 22 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patriot's Fate (The Fighting Sail Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read, I read the book in less than 3 days. One could imagine the fears and experiences of the british sailor of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written. Captures the mood, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patriot's Fate (The Fighting Sail Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this novel. I was particularly impressed with writer's grasp of the technique of fighting sail. Good characterisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technologically Informative, 29 July 2013
This review is from: The Patriot's Fate (The Fighting Sail Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
The background of how these wooden warships functioned gives a great insight into life onboard, adding to a great story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Find, 13 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patriot's Fate (The Fighting Sail Series Book 5) (Kindle Edition)
Very well researched and written historical fiction. You feel you are there and I'm so glad I found this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Patriot's Fate (Paperback)
Not up to the Alaric Bond standard, but worth a 4 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews